We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Vieille Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Vieille Auberge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We wanted to stay on the island, but were finding prices way too expensive. We declined the hotel's first price and they came back with another room up the hill from the main hotel. It was barely in our price range! It was worth it!! It's not so much about the room as being there. The room was small, dated decor, but fine. It was clean. We had a double, a twin, and a twin murphy bed. Tiny bathroom and an odd long hall from our door to our room. We had a rooftop deck that was amazingly private with an amazingly beautiful view. Spent the evening after all the tourists were gone walking the island and watching the sunset. I found the island during the day too crowded. It was like being at Disneyworld on spring break. Dragging our luggage through the cobblestone streets in the crowds was not fun. I would recommend staying here just to be able to enjoy the island without the hordes of tourists.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs on the island. Decide how much you want to carry your luggage when choosing a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ampanmangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    95
    55
    27
    50
See reviews for
58
138
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We were in France for seven days and this was our favorite spot! The view from the terrace was awesome and ever changing with the tide and sun. The church bells added to the authenticity. The room itself needed updating, but it was clean and comfortable. I was not buy the 10 euro breakfast as it was just bread, coffee and orange juice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grizzlyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

This was our second visit to Mont-St-Michel. First of all, if you go, stay on the Mont at this hotel or one of the others- the Mont is at its best in the evening after the tourist buses have gone, and the Abbey lets visitors in at least until early evening in the summer. We chose La Vieille Auberge because it had two rooms available for the five of us (two parents, two kids and grandma) and the price was right. We were in the annex closest to the Abbey entrance, so it was quite a hike up from the reception. Reception is at the Auberge St. Pierre. It appears there are really only a handful of hotel owners on the island, and some share reception duties. All of this can be honestly a little confusing to non-French speakers and it took a few phone calls to feel secure that we had a reservation for the correct date! Nonetheless I would recommend it; just don't expect a slick internet site and immediate email response. Back to the rooms - the annex is just below the abbey and we had its only two rooms, so it was perfect. Sleeping comfort was average, furnishings a little worn, but it is all made up for by the lovely patios looking out on the bay, and again, location, location. location! Our kids loved running around the ramparts in the evening after dinner, and again after breakfast in the morning. I believe we paid extra to have breakfast included. As with most places in France, pre-purchasing the breakfast buffet is convenient, but if you are trying to save money, it is not necessarily the best value. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungaree, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Neat rooms right in the heart of Mont St Michel. The rooms of this hotel are 'scattered' - but there is a lovely feeling of living on the Mont in your own little piece of history. The view from the back door was incredible - right up to the Monastery. The night we stayed the tide was at its highest and it was magical as the tide raced in and blocked of the wooden walk way in to the arch that takes you in to the mont. Although the tourist hordes were there - the Monastery itself was very quite, cool and peaceful. Once the tourist buses leave, late at night and early in the morning - staying at La Vieille Auberge almost lets you believe you are alone on the island. It does not matter if the rooms are plain - it is Mont Saint Michel people!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaTourBlanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed in a room which was a 3 minute walk from the office/restaurant. It was clean and had a very good view. Other than that, it was very plain. Mont Ste Michal is a tourist trap crawling with people night and day, however it is an enchanting place to stay for one night ( to avoid some of the crowd, arrive about 3pm and leave by 10am next day). Touring the monastery at night is really neat and was a 7 minute walk from our hotel room. I would advise to stay away from this hotel and Mont Ste Michal, for that matter, if you are not in fair walking shape.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. I don't know if they have any rooms without a view, but ours had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gallitorojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

While most of the negative points of the reviews for this hotel are true-yes, it is not fancy, yes it could use an upgrade, yes it could be cheaper, yes there are STAIRS- the fact of the matter is that you could not spend the night in a more magical location. We were out and about and exploring till late into the night-we had a full moon which made the whole evening of trails and pathways feel like something out of Harry Potter, ate a lovely dinner and came back to the room exhausted and slept like rocks. In the morning at 6am sharp the melodious cathedral bells began to clang. They are LOUD being right in front of out terrace, but they are BEAUTIFUL! We got up, drank a bottled water in our pajamas on the terrace, listened to the bells and watched the sun come up. What a beautiful beginning to another day of adventure. People who complain about this kind of noise have forgotten to look for the beauty of new experiences.
When we return, and we will, for we were there on the one weekend that the tide did not rush in, we will stay here again, smile at the awkward little room at the the top of the stairs, but grin from ear to ear at the view off the terrace and the greeting of the cathedral bells.

Room Tip: Book early and bring a light suitcase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nobleransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

unfortunately, our trip to the mont was super last minute and everything was booked! we wanted to stay inside the walls, and the last room available was in this hotel...yikes! if in a desperate situation, it's tolerable, barely. its cleanliness was definitely not up to par...we did get quite a few laughs out of it though...beware, to those that are light sleepers....there is a bell, that rings, all the time, forever!!! and its pretty much directly in front of the rooms... the only redeeming fact was waking up in the mont... if have alternative, seek it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcufaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#9 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
#11 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mere Poulard
La Mere Poulard
#13 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vieille Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vieille Auberge

Property: La Vieille Auberge
Address: rue Principale, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — La Vieille Auberge 2*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Vieille Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vieille Auberge Hotel Mont-St-Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing