We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Différent,élégant, cosy,Inspiring !”
Review of Le Grand Duc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Grand Duc
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Valenciennes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Only one thing to say : go and feel the place !
Le Grand Duc, is a beautiful building full of the landlord spirit and soul.
You ll find there much more than an excellent B&B.
The atmosphere is delicious, so is the food and the landlord's friendliness .
An eclectic decorum invites to conversations, questionings, discoveries...
If you are in the area, check in The Grand Duc!

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the beautiful garden.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annesoseaview_IOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Le Grand Duc
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

It was a very pleasant stay. Owner of the hotel (speaking very good English) was always very friendly and hospitable. The building is beautifully renovated and rooms are big and cozy. Dinner was excellent! Recommended

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank Stanislav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This was a family weekend to celebrate my birthday and what a wonderful gem. The house, although not in the town centre, was 3 floors of a mix of old, new and ecclectic collectables. The proprietor, Philippe, could not do enough to help. He spoke excellent English and booked taxis, restaurants and told us where to visit. He even arranged delivery of the most beautiful roses which were presented with excellent champagne. He even took the trouble to light a fire when it rained. The rooms are large with complimentary toileteries and all are different. A very friendly dog and cat add to the ambience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The owner Philippe welcomed us to our home for our five night stay carrying my bag to our room at the top of the hotel, he then walked back up with tea and coffee and produced wina on other days.

Our car was parked behind locked gates and we could relax in our stylish, meditative and comfortable bedroom with a great view of the garden and park beyond, the en-suites were large and chic. We were warned that if the windows were left open at night we might have avisitor, sure enough the resident cat hopped on the bed with us.

Downstairs the lounge and dining rooms are like a palace but you are invited to use them. There is also a spacious beautifull garden for before dinner aperitifs and wine or just reading in the sun or shade, an oasis in a big city.

Wewere introduced to Eddo Philippe`s labrador who will play ball anytime; there is a lily pond, plantings and quirky features which is an ongoing labour of love for Philippe as is the hotel.

Philippe is a mine of information about where to go and what to see. talking of mines the hotel was originally the mine owner`s house before the mines were closed. The house was a ruin when Philippe bought it and took eighteen months to restore.

we are great fans of the dod Eddo and philippe took us along when he took Eddo for his walk and swim in a nearby forest and lake. On the way back he took us to seethe renovated mine buildings, winding machines and houses. A lot of history.

There was great continnetal breakfast which kept us going all day. A tray was set up for me to take breakfast to our room when my husband was unwell.

The Dinner we had at The Grand Duc was gastronomic art and tasted divine the wine picked by Philippe was exquisite.

It`s easy to walk to the nearest shop across the road for local deliccieses the tram, shops, bars and cafes are only five minutes away.

I cannot recommend the Grand duc highly enough it is simply a jewel amongst hotels.

Room Tip: At the top.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Very nice B&B. We love the interior decoration, a kind of "barroque + contempory", with some ethnic touches. A clear distinguished atmosphere. In front of a nice private garden, within an historical "maison de maitre" completly redesigned.

It is not in the centre of Valenciennes. Nor near local transport : you do need a car to visit the centre. However, a plus is a possibility to park safely your car inside the property.

Price wise, we do think that the breakfast should be included in the price of the room.

Rooms are well decorated, well designed with taste. Good Wifi access.

The only main drawback is that in our room, the wood floor have still many screws that are still present, not-flat, and it can really hurt you if you walk bare foot. So do absolutly take your slippers

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

I am spending one night per month in this beautiful place, perhaps more a B&B than a hotel.

It is a very nice old house in a big park which the owner has renovated with a lot of taste. He is decorator and artist and has put a lot of his soul and taste in this house. All the six rooms are very nice, a perfect mixture of antiques and modern classics. The rooms and the bathrooms are very spacious.

On the ground floor there is a very nice common room full of tiny objects and nice and comfortable furniture.

If it is warm outside taking the aperitif or the whole meal outside is a very special experience because of the view on the very nice park.

The dining room is also decorated in a very special - nice - way. The food which is prepared on demand and reservation by the owner or an external chef is very good and not too expensive. Also the drinks and wines are reasonably priced.

There is enough parking space in front of the hotel, the car is very safe during the night.

If I have to find something negative - which is very difficult - it is due to the fact that it is not a standard hotel and the owner is doing most things himself. You should agree a certain time for the arrival as the owner is often absent. There is no Spa or room for a workout but it is much nicer to spend some time reading in the room with the marvellous open fire.

There is a free WIFI in the hotel.

All in all it is one of my favourite hotels in France and I see a lot, approximately 40 to 50 a year!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kslawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 2 eme étage... avec baignoire si vous êtes en couple vous comprendrez...
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bernard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valenciennes
1.1 mi away
Mercure Valenciennes Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Auberge du Bon Fermier
Auberge du Bon Fermier
#4 of 14 in Valenciennes
138 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotels Baudouin - Ibis Valenciennes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Novotel Valenciennes
Novotel Valenciennes
#6 of 14 in Valenciennes
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Grand Hotel de Valenciennes
Le Grand Hotel de Valenciennes
#7 of 14 in Valenciennes
169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Campanile Valenciennes Ouest - Petite Foret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Duc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Duc

Address: 104 avenue de Conde, 59300, Valenciennes, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Valenciennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Valenciennes
Price Range: £90 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Grand Duc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing