We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to visit when tourists are out of season and moules are in”
Review of La Rotisserie

La Rotisserie
Price range: US$0 - US$31
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A place to visit when tourists are out of season and moules are in”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We visited Mont St Michel on a Tuesday in mid-May, when tourists were not too dense. We did not have high expectations of securing a good lunch either on the island itself or on the mainland along the commercial strip that lies between the shuttle-bus terminus and the causeway, but we settled on 'La Rotisserie', which lies at the southern end of the commercial strip. We ordered moules and frites and were astonished at the generous quantity of succulent mussels that appeared - somewhere between 50 and 100 per person (compared to the ten or so we'd seen served to people eating in restaurants on the island). And this for 12 euros. Of course, things may be different when the tour buses arrive...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank euchromatopsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    187
    118
    62
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rotorua
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Poor quality food.staff very off hand.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Sounds abit harsh,but we ordered a mixed salad,full of fatty meat,90% lettuce.
We were sitting next to a large Asian tour party,they left most of their soggy looking chicken and rice,and crumble that had no yoghurt,cream or ice cream,it was just a dry mess.
i feel because they get the large bus tours they have sacriiced quality.
We left most of our salad and declined the dessert.
definitely not a great experience.
Again,they have a captive audience there,people have to eat,but word gets around!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank buddah28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dandridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food, but guy with the pointy hair ruined the experience”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stopped here for a lunch after a visit to the abby on May 5th. The mussels were pretty tasty with a good broth; the omelette nicely done and the prices seemed fair.
Wish I could give this place a better review, but the experience was unfortunately offset by not only poor service, but a poor attitude on the part of our server, a young gent with high pointy hair and low social skills who singularly spoiled what appeared to otherwise be a decent operation. When you wished to be served or get the check, he conspicuously avoided eye contact and seemed to derive some pleasure in doing so. The bill came to a little over twenty euro, I tendered a 50 euro note and enough change to round out the change. Idiot boy came back with a 10 euro note and 20 euros in coin!
Not the type of presence this establishment needs. Shame, otherwise nice place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cigarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun evening, good food”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We opted for the Rotisserie rather than the Pre-Sale (over the road) as we fancied less fussy food. We shared a foie-gras de canard, served with tasty chutneys and the huge, fresh, tasty salade de crudites to start with and both were good; exactly what we wanted. I then had the galette with apples and boudin-noir which was absolutely fantastic!! My husband had the tortilla (omlette) with bayonne ham; also very good and we shared a good bottle or Rose. The restaurant was reasonably priced, service good. A casual, relaxed restaurant so if you want fine-dining, go to the Pre Sale.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RockyRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful dessert”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We ate at this restaurant which was conveniently located across the street from our hotel. My husband had the ham dinner and I had a Normande salad. Both were good, but the dessert - Profiteroles - were amazing. They are cream puffs filled with vanilla ice cream topped with hot dark chocolate sauce with sliced almonds. Yummers!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crowngirl619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rotisserie also viewed

 
Mont-Saint-Michel, Manche
Mont-Saint-Michel, Manche
 

Been to La Rotisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing