We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must for any trip to France!”

Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$11.39*
and up
Skip the Line: Normandy Mont-Saint-Michel Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Benedictine Abbey of Mont-Saint-Michel is one of the most remarkable examples of mediaeval religious and military architecture and was one of Christianity's most important pilgrimage sites from the 8th to the 18th century.The Abbey comprises a superb ensemble of clerical buildings including the abbey church, the cloister, the refectory, the monks' ambulatory and the gardens of what has been known as the ""Merveille"" (Marvel) since the 12th century. In summer, the Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel is best seen in all its splendour after sunset during the special “sons et lumières"" shows. Designated world heritage site by UNESCO. Open:> 2nd May to 31st August: from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.> 1st September to 30th April: from 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Last admission 1 hr before closing time. Closed:> 1st January, 1st May and 25 December. Admission fees: Adults : 9€; Concessions (18 to 25) = 5,50 €; Free admission: minors under 18*; Free admission: 18-25 years old* (citizens of one of the 27 countries of the EU or are non-European permanent residents of France) * excluding school groups
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Must for any trip to France!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was simply breathtaking! From the moment we drove around the bend and could see it up on high, we were mesmerized! Just beautiful! You should stay on the island overnight so you can experience it without the hordes of tourists.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlestonFoodie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,390
    2,085
    584
    204
    130
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,036 reviews
736 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
“Add it to your bucket list”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This was one of the main items on my bucket list and I'm so glad I spent the money to visit inside the Abbey.

Whilst the Abbey might be empty, you can get an audio guide to learn more about the Abbey and this is well worth doing.

Must see in France.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KylieIsTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best from a distance”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Mont-Saint-Michel looks great from across the water. Problems start when you try to travel from the car park.

Free buses run every few minutes from the car park on to the Mont but can be very busy. When you arrive be prepared to be carried by the crowds passed cheep and tacky shops and cafes before starting an upwards climb to the summit and the Abbaye itself.

The Abbaye - entrance 9 Euroes has some interest but the views are all a bit ordinary.

Save time and enjoy the view from the mainland. If you intend to see the Abbaye you will need at least three hours and probably more.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottesville
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fascinating labyrinth of medieval rooms and courtyards”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Not too crowded, ancient setting, lots of interesting views and twisting passageways. I did not try any tours or the recorded tour. There are lots of stairs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cvillediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Ticked off the bucket list with absolute delight”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were both gobsmacked as the mount first appeared on the horizon and we realized its majestic proportions and amazing beauty.
We planned to arrive late in the afternoon to avoid the rush and we were staying only half an hour away at St Malo, so it was a good plan.
Parking was easy (though we left the ticket in the car and panicked about the long walk back -until we checked from the pay ticket machine near the information centre that you can pay by card as you exit the park).
The shuttle bus system is very efficient and we were excited to enter the streets and begin the steep walk up to the Abbey. I agree with others that there should be better signposting and even an advice board as how to best see the mount. Instead, you just start up the right past souvenir shops supremo with not so supremo wares and restaurants with hefty prices and not so supremo fares.
Then we found - only on entering the Abbey - that it was closing (earlier than the board outside advised)! So if you want to see inside you need to get there earlier than 4.30 to allow time).
Aside from all that frustrating practical stuff, we just loved achieving a lifetime goal of visiting this iconic monument.
A quiet moment on the rampart enabled me to be transported to another age where dedicated men persisted in building an almost impossible achievement in creating a place of magic and awe for us all to love forever.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DrJanetHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel also viewed

 
Mont-Saint-Michel, Manche
Mont-Saint-Michel, Manche
 

Been to Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing