We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant - they should be embarrassed!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Du Guesclin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mont-Saint-Michel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Du Guesclin
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
winchester
Level Contributor
215 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Restaurant - they should be embarrassed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was described previously as the best of a bad bunch - I just think it's bad. We suffered two meals here with friends. First a brunch involving omelettes that had been cooked previously, certainly not that day, and then warmed with whatever filling you required. Inedible rubbish and if you can't cook fresh omelettes you should not call yourself a restaurant. Dinner was the second experience and equally as bad. Dishes included slimy funny tasting salmon tartare and a crab that was older and dryer than the omelettes. Second course was a piece of pork that must have been sliced with a razor blade and amounted to about two mouthfuls. Nasty frozen chips and lacklustre salad completed this dismal experience. Overall I thought the Mont St Michel with its nasty overpriced gift shops, thousands of people, terrible restaurants, miserable hotels and surly staff was worth avoiding. It is a great spectacle but don't stay and don't eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank accipitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    100
    33
    18
    14
See reviews for
48
124
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is ideally situated within the main street of Mont St-Michel. Our room was clean, somewhat small but had a great view of the bay. Breakfast was ok but rather expensive for what was provided. Service was helpful throughout our stay of 2 nights. In short a good accommodation choice among limited options in Mont St-Michel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
324 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have visited Mont Saint Michel a number of times and have found the key is the be here when the tourists are not. That either means the dead of winter or in the evening or early morning. On this trip we opted for the latter.

Finding reasonable accommodation will be a real challenge. After scouring many reviews of a number of properties we did what we have done previously, that is recognise that finding reasonable accommodation at a reasonable price will be hard.

We selected the Hotel du Guesclin not because we thought it was going to be wonderful, but because it seemed the "least worst" of the on island options. (If you are willing to stay over in the village I suspect there are better accommodation options - however you do miss the option of having the Mont to yourself).

The rooms at the Du Guesclin are small and basic. There really is very little to praise. The key if you book here is to lower your expectations and recognise the reason why you elected to stay.

We found dinner rather ordinary - when you see a supplement on a menu offering more lamb for an additional fee you know the serving size will be miniscule - and it was. Breakfast on the other hand redeemed itself.

If this hotel was located elsewhere it would have earned a lower rating, however, this is relative and compared with the alternatives on the Mont this is at best average.

My strong advice - lower your expectations and you may find that you are not disappointed. Otherwise stay off the Mont and get up very, very early and make the trip across.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that look out over the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St-Germain-en-Laye, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Excellent location - loved the view. Comfortable and clean accommodations and very good food. We were surprised that we had to pay for parking in the lot reserved for hotel guests, but the shuttle system works well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathynjtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel is fine - the staff also run a restaurant that caters to the hordes of tourists on the street level and a fancier dining option one level up with nice views of the bay. The restaurants occupy most of their time, so there's minimal interaction with staff (and when there is interaction it's rather frenzied).

The room was clean, albeit small, and the furnishings were pleasant. The wi-fi connection was terrible in the room. You have to pick it up in the lobby (downstairs) and walk your mobile device back up to the room and hope the link persists.

The reason you stay here is for 1) the experience of sleeping on the mount and wandering the quiet, enchanting alleyways in the evening (which is an excellent reason!), and 2) for the spectacular views of the sun rising over the bay in the morning (request a bay-side room).

I understand that the hotel is the last family-owned/operated on the island. I'd like to think that's a reason to give them your business, but if you're looking for more attentive staff you should probably go with another option.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ContinentalWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was just a one night stay and after experiencing the island after the throngs of people leave, I wish would would have had another night. We had a twin room and it was small, but not so small that we were on top of each other's space. The room and bathroom was clean and provided a lovely view out the window. The reception staff was very nice and carried my heavy back up to our room. The breakfast staff was curt to say the least, but I won't hold it against my experience here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank IrishTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a small hotel, run by a restaurant owner. I stayed at Chamber 6, which is facing the ocean with amazing sunrise view. The location of the room is near to restaurants and shops, unlike some of the hotels which rated higher but you got to walk quite a distance to the shops.
Besides, the manager can speak average English, which I have no problem to communicate with, and in fact, the manager is very honest, where I leave fair amount of cash inside the room when I check out, and I was on my way back to Paris via bullet train, therefore he kept the money for me and tele-transfer to me when I'm back to my country. This really impressed me with their honesty.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing, I stayed at Chamber 6, amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CKW1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Vieille Auberge
La Vieille Auberge
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
#11 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#9 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mere Poulard
La Mere Poulard
#13 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Guesclin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Guesclin

Property: Hotel Du Guesclin
Address: 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Du Guesclin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing