We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I booked this hotel because I wanted to stay on Le Mont Saint Michel for the night and it was quite affordable. I was not disappointed. The atmosphere was extremely pleasant, even with a 2.5 power outage over most of Le Mont that evening. It made it feel even more authentic.
I had one of the rooms up the street from the main hotel. It was clean and quite large...it had a double bed and a single. There are 2 rooms in this section and both look out over the narrow main street. Probably because it was November and it was not overly crowded, it was very quiet...about 7am when they started bring supplies up the street, over the cobblestone using some kind of cart/dolly with metal wheels. There was no sleeping in with that kind of noise and the windows were closed and the curtains pulled. I'm not complaining, just putting it out there. Personally, I was grateful for the wake up call it provided. It got me out of bed and into the vacant streets!
I mentioned the blackout...this is a small hotel and one thing the staff could have done during the blackout would have been to check on their guests. Most tourists (I think) don't travel with a flashlight. It would have been nice to have someone from the hotel check and see if everything was OK. You can maybe imagine just how dark it was on those narrow streets!
The blackout happened over dinner time and again, the hotel staff were not engaged in their guests welfare. I checked in at the front desk to see if their kitchen was open and they said probably not and made no effort to even suggest something else. Another restaurant without power just a couple of doors down were serving meals, albeit by candlelight and I don't know the menu they provided but at least they tried.
I get that power outages don't happen too often but in a place like MSM where it is so isolated, perhaps a plan to look after their guests would be something to consider when these events happen.

Room Tip: Depending on what you are looking for, ask for a room in the main hotel. For sure my room was proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillYTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

It was realy amazing to stay in this town and property. Mediaval streets and buildings, abbey, walls - we will remember about wery long time. It is fantastic how could the owners of the hotel make such atmothere and comfort in buildings from 14 century. Must feel it by yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alenpanov1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Staff were cheery and helpful. Room had character and was clean. You could look out onto the bustle of the narrow street leading up to the Abbaye. (All the buildings and of course the Abbaye, are amazing).
The evening meal, as part of demi-pension - was very ordinary. This was quite an unexpected let-down as other meals elsewhere in France were great. Breakfast was quite good.
Overall we were happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A night spent on Mont St Michel has to be on the short list of the world's best travel experiences. One of the few hostelries actually on the island is Le Mouton Blanc. Set right on the spiraling street up to the Abby. LMB is right in the middle of the densely packed shopping and dining area. The 14 century building is rather tight for space and the room where we were placed was on the second floor overlooking the street. It is rather fun to look down upon the crowded street and imagine emptying chamber pots down upon their heads. One can almost touch the building directly across. Like many European hotel rooms, it was pretty small. But we have stayed in smaller rooms in much less interesting buildings. It is the price paid for the almost surreal historical atmosphere. We slept well and we were not disturbed by the early morning street noises travel sites have warned against. Do not be tempted to stay in one of the modern offsite hotels on the "mainland" Le Mouton Blanc is the real deal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krokro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Although we knew that staying off of the Mont would be much cheaper, we wanted the experience of being in the thick of things -- and that we were!

Le Mouton Blanc had some of the last and most affordable rooms left on the island. We had a firsthand look at the abbaye, which was spectacular (especially at night!), and our hotel was conveniently located above the thickest cluster of shops and restaurants so it wasn't too noisy outside.

Our room had windows opening onto the main lane and had a rather rustic character to it. Of hotel room experiences, it was nice but not particularly special (although it was cool feeling like we were lodging in an ancient town, even though it probably wasn't). The room lacked amenities that many chain hotels would have, such as a room refrigerator, but we made up for that by hanging our bag of cheeses (brought up from Paris) out the window.

The service at the hotel was average -- the front desk staff were courteous but not overly friendly, as if they were already too used to tourists flowing through (as another reviewer noted). We did eat in the restaurant one night and had a decent taste of local fare.

I'd recommend the hotel for its location and price, but would keep my eyes open if another option emerged.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed in September and for us it was unforgettable. The room is small and simple but clean and perfectly adequate and the staff were friendly and helpful. We had no trouble getting the carpark code or catching the shuttle. Have dinner early and ramble about the Abbaye which stays open until very late. The chapel felt very special when it was almost empty. Breakfast is OK, with hindsight we would have tried to find a terrace (or a least a bay view) somewhere else. Late checkout allowed us to eat and tour the Abbaye in peace - again, fantastic to make our way up empty streets and see inside those extraordinary medieval buildings when they were almost empty, surprising to emerge mid-morning and find people everywhere! The site itself puts size and other limitations on hotels, for us it was well worth it to be able to wander the Mont as we wished without being crowded by other tourists and without all the tourist tat for sale during the day being in your face, much easier to keep the back-in-time fantasy afloat. Evening and early morning are magical. Travellers who want large rooms or better appointments will probably be happier staying at one of the causeway hotels and walking or taking the shuttle over. We enjoyed the whole narrow streets, look-out-on-cobblestones, hidden-away-upstairs nature of the stay - it was just fun. There is a short walk and there are stairs, which make you feel a bit silly if you are dragging suitcases but it was no big deal: what do you expect from a thousand-year-old human habitation?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MavisMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a lovely night on Mont Saint Michel -the only way to visit the island. After the crowds are gone, it is just beautiful and serene. While the room was small, it was comfortable for our one night stay. The front desk clerk was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcateesphar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#9 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Mere Poulard
Hotel Restaurant La Mere Poulard
#14 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
858 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
567 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses Poulard
Les Terrasses Poulard
#12 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mouton Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mouton Blanc

Address: Grande rue | Bp 18, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range: £139 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Mouton Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de 15 chambres tout confort dans des demeures historiques du XIVème siècle au coeur du Mont-Saint-Michel, Merveille de l’Occident.Restaurant de tradition dans l’auberge historique du Mouton Blanc avec sa cuisine authentique et savoureuse.L’hôtel historique Au pied de l’Abbaye, l’hôtel du Mouton Blanc de renommée centenaire vous accueille dans sa demeure historique du XIVème siècle et dans seschambres calmes, pleines de charme et d’un très grand confort.L’Auberge normandeDans ses salles à manger traditionnelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Mouton Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mouton Blanc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing