We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau de la Motte Fenelon
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cambrai
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Having read the trip advisor reviews we started with little expectations.
However what you pay for is what you get! We had a delux arrangement of € 175 per night/couple half board. Room was good, nice flatscreen, and spacious, a bit stuffy. Breakfast was very good and dinner excellent, with the winelist a bit expensive.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Boeykens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Chateau de la Motte Fenelon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

A crumbling Chateau, not sure how it got it's star ratings, maybe there were holes in the roof, friendly reception and breakfast staff, but that's where it ends. Facilities are tired though the room was clean, nothing special, limited access to food and drink, miles away from any where. Not sure why they employ the restaurant manager, the most uncooperative person I have meet in this position, no PR skills and does NOT try to assist the guests, whilst the rest of the staff are obliviously embarrassed by this person attitude. Food was of a poor standard, depressing atmosphere in the restaurant when it was finally opened. So much for the French standards of cooking. Could not wait to leave. Would NOT recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Seek another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stevenseddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This IS an old chateau/mansion. Bear that in mind. If you don't fancy that type of accommodation - skip it. If you do like some old time style and patina, by all means you can stay here - and be quite happy too! Yes, it's a bit old and worn down, but it still has the grandure of an upper class era since long gone... Beautiful surroundings with a large park - quiet and inviting for a walk.
Our room was on the top floor, which we reached by stairs from first floor (elevator stops on the first floor). Modern bathroom, comfortable beds, a bit warm in the summer, but on the whole more than ok. Staff very nice and friendly. We had a drink brought to us in one of the beautiful salons. Stylish! The basement hosts a very good restaurant where we enjoyed an excellent dinner. Breakfast simple but adequate including ham and boiled eggs.
The whole stay well worth the price. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vierdank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have stayed here every year for the past 4 years coming and going to our summer holiday and enjoyed it!

This year, we booked the Versailles suite for us and another room for our boys.

The restaurant was HORRIBLE. After 15 minutes of standing in an empty entryway, we were seated by a busboy who waved in the general direction of the dining room and had is seat ourselves. The waiter couldnt have been LESS interested in us being there ... the food was cold, insipid and barely edible. We complained and the waiter merely shrugged and said he would pass the info on to the kitchen.

We complained to the front desk ... the staff there was the only highlight of the stay ... they were friendly and tried very hard to be helpful. He explained that the manager would be in the office in the morning and we could speak with her then.

That night, there was a wedding party ... UNTIL FOUR IN THE MORNING ... LOUD music and DJ ... (so loud I could understand every word he was saying in my room with a pillow over my head). People under our window laughing, fighting, yelling .... loud conversations in the hallway at 3am ... doors slamming ...

The next morning, we (of course) complained again ... the front desk staff tried to help as much as they could but were not "authorized" to make any comment or otherwise help us out. The manager had decided not to come in that morning so our (FEENCH) phone number was taken for her to call us. We handed in a scathing review sheet ...

To date, no call ... no attempt to make any contact. BTW ... my husband is French ... so communication was NOT an issue.

At 500 euros for one night we figure they have our money and really dont care whether we come back.

We wont ...

AVOID this place at ALL costs ... Cambrai has a lovely city center and I am sure there are very nice places to stay within it ... this is NOT one of them, and clearly, they could care less.

Room Tip: A tip to choose a good room? Stay somewhere else!!!! For this price, you can have a nice room a be...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CherylH528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The exterior of the building suggested a comfortable hotel, but internally it is run-down. If I hadn't been tired from my journey I would have moved on. The lift which only went u one floor was smelly and the room tatty. The dining room had a pleasant ambience and the menu read well but all courses were tasteless and pricey.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Difficult to find in what appears a very run down area,Our Room in the orangery was small, very hot, but Ok for the one night stopover and cheaper than the Chateau. The Restaurant , some 20 yards from the Orangery,in what appeared an old cellar had plenty of character and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: The Orangery is only 20 yards from the Chateau and the rooms cheaper
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mervyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Quirky location next to a rather ugly council estate, but don't let that put you off, or some of the other negatives listed below. Its an old chateau so just bear that in mind. It has period charcater. We stayed in the Orangeri annexe. Rooms were small but ok, got a bit warm though even with rad turned off !

The food in the restaurant was very good (a bit pricey but worth it) and its a nice setting in the cellars. No English menu so take a phrase book, although the staff will do their best to help. Top marks for the chateau in providing a gluten free meal for my wife. This was the first time abroad since being diagnosed
but the staff were excellant despite their limited English. No adverse reaction which was a change from some British attempts at "gluten free".

Breakfast was continental with sufficient choice and served in the lounge area.

The basic chalet rooms set in the grounds do not look particularly appealing so would suggest you go for the main part or the annexe rooms.

We found all the staff friendly and helpful.

We only stayed one night but had a good time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike-Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambrai hotels
2.5 mi away
Ibis Cambrai
Ibis Cambrai
#2 of 13 in Cambrai
275 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Beatus
Hotel Beatus
#1 of 13 in Cambrai
306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Logis Mouton Blanc
Logis Mouton Blanc
#6 of 13 in Cambrai
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Tabl' Hotel
Tabl' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fontaine-Notre-Dame
118 reviews
2.7 mi away
hotelF1 Cambrai
hotelF1 Cambrai
#9 of 13 in Cambrai
21 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Chope
Hotel La Chope
#7 of 13 in Cambrai
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Motte Fenelon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Motte Fenelon

Address: Square du chateau, 59400, Cambrai, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Cambrai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cambrai
Price Range: £61 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de la Motte Fenelon 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau de la Motte Fenelon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Motte Fenelon Hotel Cambrai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing