We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
32
57
34
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
57
34
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews budget hotel france uk campaniles standard stop beds
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Long story - but we had originally booked to stay elsewhere (not in Maubeuge) but walked away from what may have been a very noisy experience.

I have stayed in countless Campaniles in the UK and France. Whilst not one of the newest of the hotels on the block - this hotel is ideally situated to allow you to explore this part of France.

Beds are comfortable, shower / bathroom clean and although the fixed menu is box standard, there is a changeable daily specials board.

Don't expect the highest of luxury count, or the plush carpet on the external corridor. A better than average deal for a budget hotel.

If the French travellers / workers use - it cannot be bad.

Interesting if you book direct with hotel, as they have 'limited English' but my limited French got us through!

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are great if you have limited ability. Did not discover limited mobility room despite asking when booking.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midlands_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REGINE D, Gérant at Campanile Maubeuge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Customer

Thank you for sharing your opinion on your stay.
The opinions of our customers on a source of improvement.
Thank you I will convey to the team the compliments on the cleanliness of the room and the service at the restaurant.
Hope to see you soon.
Best regards
Régine D
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

This campanile was a bit disappointing compared to others. The rooms were old and in need of refurbishment, and one of our rooms smelled of smoke. It was however located very well for stops between the UK and many places in europe, and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was up to the usual campanile standard, serving tasty food at a reasonable price, and the car park was free which is always nice.
Overall, an OK budget stay for a stopover, but the rooms definitely need some attention soon.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omearatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REGINE D, Gérant at Campanile Maubeuge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017


Dear guest,
We thank you for sharing your vision of our hotel.
We have the concern of the satisfaction of our customers and being in a process of constant improvement, the opinions of our customers are welcome. We are sorry for the discomfort caused by this nuisance and I will accompany my collaborators in order to improve our services. Your return as a customer allows us to improve every day. Hope to see you soon.
Cordially
Régine D
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is fine for a stop over. It is located just off a fairly busy road so there is quite a bit of traffic noise. Our room did not look as fresh and modern as the photos but it was clean as was the bathroom. It's a 2 hour drive to Calais which is good if you wanting a stop before a morning ferry. I would recommend if your wanting a pit stop hotel. Possibly look else where if you're wanting more.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REGINE D, Gérant at Campanile Maubeuge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016
Google Translation

Cher client

Nous vous remercions de nous faire partager votre vision de notre hôtel. L'avis de nos clients est une source d'amélioration constante et nous sommes ravis que votre séjour s'est bien passé. L'emplacement de l'hôtel est idéal proche du centre ville et juste à côté des remparts.
En espérant vous revoir prochainement.
Cordialement
Régine D
Directrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Hotel staff were all very friendly, receptionist gave us a great welcome and good information. The room was spotless and bed very comfy. Strange little bath cum shower tray. Plenty of hot water, good location and plenty of parking.

Room Tip: all the rooms have the same small 'bath'
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REGINE D, Gérant at Campanile Maubeuge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016
Google Translation

Cher client,
Nous vous remercions de nous faire partager votre vision de notre hôtel. Etant dans une démarche d'amélioration constante, les avis de nos clients sont les bienvenus. Notre objectif est de donner pleine satisfaction aux attentes de nos clients. Le confort et un accueil personnalisé sont notre priorité et merci, je vais partager vos compliments avec mon équipe. Les commentaires de nos clients sont toujours source d'amélioration. En espérant vous revoir dans notre établissement.
Cordialement.
Régine D. Directrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

The hotel provides everything you have paid for. Comfortable night after a long journey by car on the way from France to Belgium. Reasonable price for a one-two days stay. I would recommend to improve the wi-fi signal. It needs to be stable and strong not near reception area only.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Campanile.com - Louvre Hotels Group
1  Thank Vladimir V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REGINE D, Gérant at Campanile Maubeuge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Dear Customer
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your vision of our hotel.
What our customers is a source of constant improvement. The location of our hotel close to Belgium is an asset.
Sorry for the inconvenience caused by wifi.
Your return to time a customer gives us every day to improve.
Hope to see you soon
Best regards
Régine D
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews