We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged 3 times and Ibis will not even comment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Lille Tourcoing Centre
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tourcoing
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I will not be staying in any of the Ibis hotels again after this experience. When it came to checking out, I paid on Amex. The receptionist told us that payment had not gone through, we checked the credit card receipt and it said successful in French. The receptionist was forceful in that we had not paid and we were not to leave until we had paid. He tried the card again, credit card receipt said it was successful yet he insisted it was not and demanded cash, we told him we don't have the cash and tried talking to him about why the credit card receipt said successful. He would not let us leave and kept demanding cash. I gave him a Visa card and paid with that, when he knew he was not getting cash, he said payment had gone through.

I've checked my credit card statement and we have been charged 3 times, I've tried contacting Ibis (who dont publish phone numbers) yet they have not got back to me. I've contacted the credit card company and have disputed the payments.

We feel ripped off, clearly the receptionist wanted cash from us DESPITE us paying successfully on a credit card and to make it worse, Ibis will not even comment - my credit card company will get this resolved now.

The room was standard, no different to the budget Ibis hotels. Room was clean but built to a poor standard.

Will not use Ibis again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophos9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

I can't comment on this as a stop to explore Lille as I used it for a one night stop-over in my way to Switzerland.

The hotel staff were friendly and efficient. The room was very good, but as other have noted, on a hot summers night even with the window open it can be a little stuffy. What is marking Ibis out at the moment for me is the quality of their beds. They are superbly comfortable and gave me a great nights sleep. To improve, the towels are rather thin, as is the company's Green policy: it's all well and good to tell guests to recycle towels, but then handing out plastic disposable cups in plastic wrappers makes your credentials look poor.

Would come here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radioheadkiduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

My first visit to TOURCOING IBIS was as a result of the Ibis Kortrijk being fully booked. I was pleasantly surprised that the apparent chaos and building work on Google streetview is well out of date and the hotel is now adjacent to a shopping centre and underground car park which is very reasonable at 6 euro and very secure. The staff are friendly and some English is spoken in this French/Flemish speaking area, A short walk away is the large piazza surrounded by bars restaurants and takeaways. This is a business hotel and affords the usual IBIS facilities. At time of writing it has not yet received the latest Accor IBIS cosmetic upgrades. Highly recommended. On arrival stop in the bus bay. Nip in for the carp ark code and then unload. The car park entrance is just across the dual carriage way by the gardens.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islander2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I often stay in Accor group hotels because they are consistent. You know pretty much what you are going to get before you arrive. I have to say that I was quite pleasantly surprised by this one. The bathroom was not as plastic-y as some, the bed was comfortable and the "non-smoking" room definitely had not been smoked in.
Check-in and out was slick, the breakfast buffet offered all we wanted, and thw whole place was immaculately clean.
We chose to stay in this hotel while visiting the Lille are because it has excellent transport links. It is only 100 metres from the metro and tram which both connect directly to both Lille railway stations and the to the town centre.
The shopping centre across the street has a supermarket and a branch of C&A.
We were pleased with our choice and would return.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces a busy road and the rubbish collection is at 5:00am. Try and get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgm31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed just one night in late May.
The hotel is in an area of very congested traffic and parking is an issue. However we checked in then returned the rental car so I don't know about overnight parking.
The breakfast is great even fresh squeezed orange juice and a good selection of fruit, breads and such.
The hotel is close to much of what you might want to see in Lille however after dark we found the area a little dodgy lots of students with too much booze on board and many ,many panhandlers. My only complaint with the hotel it's self has to do with the windows.
It was a hot day followed by a warm evening and there is no air conditioning (or at least not that they were willing to turn on) The windows are chained so they only open a few centimeters and no one on staff seemed to know if there were keys and if so who had them. On the other hand there was so much party noise outside that even if we'd been able to cool the room the noise might have been my complaint so there you are.
All in all OK breakfast makes up for a lot in my book and the breakfast is worth it. The taxi fare to the Euro Lille station mid morning was about 12 euros so that's not bad either.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muellered_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 April 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griffyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tourcoing
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Lille Tourcoing Centre
1.0 mi away
Premiere Classe Lille Nord - Tourcoing
1.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Lille L'Union
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
B&B Hotel LILLE Roubaix Campus Gare
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Garden Lille Tourcoing
2.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Lille Wasquehal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Lille Tourcoing Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Lille Tourcoing Centre

Address: 01 Rue d'Havre | Centre du General de Gaulle, 59200 Tourcoing, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Tourcoing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tourcoing
Price Range: £46 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Lille Tourcoing Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Tourcoing Centre hotel is located in the centre of the city, close to the Grand Place of Tourcoing. Near the railway station and the airport, it is ideal for staying not far from the Convention Centre of Lille. It is near the tourist and cultural heart of Lille. The hotel has 102 rooms available for booking and a meeting room for your seminars. It puts at your disposal a LA TABLE restaurant, a bar open 24/24, a terrace, parking and a pay garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Lille Tourcoing Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Lille Tourcoing Centre Nord, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing