We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HotelF1 Lille Villeneuve d'Ascq
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Villeneuve d'Ascq
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for 1 night and found it was a terrible experience. The room we stayed in was very far from the reception and had the window open so not only was the room cold it also absolutely STUNK of cigarettes. The loos were disgusting as were the showers. Altogether an awful stay for an F1 hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank DebG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2009

The hotel is next to a restaurant, a fast food outlet and another hotel at a major road junction. It is of a walkable distance to a metro stop although we personally drove the distance as there was free parking available at the station. The metro will take you into Lille - roughly 7 stops - for 1E30 each way.

We found the staff to be friendly although language was potentially a problem as they appeared not to speak English. Thankfully we had a French speaker with us and who was able to check us in and explain things like when breakfast is served. Without a French speaker, I think we would have struggled a lot.

The room itself was simple but clean. A single bunk above a double bed, with a small dresser, a rail for hanging cloths and a sink. We did have a TV in the room but there was no signal at all. The window blocked out any noise from the nearby road although corridor was frequent thoughout the night with people coming and going.

The toilet and shower facilities were unusual. They are located at the ends of corridors. The toilet was in a pod, which was reminiscent of an plane toilet although a little bigger, but there was sink in there so you had to return to your room in order to wash your hands. The showers were again in a little room of their own but were quite hard to control both in terms of pressure and temperature.

The breakfast was served at the reception and included a selection of breads, hot drinks and cereal. There is only seating for around 15 people at the reception area so at busy times I imagine it is quite difficult to get a seat.

All in all, the hotel suited our purpose as we wished to merely sleep there and spend the rest of our time in the city centre. However, at the price we paid, I don't think it offered value for money given the basic nature and the shared facilities. For the same price, I had been able to book into a 4* hotel in the heart of Bruges only a month before, which is probably explains why I feel this way... Hence, we had no major complaints or problems but not a wonderful experience either.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank affinity89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paulo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank secos2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emivalemb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarosław J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank moure-36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeneuve d'Ascq
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Lille Villeneuve d'Ascq
Ibis Budget Lille Villeneuve d'A...
#10 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
270 reviews
2.0 mi away
HotelF1 Lille Metropole
HotelF1 Lille Metropole
#2 of 2 in Mons-en-Baroeul
58 reviews
2.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Lille Grand Stade
B&B Hotel Lille Grand Stade
#3 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Lille Wasquehal
3.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Lille Centre
1.5 mi away
Ibis Lille Villeneuve d'Ascq
Ibis Lille Villeneuve d'Ascq
#6 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HotelF1 Lille Villeneuve d'Ascq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HotelF1 Lille Villeneuve d'Ascq

Address: 3 boulevard de Mons | ZAC du Tir a Loque, 59650 Villeneuve d'Ascq, Lille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille > Villeneuve d'Ascq
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Villeneuve d'Ascq
Price Range: £23 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — HotelF1 Lille Villeneuve d'Ascq 1*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Partner Lille tourist office, the hotel is located just steps from the grandiose PARK HÉRON Villeneuve d'Ascq and 1400m NEAR THE METRO (remote stations 6 stations and city center of Lille). In the center of the MEL European metropolis of Lille, the hotel enjoys a privileged location. SPORTS side, you will be near the stadium Pierre Mauroy, North Stadium and Palacium. The UNIVERSITIES Lille 1, Lille 3 and the IUFM are easily accessible by bus or subway. CULTURE side, LAM, among the most important museums of modern art in France, is 500m. BUSINESS side, near the hotel, the Pilaterie LA Business Park Lille Métropole and its 150 companies, headquarters of Bonduelle companies, Cofidis, Decathlon, McCain Europe and Central Auchan purchase. Finally, on the spot, many restaurants and 2km, V2 shopping center, among the largest commercial areas north of Paris, will meet all your needs. Take a break from our cheap rooms with shared bathrooms, Wi-Fi, private parking and breakfast at will. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HotelF1 Lille Villeneuve d'Ascq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing