We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Du Guesclin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mont-Saint-Michel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Du Guesclin
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Jefferson, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Great hotel for the money. I had a room in the annex overlooking the water. Room was clean and well maintained. The front desk staff spoke English.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csteets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    100
    33
    18
    14
See reviews for
48
124
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

This hotel is perfectly located on the main street on the beautiful Le Mont St Michel. The restaurant is very good, staff were polite and obliging and the bay views from our room were stunning. The couple we were travelling with had a Mont view room, and it was equally picturesque.
The rooms were comfortable, clean and warm but unfortunately I woke up covered in bed bug bites - at least 50 itchy lumps all over my arms, face, chest, back and hands.
This was very unfortunate and is my only complaint about this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MallyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

One of the few hotels on the island. Our room was nicely decorated and had a wonderful view of the bay. A small bed was added in the room for our daughter. Small and cozy with clean bathroom, it has a very good value ratio.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelHard2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed here for two nights to get a good view of Mont Saint Michel and really enjoyed the hotel. Good room with sea view and pleasant interior, nothing fancy, but just big enough for a couple. The bathroom was a bit tight. The panoramic restaurant has nothing medieval over it - unlike most other places on the Mont - but has a pleasant vintage interior in light colours (1920s or 1950s – we couldn’t date it). The food is fine and made us come back for the second day. The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joris015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

During the day, Mont St. Michel is like medieval Disneyland, with tourists everywhere. The main street is crowded with bus tours, and despite its beauty, one could be anywhere. Once the tourists leave about 5 o'clock, however, the Mont returns to its medieval roots.

Staying on the Mont give you the opportunity to experience this World Heritage site for yourself. The Hotel du Guesclin was very convenient to the car park (took us less than five minutes), and the staff were helpful and English-speaking. They even understood and assisted us when we had to leave much earlier than expected. Our room overlooked the ramparts and the bay, which was quiet and peaceful. We were able to witness sunset and sunrise from our room, which was breathtaking.

We didn't eat at the restaurant, opting for another restaurant nearby, but the views looked like the ones from our room, so we weren't too worried.

Our room was small and a bit threadbare, but clean, and the bathroom looked as if it had been very recently updated. The price was amazing for the location.

One tip, however, if arriving by car, put what you need for the night in a small bag and leave the rest of your luggage in the trunk (covered well, of course). We followed this advice from Rick Steves and were glad we did -- it would have been terrible trying to drag our suitcases up the narrow, crowded, and cobblestoned street.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank historygrlsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

In stead of visiting Mont St. Michel we decided to stay at it for a night. And we were glad we did, because during the day the Mont is overcrowded with tourists, and after the busses have left, the atmosphere is completely different.
We had a room with view over the bay, with a nice bathroom. Breakfast was okay.
We didn't have dinner at the hotel but at a terrace of one of the other restaurants. The only "complaint" we have: there was no place where we could get a drink after 10 pm.
I think this hotel is the best priced opportunity to stay on the Mont.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

We booked at this hotel without great expectations and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived in to find a clean, comfortable room with a superb view of the Abbey and the street. We had trouble with the internet connection but otherwise everything was terrific, the bathrooms were fairly new and ample, the bed was comfortable and the rooms were big enough to fit us all with our luggage without any trouble.

One thing though, if you carry your luggage with you, this might be a bit troublesome especially when the street gets crowded. We chose not to eat at the hotel in favor of another restaurant, but the overall ambiance was very pleasant.

Staff was friendly and helpful, even when we changed our minds about the breakfast.

If you plan to visit, remember this is not a party location, but it is ideal to go on a romantic trip or exclusively for cultural purposes.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferretbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Vieille Auberge
La Vieille Auberge
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
#11 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#9 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mere Poulard
La Mere Poulard
#13 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Guesclin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Guesclin

Property: Hotel Du Guesclin
Address: 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Du Guesclin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing