We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't go!”

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum, housed in a beautiful medieval house, displays many well-preserved medieval furniture and artifacts.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“don't go!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Aah I should have prepared and listened to my tripadvisor friends.
what a rip-off
nothing of interest.
just go visit what you came here for: the cathedral/abbey
spend this museum money on a nice coffee instead!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RJB267450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    28
    25
    29
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I speak some French but couldn't work out who this man was or why we were visiting his Maison. A total waste of money and time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottiesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springwood, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Climb some more stairs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

If you want hay fever, allergy, asthma, this is the place! Very limited display and of even less interest. The ticket allowing visits to all four museums is a waste of money. Avoid like the plague, hmmmm, maybe you could catch that too....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciaran-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Don't let a fellow talk you into this whole 4 museums for a bargain. Avoid at all cost. Don't say I didn't warn you.
Wish I had access to trip advisor at the time I got my tickets. Be a clever visitor read the reviews

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kinda1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
187 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“OK to get away from the crowds”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Before writing the review, I glanced at others on this site and was dismayed to find I learned more from Phillip Coppens' review than I did from the visit itself. The lady was a sorceress? Now that's interesting. As for the "museum" it is essentially 3 rooms with artifacts that largely postdate the former occupants. It would have been nice to have information on who else occupied the rooms over time. It looked like much of the information was slapped together quickly to make a few bucks. However, the place contained a chastity belt and that was somewhat interesting. Not worth the fee, though.

If your french is limited or nonexistent, avoid. You won't get anything out of the visit. We speak fluent French and found the information limited at best. Artifacts alone are not worth the visit, unless you want to escape the crowds.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank dondedieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maison de Bertrand du Guesclin also viewed

 
Mont-Saint-Michel, Manche
Mont-Saint-Michel, Manche
 

Been to Maison de Bertrand du Guesclin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing