We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place & Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inter-Hotel Ascotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Villeneuve d'Ascq
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stopped one night visiting my son at Lille 1 University. We were very impressed with the friendly staff, quality of the room and quiet location. All that at a budget price.

It is certainly somewhere we will use again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Inter-Hotel Ascotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

I led a group of 39 students on a three night stay in this hotel and we were all impressed by its high standards of cleanliness, comfort and hospitality. The staff were delightful with our pupils and patiently allowed them to try out their French. Rooms were quiet and comfortable and the breakfast buffet was of a high standard in terms of choice and quality. The hotel is perfectly located being in a quiet area but with easy access on foot to the Métro.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank catherineY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed here for business just this week, upon arrival at the hotel it looked nice and the staff were both friendly and welcoming. After this it goes downhill. The room was apparently a superior room however it was a normal double room with a very old TV and pretty standard all round. No fridge just a kettle. The problems get worse when you log on to the wifi, it is slower than dialup was 10 years ago. I found it impossible to check my emails never mind do some paperwork online. For a hotel that is supposed to appeal to people on business this was extremely poor! On my final morning as I got out of the shower I noticed ants in and around the sink and hair dryer, while ants don't really bother me as they are only insects this was still an extroadanary let down. Basic cleanliness and regular checks could have prevented this. Overall the staff and the breakfast save this hotel from being terrible but I would definitely not return as the quality for price is astonishingly bad. I have stayed in better hostels during my student days for 10 quid a night and in my professional career this is my worst experience of a hotel to date! I stayed in Paris for cheaper only 2 weeks ago on business. Hopefully they can address these issues so future guests do not have an experience like mine! Not recommended!

Room Tip: Chambre Executive is not an executive room its standard and expensive! Take a standard!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank De_Long_Lad_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I stayed here recently on a business trip, attending a conference at the university. It was easy to find from the Metro stop (Cite Scientifique), just either go round on the road or walk between the buildings. The hotel had recommended the Metro, otherwise a taxi from Lille Europe station is around 20 Euros apparently (I paid 1.40 EUR for a single fare on the Metro). When I arrived at the hotel, they thought I was only staying for 1 night rather than 3 nights, despite me confirming my stay via email with them the day before. It wasn't a problem though and the girl on the reception desk spoke very good English. Unfortunately it was a very hot day and I arrived feeling very warm, and there was no air conditioning in the room. The warm weather continued all week, so most of the time my bedroom was very warm - I slept with the shutter down at night, but with the window fully open. This was the main negative part of my stay. My room was reasonable, with a small TV mounted on the wall (the only English channels were BBC World and CNN) and an ensuite bathroom. The food in the hotel was quite good, breakfast in particular (continential breakfast, lots of pastries, fresh fruit, yoghurt, squueze-your-own fresh orange juice). I had cheap wifi as part of my conference package although the connection wasn't very reliable (needed to keep reconnecting) and it was unsecured.

Lille itself is very pretty with lovely buildings and architecture. I had a free morning whilst I was there and took the Metro into Lille Flandres station (15 mins) and then walked straight ahead towards Grand' Place, where I wandered around for a couple of hours. I also took a minibus tour around Lille for 10Euros, departing hourly from the tourist information centre - they have audio tours to listen to on board, in around 8 different languages. I'm glad I went to have a look at Lille, it didn't take long to discover the main parts, even with only limited time available.

I would be happy to stay at this hotel again in the future but it is a bit out of the way if you're visiting central Lille. It was very convenient for the university though and also quite quiet (it is vacation time for students though). I also can't really comment on the value for money since I didn't pay for my accommodation or meals there! There is a car park behind the hotel, again not sure if you have to pay for it or how much it is, but there seemed to be plenty of spaces there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elytra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2006

I have stayed here several times visiting my son at the University. It is clean, quiet and the staff are excelent. There is ample parking, and the rapid transist system (about 20mins to Lille city centre) makes getting to and from Lille (and the main train stations) easy, but as a tourist I would prefer to stay in the city centre. The meals, especialy the breakfast are expensive.

Stayed: September 2005
Thank ApricotCrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Brussels
12
Reviewed 23 May 2005

This hotel is situated in the heart of the university of Lille. it is therefore a very good place if you go to the university but not for travel even if the hotel is near an underground station.
The rooms are clean and very quiet but there are some problems with the bathroom (bath-tub not tight,...).

For a 3 star hotel, and a quite high price (70€) it is not the perfect place. There is a good rate for students! The restaurant in the hotel is good.

  • Stayed: July 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank arnauld g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeneuve d'Ascq
0.7 mi away
Olivarius Apart'Hotel
Olivarius Apart'Hotel
#3 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Lille Grand Stade
B&B Hotel Lille Grand Stade
#4 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
113 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Morphee
Hotel Morphee
#2 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Lille Europe
Hotel Lille Europe
#33 of 107 in Lille
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Lille Grand Stade
Park Inn by Radisson Lille Grand...
#1 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
360 reviews
3.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inter-Hotel Ascotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter-Hotel Ascotel

Address: 7 Avenue Paul Langevin | Cité Scientifique, 59650 Villeneuve d'Ascq, Lille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille > Villeneuve d'Ascq
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Villeneuve d'Ascq
Price Range: £47 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inter-Hotel Ascotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located inside the Scientific city, a scientific university campus in Villeneuve d'Ascq, about 4 miles from downtown Lille. It is directly accesible by major road and motorway networks, about three miles from Lille airport, and benefits of a direct underground line that links to Lille downtown within 15 minutes. It is also facing the future Grand Stade where will hold football and sports events as well as musical entertainments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Inter-Hotel Ascotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ascotel Villeneuve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing