We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, great value”
Review of Hotel Du Guesclin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mont-Saint-Michel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Du Guesclin
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Reviewed 21 July 2010

During the day, Mont St. Michel is like medieval Disneyland, with tourists everywhere. The main street is crowded with bus tours, and despite its beauty, one could be anywhere. Once the tourists leave about 5 o'clock, however, the Mont returns to its medieval roots.

Staying on the Mont give you the opportunity to experience this World Heritage site for yourself. The Hotel du Guesclin was very convenient to the car park (took us less than five minutes), and the staff were helpful and English-speaking. They even understood and assisted us when we had to leave much earlier than expected. Our room overlooked the ramparts and the bay, which was quiet and peaceful. We were able to witness sunset and sunrise from our room, which was breathtaking.

We didn't eat at the restaurant, opting for another restaurant nearby, but the views looked like the ones from our room, so we weren't too worried.

Our room was small and a bit threadbare, but clean, and the bathroom looked as if it had been very recently updated. The price was amazing for the location.

One tip, however, if arriving by car, put what you need for the night in a small bag and leave the rest of your luggage in the trunk (covered well, of course). We followed this advice from Rick Steves and were glad we did -- it would have been terrible trying to drag our suitcases up the narrow, crowded, and cobblestoned street.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank historygrlsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2010

In stead of visiting Mont St. Michel we decided to stay at it for a night. And we were glad we did, because during the day the Mont is overcrowded with tourists, and after the busses have left, the atmosphere is completely different.
We had a room with view over the bay, with a nice bathroom. Breakfast was okay.
We didn't have dinner at the hotel but at a terrace of one of the other restaurants. The only "complaint" we have: there was no place where we could get a drink after 10 pm.
I think this hotel is the best priced opportunity to stay on the Mont.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ahs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We booked at this hotel without great expectations and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived in to find a clean, comfortable room with a superb view of the Abbey and the street. We had trouble with the internet connection but otherwise everything was terrific, the bathrooms were fairly new and ample, the bed was comfortable and the rooms were big enough to fit us all with our luggage without any trouble.

One thing though, if you carry your luggage with you, this might be a bit troublesome especially when the street gets crowded. We chose not to eat at the hotel in favor of another restaurant, but the overall ambiance was very pleasant.

Staff was friendly and helpful, even when we changed our minds about the breakfast.

If you plan to visit, remember this is not a party location, but it is ideal to go on a romantic trip or exclusively for cultural purposes.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ferretbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

1. The location was great. Right on the narrow “main street” on the island.
2. The price was reasonable. Booked directly on their website.
3. The hotel was a typical older building, with restaurants on the first and second floors. The rooms were on two floors above the 2 restaurants. The first floor faced the main street and contained a restaurant. The second floor was a more upscale restaurant, which faced the walkway along the walls (and which had a nice view of the marshes). The rooms were on the third and fourth floors. I do not think there was an elevator. Note that to get to the rooms, you thus had to walk through the first floor restaurant, go up the stairs past the other restaurant, and then up more stairs to the rooms.
4. The ensuite room was of average size, clean and nicely furnished. The bed was fine. TV, but no English-language channels. No A/C. The room faced the marshes, and was one floor right above the walkway on the walls. From the window, I could watch the tide roll in. Great. In the old days, this would have been a perfect place to empty chamber pots. The bathroom (with shower) was of average size, very clean with soap and shampoo.
5. The front staffers were efficient, friendly and spoke English.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mebaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Spending the night within the medieval walls of Mt Saint Michel is an unforgettable experience. During the day the narrow street is jammed with tourists, but once the last big bus leaves and the walls and abbey light up, it is incredibly peaceful and romantic.

The downside to staying on Mt Saint Michel is that everything is overpriced. The rate at Hotel du Guesclin (70€/night) was half that of most hotels on the Mont, and seemed too good to be true, but I was pleasantly surprised that it was nicer than expected. The room was clean, brightly decorated, and had an amazing view of the village and abbey (other rooms have views of the bay). The staff were pleasant, albeit scarce (during the day the front desk is not usually staffed but there was always someone at the street level restaurant, at night there appeared to be no staff).

Overall, I'd highly recommend staying at Hotel du Guesclin. For the price, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RKB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

This was an adequate and inexpensive hotel in the very popular tourist destination of Mont St. Michel. The room was tiny and dark and we could only barely squeeze the extra bed into it. The bathroom, however, had been recently reonvated and was beautiful and almost as big as the bedroom. It was a bit creepy when the management closed the building and left us there at night. We had a key to get in but wondered who we would call if something happened (like when the window wouldn't close). But, overall, we got what we expected for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPMDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2007

Everything in Mont Saint Michel is touristy, as is this place, but it's comfortable, not too expensive (67 euros/night in high season for a two-person room), and well-located (being actually on Mont Saint Michel, and not on the causeway is essential). The staff is friendly. Our windows looked out on the busy and colorful main street; others look out on the bay. One tip: if possible, try to arrive at and depart from the hotel via the ramparts and not the main street. The main street is so full of people that it's difficult to get through alone, let alone with a suitcase. Via the ramparts is easier...

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nosocksguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
848 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mere Poulard
La Mere Poulard
#14 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,044 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses Poulard
Les Terrasses Poulard
#13 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
#15 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Guesclin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Guesclin

Address: 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Du Guesclin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing