We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cathynj”
Review of Hotel Du Guesclin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mont-Saint-Michel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Du Guesclin
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
St-Germain-en-Laye, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cathynj”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Excellent location - loved the view. Comfortable and clean accommodations and very good food. We were surprised that we had to pay for parking in the lot reserved for hotel guests, but the shuttle system works well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathynjtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    105
    34
    18
    17
See reviews for
53
127
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel is fine - the staff also run a restaurant that caters to the hordes of tourists on the street level and a fancier dining option one level up with nice views of the bay. The restaurants occupy most of their time, so there's minimal interaction with staff (and when there is interaction it's rather frenzied).

The room was clean, albeit small, and the furnishings were pleasant. The wi-fi connection was terrible in the room. You have to pick it up in the lobby (downstairs) and walk your mobile device back up to the room and hope the link persists.

The reason you stay here is for 1) the experience of sleeping on the mount and wandering the quiet, enchanting alleyways in the evening (which is an excellent reason!), and 2) for the spectacular views of the sun rising over the bay in the morning (request a bay-side room).

I understand that the hotel is the last family-owned/operated on the island. I'd like to think that's a reason to give them your business, but if you're looking for more attentive staff you should probably go with another option.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ContinentalWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was just a one night stay and after experiencing the island after the throngs of people leave, I wish would would have had another night. We had a twin room and it was small, but not so small that we were on top of each other's space. The room and bathroom was clean and provided a lovely view out the window. The reception staff was very nice and carried my heavy back up to our room. The breakfast staff was curt to say the least, but I won't hold it against my experience here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank IrishTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a small hotel, run by a restaurant owner. I stayed at Chamber 6, which is facing the ocean with amazing sunrise view. The location of the room is near to restaurants and shops, unlike some of the hotels which rated higher but you got to walk quite a distance to the shops.
Besides, the manager can speak average English, which I have no problem to communicate with, and in fact, the manager is very honest, where I leave fair amount of cash inside the room when I check out, and I was on my way back to Paris via bullet train, therefore he kept the money for me and tele-transfer to me when I'm back to my country. This really impressed me with their honesty.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing, I stayed at Chamber 6, amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CKW1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Decent, clean hotel. Try to get a room facing the bay, if possible. We parked in the parking lot and rode the train to the Mont. There is a lot of walking and stair involved, so we only brought one bag with essentials for the evening and next morning.

Great location for exploring the Mont and abby away from all the tourists. Nothing too fancy, but perfect to get an early start before the crowds set in. No air conditioning, but we were able to leave our window open at night which made us quite comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Found the Hotel Du Guesclin online and booked direct.
No car access to the Mont so had to park up on the mainland and haul our luggage from the car park to a free shuttle bus for the five minute ride across the causeway .
We were told that parking was free in designated car park for hotel guests but this was not the case, had to pay twelve euros.
On arriving on the Mont there is a quarter of a mile or so hike on what I assume is a temporary boardwalk to the base of the Mont.
There is a lot of construction work going on what appears to be a new access road.
From the entry gates its a steep climb to the hotels, when we arrived mid afternoon it was quite a physical effort to haul cases up the cobbled street tough the hoards of visitors.
Reception is located in the lower dining area bar, the staff were most welcoming and directed us to our room which entailed climbing the stairs to the first floor restaurant and exiting on to the ramparts where another set of steep stairs had to be negotiated to the room.
The room was very basic but clean, the sea view was stunning.
The best thing about this hotel is the restaurant, great food and fantastic views from the window tables.
Strongly advise to book a table on checking in, we did fortunately and by seven thirty the restaurant was full.
Again excellent staff.
There didn't appear to be many quality eating places on the island so I guess that's the reason for the restaurant filling up so quickly.
The best reason for staying on the Mont is by eight in the evening all the day trippers have left and its a very pleasurable experience to explore.

Room Tip: Book window table in restaurant as soon as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cambo2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

nice , clean comfortable . The experience of spending the night at Mont Saint Michel is a must do !!! the sunset and night atmosphere as well as seeing the Abbey light up is amazing .
The Guesclin is nice , basic but comfortable .For 75 $ a night it was a good value . We went early in May and it was still cold in the Bay and there was not heating in the Hotel. so bring some sweaters ! Service was poor, actually no one is in the building after 8 pm . We couldn't reach anybody in the morning either since they open at 11 for breakfast .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank martine028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
815 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
140 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Mere Poulard
La Mere Poulard
#14 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,011 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
#13 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
735 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses Poulard
Les Terrasses Poulard
#15 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Guesclin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Guesclin

Property: Hotel Du Guesclin
Address: 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Du Guesclin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing