We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend a Night in the 14th Century”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A night spent on Mont St Michel has to be on the short list of the world's best travel experiences. One of the few hostelries actually on the island is Le Mouton Blanc. Set right on the spiraling street up to the Abby. LMB is right in the middle of the densely packed shopping and dining area. The 14 century building is rather tight for space and the room where we were placed was on the second floor overlooking the street. It is rather fun to look down upon the crowded street and imagine emptying chamber pots down upon their heads. One can almost touch the building directly across. Like many European hotel rooms, it was pretty small. But we have stayed in smaller rooms in much less interesting buildings. It is the price paid for the almost surreal historical atmosphere. We slept well and we were not disturbed by the early morning street noises travel sites have warned against. Do not be tempted to stay in one of the modern offsite hotels on the "mainland" Le Mouton Blanc is the real deal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krokro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Although we knew that staying off of the Mont would be much cheaper, we wanted the experience of being in the thick of things -- and that we were!

Le Mouton Blanc had some of the last and most affordable rooms left on the island. We had a firsthand look at the abbaye, which was spectacular (especially at night!), and our hotel was conveniently located above the thickest cluster of shops and restaurants so it wasn't too noisy outside.

Our room had windows opening onto the main lane and had a rather rustic character to it. Of hotel room experiences, it was nice but not particularly special (although it was cool feeling like we were lodging in an ancient town, even though it probably wasn't). The room lacked amenities that many chain hotels would have, such as a room refrigerator, but we made up for that by hanging our bag of cheeses (brought up from Paris) out the window.

The service at the hotel was average -- the front desk staff were courteous but not overly friendly, as if they were already too used to tourists flowing through (as another reviewer noted). We did eat in the restaurant one night and had a decent taste of local fare.

I'd recommend the hotel for its location and price, but would keep my eyes open if another option emerged.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed in September and for us it was unforgettable. The room is small and simple but clean and perfectly adequate and the staff were friendly and helpful. We had no trouble getting the carpark code or catching the shuttle. Have dinner early and ramble about the Abbaye which stays open until very late. The chapel felt very special when it was almost empty. Breakfast is OK, with hindsight we would have tried to find a terrace (or a least a bay view) somewhere else. Late checkout allowed us to eat and tour the Abbaye in peace - again, fantastic to make our way up empty streets and see inside those extraordinary medieval buildings when they were almost empty, surprising to emerge mid-morning and find people everywhere! The site itself puts size and other limitations on hotels, for us it was well worth it to be able to wander the Mont as we wished without being crowded by other tourists and without all the tourist tat for sale during the day being in your face, much easier to keep the back-in-time fantasy afloat. Evening and early morning are magical. Travellers who want large rooms or better appointments will probably be happier staying at one of the causeway hotels and walking or taking the shuttle over. We enjoyed the whole narrow streets, look-out-on-cobblestones, hidden-away-upstairs nature of the stay - it was just fun. There is a short walk and there are stairs, which make you feel a bit silly if you are dragging suitcases but it was no big deal: what do you expect from a thousand-year-old human habitation?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MavisMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a lovely night on Mont Saint Michel -the only way to visit the island. After the crowds are gone, it is just beautiful and serene. While the room was small, it was comfortable for our one night stay. The front desk clerk was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcateesphar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Le Mouton Blanc In the rooms a short walk up from the main hotel. Our room was small and the window opened onto the main strip.It was pleasant to hear the ambient noise of people going past. It is a bit noisy at garbage pick up time, however this was brief. The service from the desk staff was average you were made welcome but are treated like one of many who pass through this very busy little area of France. The shower was one of those molded prefabricated sort and the shower hose kept falling off the wall.This would be my only criticism of this well priced hotel. The big tip mentioned previously is well worth listening to - pack only a small overnight bag. Hauling luggage here would be awful to do. It was lovely to walk around at night and really get the place to yourselves. It was certainly a night we will remember fondly.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walnuticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

It so true....it's very special to be on the mont after the crowds leave. I had visited once before but didn't stay on the mont...I fought the crowds up and down the climb and didn't appreciate the magic of the experience. We arrive about 5 in the afternoon as most people were departing. The hotel is just a short walk after entering the main entrance up to the Mont. The ladies at the front desk were very welcoming and charming. Our room over looked the Grand Rue and it was great to open the window and look down at the winding rue. The room wasn't elegant but had a certain charm...beamed ceilings and a lovely patina of a grande dame that had weather the years and survived. Ah, if the walls could only talk. We were able to walk the ramparts at night, have a lovely glass of wine and watch the tide come in. Like a few people have mentioned before...the early morning street noise might wake you up. It didn't bother us much but then we were eager to be up early and walk up to the abbey before the crowds arrived. The breakfast was fine and the waitress was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psully2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Le Mouton Blanc Hotel was a fantastic experience! The location was excellent with terrific views, large clean rooms and a very helpful staff. They arranged the early morning pick up by the shuttle bus. The tour of the abbey was well worth climbing 300 steps. We ate at other restaurants so we cannot review their restaurant. The room was exceptional and we feel it was worth the price since it was a "once in a lifetime experience!" We would recommend this hotel without hesitation!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 208 which had two double beds, plenty of room, a desk, three chairs and a bench fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K2France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
603 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Mere Poulard
Hotel Restaurant La Mere Poulard
#14 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Auberge Saint Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
860 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
570 reviews
0 mi away
Les Terrasses Poulard
Les Terrasses Poulard
#12 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mouton Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mouton Blanc

Address: Grande rue | Bp 18, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range: £140 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Mouton Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de 15 chambres tout confort dans des demeures historiques du XIVème siècle au coeur du Mont-Saint-Michel, Merveille de l’Occident.Restaurant de tradition dans l’auberge historique du Mouton Blanc avec sa cuisine authentique et savoureuse.L’hôtel historique Au pied de l’Abbaye, l’hôtel du Mouton Blanc de renommée centenaire vous accueille dans sa demeure historique du XIVème siècle et dans seschambres calmes, pleines de charme et d’un très grand confort.L’Auberge normandeDans ses salles à manger traditionnelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Le Mouton Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mouton Blanc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing