We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel at nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cabourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very beautiful hotel. Nice at the beach with a lot of possibilities in the area for diner, drinks, ...
In an area of 1h drive are many nice towns to visit.

We liked this hotel however it would even be better with soundproof rooms and private parking space.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice with sea view however small window (which fits the hotel perfect).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fcbibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

I travelled to the Grand hotel in Cabourg on a short breaak with Shearings in May 2014.

The hotel itself was lovely and the service excellent. However the standard of the food in the evenings was especially poor. Nothing like what I would expect from a luxury hotel.

I understand that this is due to the fact that Shearing customers, who do not eat with other guests, receive a specially selected menu. I wish I had been able to book on a B&B basis only because the food served up in the main restaurant looked delicious.

Be warned, don't expect too much and you won't feel let down. Bland, tepid and uninteresting meals!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayBaillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My spouse and I stayed here during the D-Day 70th Anniversary. The location is just east of Sword Beach and well situated for all kinds of Norman adventures. The hotel has plenty of free parking. Lovely gardens out front, is close walking distance to many shops and restaurants, and of course is on the beach. The rooms are big and spacious. The bathrooms are a little on the small side, but adequate. The staff is great. The only issue we had was with housekeeping which skipped over cleaning our room one day. The desk staff, when notified in the evening, quickly got housekeeping back up to our room to do their work. Speaking of the staff, the desk staff was great.

Room Tip: The graden view rooms are a little cheaper and every bit as nice as the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

After a grueling drive from Paris it was delightful to come upon The Grand Hotel, exactly as I had imagined and hoped it to be. Our room, 416, faces the ocean, with glorious windows begging to be thrown open to welcome the seaside air. Perhaps the atmosphere is electric because of the guests, many of whom are decked out in full military dress, heavily burdened with ribbons and medals, in celebration of the 70th anniversary of D Day. The furnishings are old world elegant and the staff, most able to understand my English and high school French, are most accommodating. Reception was able to arrange a same day visit with a doctor to tend to my husbands gout flare, and when we failed to remove the do-not-disturb sign from our door and returned from a long day of touring to an unmade room, immediately responded to remedy the situation. The setting is lovely, and we wish we had more time to luxuriate in the surroundings.

For our petite dejeuner we chose the ample breakfast buffet, with a wide variety of charcuterie, yummy croissants, fresh fruits, and eggs and sausage, and marvelous french yogurts and jams. Try the Tergoule, a pudding of rice baked for five hours, a wonderful breakfast dessert.

Room Tip: Our friends in room 417 have a bathtub, some what difficult to enter for a shower. Our room 416 has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SVFirstEdition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Lovely old worldly hotel right on the beach and few minutes from the center of town, giving you the best of both. Spacious rooms and even a garden room give a good view. Restaurant looks out to sea and has the evening sun so you can have dinner and watch the ferries coming and going.
Very central for exploring Normandy area of Deauville, Caen, Dive-sur-mer

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BABES1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels
Thank Giselle S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank loudvc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabourg
0.8 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
0.2 mi away
La Closerie Cabourg
La Closerie Cabourg
#9 of 14 in Cabourg
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville
10.0 mi away
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Th...
#2 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
966 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Normandy Deauville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection

Address: Les Jardins du Casino, 14390 Cabourg, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Cabourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cabourg
Price Range: £138 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be captivated by the timeless charm of the Grand Hôtel Cabourg, immortalized by Marcel Proust. Its spacious rooms have sea views or overlook the gardens & flowers. The restaurant faces the promenade & offers exquisite Normandy cuisine & memorable snacks. Come for a family vacation or a weekend away with your partner; the Grand Hôtel Cabourg offers you undivided attention for an unforgettable stay, whatever the time of year. (MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing