We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms above the island entrance”
Review of La Mere Poulard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mere Poulard
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Rooms above the island entrance”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It was a nice hotel and we felt privileged to stay on the island for the night.
We had a standard double room, which I asked to be with a view on the sea. Thus, we were on the third floor, just above the restaurants. As it was spring, it wasn't too crowded hence not noisy at night but we could hear the restaurant's fan when opening the windows - not the sea. We were also above the garbage bins which trucks came to pick up early in the morning, before the start of the road works.
Beyond that, the room and furniture were a bit old but very functional and the bathroom was large.
If I was to go back to Mont St Michel, I might try to stay in a different hotel but I'd still try to go back on the island rather than at the shuttle terminal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AxelR0695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    254
    209
    118
    180
See reviews for
233
522
48
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I would like to thank all the staff at the La Mère Poulard for the warm welcome and efficient service as well as their willingness to help. We spent a wonderful, unforgettable break on Mont Saint-Michel…

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

La Mère Poulard stands out because of its historic atmosphere which at first might seem a bit over the top, but which in the end is really attractive and interesting. In spite of a certain lack of space, my room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated, and I award an extra tick for the biscuits made available by La Mère Poulard. As for the cookery, both the breakfast and the dinner included in our set price were excellent! Finally, in my opinion the quality of the service is very good, smiling and polite staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank borja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A super atmosphere with original decor, the cooking is excellent, I advise you strongly to try the omelette. La Mère Poulard also has a bar with big comfortable sofas. The waiters are adorable. The rooms very comfortable. I fell in love with La Mère Poulard at first sight!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It was our first visit to France, and therefore the first time we visited Mont Saint Michel. We wanted to stay in the best known hotel for the location. Which was why we chose La Mère Poulard. It is a perfect location and the hotel provides a very warm welcome for all its guests.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank buglady102081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel, which we booked at the last minute on the internet during the first stage of our French trip in Paris, was totally in line with expectations. It is both simple and good quality. Moreover, the rooms are comfortable and well designed; the food served in the attractive ground-floor restaurant is of excellent quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OllyM127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenyang, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This establishment offers all the things we most appreciate about France: history, tradition, culinary know-how and good service. All the qualities of the beautiful country that is France come together under the roof of this hotel-restaurant that is, for us, emblematic of your charming country.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
815 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses Poulard
Les Terrasses Poulard
#15 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
#12 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
735 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mere Poulard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mere Poulard

Property: La Mere Poulard
Address: 18 Grande rue | BP 18, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Mere Poulard 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the only setting of its kind in the world, nestled in the middle of the medieval city of Mont Saint-Michel, La Mere Poulard offers you the charm and comfort of its hotel, the tradition and quality of its restaurant, the warmth and conviviality of its piano-bar: an unforgettable moment in this magical place full of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Mere Poulard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mere Poulard Hotel Mont-St-Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing