We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place - special island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
309 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Special place - special island”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We completely enjoyed our stay at Hotel Le Mouton Blanc. As other reviewers have noted, nothing beats staying on the island after the throngs leave. Yes, it is a challenge to get to one's room, lug suitcases up stairs, but, hey, where's your sense of adventure?!? We booked a "triple" room on Expedia to find we had a massive room with two double beds, a view of the bay from one window, and a full-on view of the abbey from the opposite window. Remarkable. Breathtaking. No words. I literally sat on the windowsill writing postcards and observed people walking up and down the labyrinth of stairs. No intrusion into the privacy of the room, though - bliss!!

Our room was in the annex building noted by other reviewers, but again, I have nothing but positive things to say. It was a special room. The front desk provides a sweet picture guide that is numbered to reach this building.

And speaking of the front desk, they were kind, friendly, and helpful every single time we interacted with them. Upon check-in (where one of our rooms was actually ready early!), calling on our behalf to secure a walk through the bay to the island of Tombelaine (when the tide recedes), and finally upon checkout. Fabulous.

Housekeeping was gracious as well. The only hiccup we encountered was with the wifi in the annex building. It was available from the main building, so we simply went down there if we needed access. It did work the second night from our room. But, seriously, I don't travel to places like Mont-St-Michel to go online - I go there to unplug!!!

Yes, there are the sounds of the island - sea gulls, church bells, etc. - that rouse you from your sleep, but at the end of the day, I remember the serenity of the island early morning and early evening - having it all to ourselves - with the majestic views of the abbey - our "sandcastle"!! Special memories!!


P.S. Look into the bay walk --- HIGHLY recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesertDweller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    261
    180
    84
    88
See reviews for
196
338
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
307 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Mont Sant Michel can only be fully experienced when all of the day tourists leave. Staying at Le Mouton Blanc was essential to our complete Mont Sant Michel experience. When the day trippers left, we enjoyed a quiet and peaceful exploration on this special island. We carefully followed the directions to the property parking lot and knew the code. So, it was easy and efficient for us to find the right parking lot for the property. It was a bit challenging to drag heavy luggage up the cobblestone streets, especially when our hotel room was situated farther away in the annex instead of the main hotel. Despite the inconvenience, the stay was lovely. Ocean fresh air coming into the room all night made for a restful sleep. The seagull cries throughout the night and the morning were relaxing and reminded us that we were sleeping on an island. Loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms at the main hotel will require a shorter transportation of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debra-Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Located right in the heart of the island, gives you a chance to explore the.Island when everyone has left. Roons are very small but clean and comfortable. Be prepared for a step uphill walk to hotel. You do have to get a free shuttle bus from mainland carpark to the foot of the Mount.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcWain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Nice small hotel for one night stand. Note that the rooms and the reception are located in different buildings. However there's nothing to do in Mont-St-Michel after 18:00, all shops are closed and most of restaraunts works as a bars only. So the only reason to stay in the hotel is to sleep well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Typical small room but comfortable and clean. Good wifi and great location for visiting the abbey. We had a nice territorial view. Be sure to get the parking and shuttle instructions from the hotel. It’s great to stay on the ‘island’ as it’s really peaceful after the crowds leave. Restaurants close about 5pm for dinner and reopen at 7pm, but many sandwich & burger options available during that time as well. If you’re used to having coffee in the morning, well, it won’t happen before 10am. The hotels may have breakfast buffets; ours did for E18 each, which was tasty, but that appeared to be the only option before 10am. It included sausage and eggs, a nice change from the typical French breakfast, although sort of roll-your-eyes expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Some people complain about the crowds and pulling your suitcases up the steep cobbled streets, then dragging your suitcases up a narrow steep staircase to a tiny room......but it is all worth while when all the tourists go and the Mont changes from a scene out of a Harry Potter tourist attraction to a magical, deserted place. Luckily you don't spend much time in the room - at dawn too the magic draws you out. That's lucky because the hotel is extremely tired, and definitely due for renovations.....but we all slept well and would do it again. When we came off the island the next day and saw all the people staying in the hotels on the mainland we knew what they had missed out on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marguerite B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms are weathered and worn, the bathroom smelled sour and there are 4 hair dryers to share between all hotel guests. When I asked to have a hair dryer the reception staff said "we are all out now, there's nothing we can do" after he had told me that he had one waiting for me at reception and I walked down immediately after he said that.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSUbuckeyesHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
810 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
550 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Mere Poulard
La Mere Poulard
#13 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,000 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Vieille Auberge
La Vieille Auberge
#9 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
290 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mouton Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mouton Blanc

Property: Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Address: Grande rue | BP 18, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Mouton Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de 19 chambres tout confort dans des demeures historiques du XIVème siècle au coeur du Mont-Saint-Michel, Merveille de l’Occident.Restaurant de tradition dans l’auberge historique du Mouton Blanc avec sa cuisine authentique et savoureuse.L’hôtel historique Au pied de l’Abbaye, l’hôtel du Mouton Blanc de renommée centenaire vous accueille dans sa demeure historique du XIVème siècle et dans seschambres calmes, pleines de charme et d’un très grand confort.L’Auberge normandeDans ses salles à manger traditionnelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Mouton Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mouton Blanc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing