We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget hotel in a fair location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Valenciennes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Valenciennes
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Valenciennes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Budget hotel in a fair location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This 3 star Ibis was formerly the 2 star Hotel Baudouin. The main difference is the paint job and upgraded reception. The rooms look like ex student dorms. The rooms were basic but clean and the breakfast was reasonable with friendly staff.
Location wise it's not in a great area but it is a short 7 min walk to the town centre. There is a secure car park at the rear which you should use as we saw a youth trying car doors on vehicles parked on the street.
It's ok for an overnight stop over.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    141
    90
    27
    7
See reviews for
36
108
36
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Followed signs for the Hotel and it was easily found. Parked in street outside & friendly receptionist booked us in for overnight stay - explained (in english) about Hotel faicilities and advised we could park for free in the secure car park at rear.

The Hotel was modern, had a lift and our double room was spacious and clean; bathroom well equipped. Air con available but we did not use. Breakfast was extra at 9Eu each, basic and poor value for money but Hotel recommended as a whole for it's location.

Map of town provided by them, the Hotel is a 20 minute walk from the centre; there are small restaurants in the vicinity but we chose to eat at the "Auberge du Bon Fermier" , an old coaching inn, in the centre of town.

Room Tip: Rooms facing parking courtyard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

When we first got to the hotel the reception staff were really nice and friendly. The next day they were ok, Then it went down hill. The night reception moaned all the time stating he was by himself and couldn't accomidate us at the bar. When I tried to extend my stay, the staff said it was not possible without checking, yet other members of my team extended their stay the night before. Some other the staff need to know that the way they act has an effect on the way we look at the hotel as a whole. I do know they wont be getting another visit from 45 customers again. Boy could they moan.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank wizardtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDYNIA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

It's supposed to be 3 stars hotels ,doesn't deserve even one star.Hôtel Baudouin and Ibis have the same reception desk and localization but only IBIS sign is visible from the street.So it's quite hard to find the Badouin Hotel.The decor is from last century ,dirty room,only 2 towels for the 2 persons,no handy towels,the furniture is very tired .The main feature in the bedroom is a huge wardrobe housing a hot water boiler and something mysterious behind locked doors signed "DO NOT OPEN".It's supposed to be a kitchenette ,but it was unavailable. Wi-Fi was O.k. free of charge.There is also close courtyard car parking place free of charge.Breakfast cost additionally 9 euros per person.My good advice avoid this place if you have another option.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HIT_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Valenciennes hotels

Feltham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Visited on family break, hotel is modern inside but rooms could do with updating a bit. The rooms have air con and the ones facing court yard have doors that open. No kettle or fridge in rooms. Breakfast was ok but not a great deal of choice. Limited parking so get in early or risk parking out on streets. Staff helpful and speak english. Beds need updating please !

Room Tip: You want one facing the court yard/ car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

The hotel was just outside the main area of the town, which on foot took us about 15 miniutes to walk to. It was only a stop gap on our way home from Germany and was certainly a welcome one. The receptionist on the night was very helpful and knowledgable about the area and was able to recommend a very nice restaurant to eat at (L'Escargot). IBIS is always our first choice for hotel stops on the continent and in the UK and we were completely happy with the service provided.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bean2CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valenciennes
0.4 mi away
Mercure Valenciennes Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Notre Dame
Hotel Notre Dame
#6 of 14 in Valenciennes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Grand Hotel de Valenciennes
Le Grand Hotel de Valenciennes
#7 of 14 in Valenciennes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Novotel Valenciennes Aerodrome
Novotel Valenciennes Aerodrome
#5 of 14 in Valenciennes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge du Bon Fermier
Auberge du Bon Fermier
#3 of 14 in Valenciennes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Petite Foret
Ibis Budget Petite Foret
#1 of 3 in Petite-Foret
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Valenciennes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Valenciennes

Property: Ibis Valenciennes
Address: 90 rue Baudouin L Edifieur, 59300, Valenciennes, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Valenciennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Valenciennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Valenciennes 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the centre of town, a few minutes from a number of business parks, close to universities and leisure facilities including Nungesser Stadium, the Hainaut sports centre and the gardens of the Parc de la Rhonelle, the Ibis Valenciennes offers 72 comfortable, airconditioned rooms. Enjoy our Rendez Vous bar with its contemporary and original decor, a place to read, nibble on a snack, get some work done or simply sit back and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Valenciennes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing