We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Le Relais du Roy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Relais du Roy
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Blackheath, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with friends and paid for half board, so dinner and breakfast where included. What a great decision, the four course meal was amazing and breakfast was very satisfying. The room was spacious and comfortable with river views.
We where a short walk tithe bus stop to get to the base of Mont saint Michel (but it is also only a short walk). Another close feature is the weir just behind it that is great for getting Photos of the Abbey. Great night spent hear.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PIKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    274
    114
    22
    4
See reviews for
107
308
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The hotel forget got to send the promised security code the day before.
I emailed and got no reply.
I rang and had to wait 10 minutes while the reception found the code and believe I had a booking.
We were sent round and round the outside car parks 4 times by an old french gentleman who must have been told not to let anyone go through the barrier to the hotels.
Eventually we got the code and made a dash for the barrier guarding the hotels. Punched the code in and we were through.
At the hotel, the receptionist looked at us when we told her our story. Shrugged her shoulders and pouted her lower lip as if, what do you expect me to do.
It really spoilt the beginning of the experience. We laugh now about the old boy who would not let us get to the hotel.
PLEASE GET THE CODE BEFORE YOU ARRIVE or just make a dash through the barrier.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ericab49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The hotel is outside the wall but I think the location is perfect if you want to photography Mont St Michel from a distance. The room was nice. Good size. Two sinks in bathroom. The floor was a bit squeaky. Wifi in room. I had to arrive at Mont St Michel one day later than I had originally planned. I phoned the hotel on that afternoon I was due to arrive and the lady was very understandable. So I just switched my arrival date to one day later. But when I arrived at the hotel late at night, the two guys working there were in such a hurry. I was only handed my room key. No telling me where my room is. Didn't have a chance to ask about wifi, breakfast, or checkout time. I think customer service needs some improvement.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tunafish101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

What can we say that has not been said already??
We loved the staff especially as we had a 9 months old with us at the time. The staff was very helping. Unless you stay in the Mont, you cannot stay closer to it: 3 minutes away with the shuttle that is on the hotel's doorstep! The restaurant is also a must. We went for lunch before driving off and we were pleasantly surprised (the "house cider" produced locally at a farm is EXCELLENT).
Only negative for us: it needed a little refresh but I now read that this happened since our visit so it should be 5/5 by now.

Room Tip: A few rooms have a view to the Mont, request it when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabrice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I took my mom (68 years old) to MSM from Paris. Our bus from Rennes arrived only a few steps away so it was really convenient. We elected to eat dinner at its restaurant and the experience was good! Even though there were a tour group of Japanese (about 30-40) but they were really quiet and orderly. Because of the large group I was prepared for slow service but it was actually not the case at all!

My mom and I thoroughly enjoyed the embiance of the beautiful dining hall as well as the food and service. Furthermore, our room (105) has a tiny balcony where you can stick out your head and see the gorgeous MSM! It is small, of course, but I like the sight of it.

Speaking of convenience, the supermarket is just across street and the free shuttle to MSM is only steps away. I bought a bottle of the famous cidre at the display stands right next to the hotel; later I found out the prices at the supermarket were a lot lower. Though I liked the supermarket in general I did feel that I was ripped off big time by buying a 4GB memory card from it (about 19 euros), even the souvernir store in the abbey was much cheaper (10 euros for 4GB).

It is very chilly in the evening there so make sure you bring eough warm clothes with you!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debrakuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We chose this hotel because it is within walking distance of MSM, it is also right across from the public shuttle bus. Our room was in a modern part of the hotel that appeared to have been recently been remodeled. The decor was fresh and modern and comfortable, very welcoming. I was particularly happy to find the bathroom sink placed inside a wide counter, that is such a rarity outside American hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ysolde_voyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

If you want to stay overnight in Le Mont Saint Michel, you have to decide whether to stay on the island or on the mainland. We chose the mainland, and we were happy with that decision primarily because you can park near your hotel. There is a cluster of hotels on the mainland that have their own parking lots. Various restaurants are nearby The entire area is secured by a gate. The massive day-tripper parking lots are not far away, and the free shuttle buses to the island leave from the middle of the hotel cluster, convenient to all of them.

The Relais du Roy is a basic hotel. The room was clean and comfortable enough, but small. By leaning out the window, you could see the Mont in the distance. At night, a metal cover can roll down over the window/door to make it quite dark inside. As mentioned in other reviews, there is neither an elevator nor a bellman to help carry your bags.

The only hotel with rooms that look straight at the Mont is the Relais St. Michel. It costs more than the du Roy, but it would be my choice on my next trip.

Once the road construction is completed, the shuttle buses will drop you off directly in front of the Mont. For now, you must walk the final 1/4 to 1/2 mile.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoySandlapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vert
Hotel Vert
#4 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Relais Saint-Michel
Le Relais Saint-Michel
#7 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
568 reviews
1.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Digue
La Digue
#10 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais du Roy

Property: Le Relais du Roy
Address: la Caserne | BP 8, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais du Roy 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is Tastefully decorated in a classic style, the hotel's bedrooms have all that is necessary for a short stay or undisturbed holidays at the foot of Mont Saint-Michel. Most of the rooms have a balcony with a view of Mont Saint-Michel and the River Couesnon. There are duvets and soft pillows for refined comfort.The hotel has rooms for 2 and 3 guests, and one for a family.Facilities :Non smoking roomsfree wifi accessFlat screen satellite television ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Relais du Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Du Roy Hotel Mont-St-Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing