We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this place a wide berth!!!!”
Review of Campanile Cambrai

Campanile Cambrai
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Campanile Cambrai
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Cambrai
kent uk
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Give this place a wide berth!!!!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were booked into this place May bank holiday weekend and god do we wish we hadnt of been!
It was like staying in a smelly damp shabby garden shed!!! The bathroom had fungi on the walls and apart from using the loo because we had too we didnt venture in there for a shower.
When we opened the door it was total dismay but being as it was early hours of the mornng and miles from any other hotel we had no choice but to stay the night..The bed was very narrow and there was no way one of us was sleeping on the pullout bed that was 2 inches maximum off the floor and consisted of a very thin foam on a pallet style frame.Therefore my grand-daughter and I had to squeeze into one of these small single beds!!! The onlyu and I say only saving grace was the sheets were crisp white and clean but the pancake flat pillow only added toa terrible nights sleep. We couldnt wait to get out of there in the morning.
Compare this to Travelodge or premier Inn and the not so cheap price we paid and this place wants a complete revamp!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nannyliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    0
    4
    12
    12
See reviews for
6
7
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Powys
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Having stayed at Campanile in Laon on the way down to the Alpes thought that we would try same set up only different location on the way back. We would have chosen a traditional French accomodation but there were none open in any of the many towns we passed through on our way along the A roads back to Calais. We wish however there was somewhere else to stay though as generally this place was very average. As with these sort of places there was the usual cigarette smell which is off putting from the start. What is perhaps the most annoying aspect of this stay is that it cost us 20 euros more to stay in this Campanile due to the fact that it was a Sunday. This particular motel was worse than the one we had stayed at 8 days previous which doesn't make a lot of sense. Breakfast was good in both however and reasonable value for 9 euros. In short however I would not use this particular place to stay again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PowysDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

All Campanile hotels look exactly the same, so no surprises there. The room was clean; there was free coffee and tea. Breakfast costs 10 EUR; that's way too expensive so I didn't take it. The hotel is located at the outskirts of Cambrai. At 500m there is a Buffalo Grill restaurant that offers decent food at a reasonable price. I read that the restaurant in Campanile is no good so I didn't try it. One negative point was the internet connection which was awefully slow. I only got a download speed of 0,2Mbps.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathias V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambrai hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The room is damp, mouldy and smells. I can't believe they can charge for this. This is the last time I'll use this chain. The building is old and worn out and is crying out to be demolished. Not sure I will even use the bathroom in the morning due to the bad state. I stay in many hotels but this is the worst I've had to endure. Even Egypt and morocco can do better than this.
Don't waste your money, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manofledgends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

A Campanile is a Campanile so, once you have stayed in one, you know what to expect. The Campanile in Cambrai is well-placed for access to the motorway and westwards out towards Bapaume, Albert and Amiens.

Excellent sleep quality in a large, comfortable bed (even though French hotels never have enough pillows!)

I was particularly pleased with the restaurant as both waitress and chef did a superb job of producing steaks exactly as we wanted them - when eating in France it is too often the case that the staff want to tell the paying customer what they are prepared to provide rather than providing what the customer wants but, on this occasion, the food was superb.

More than happy to recommend to others and to stay there again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Europe
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Stayed at the Campanile for 1 night while driving to Paris as it is conveniently located close to the highway. There is enough free parking space. This is the kind of hotel I would only use for a 1 night stop on a travel on further distance. We reserved through internet with American Express directly with Campanile. We arrived a bit too late: after 23.00. And then the reception is completely closed. Luckilly they have a machine for check-in, but it did not know our reservationnumber, and neither our creditcard. And besides that: it does not even accept American Express. So we had to pay with another card (CB). Luckilly the next morning I could explain the situation and they did not charge our American Express, onlt the CB card.

The hotel has two floors with not too many stairs. The stairs are of concrete and broken, so watch out with suitcases (or even a baby, which we took on our trip). The room was very warm (no airco) and very basic and not charming at all. The hotel needs te be updated soon. It really looked like a 70's hotel where they never have changed the furniture. The bed was small and not comfortable (I guess we got another bed then the previous reviewer!).

We will not sleep here anymore. I rather pay 10 euro more for a better hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchyCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My wife and i have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and have never had cause to make a complaint.It is a pity that more of the Staff do not speak more English.The Manager however is completely fluent in English.The food available is excellent.It is a case of help yourself at the Buffet for Starters ,the Main Course to be chosen by the guests.The best package to be bought for a one night stay is to have B&B plus Evening Meal for an All In Price.There is always plenty to eat for all meals and i have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to people from the UK and other parts of the World.You should not be disappointed.Look forward to Salmon for starters(on a help yourself basis as a rule for evening meal)

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambrai hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Cambrai
Ibis Cambrai
#2 of 13 in Cambrai
271 reviews
0.9 mi away
hotelF1 Cambrai
hotelF1 Cambrai
#7 of 13 in Cambrai
19 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Beatus
Hotel Beatus
#1 of 13 in Cambrai
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chateau de la Motte Fenelon
0.9 mi away
Tabl' Hotel
Tabl' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fontaine-Notre-Dame
115 reviews
1.4 mi away
Logis Mouton Blanc
Logis Mouton Blanc
#6 of 13 in Cambrai
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Cambrai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Cambrai

Property: Campanile Cambrai
Address: Route de Bapaume, 59400, Cambrai, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Cambrai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Cambrai
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Campanile Cambrai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing