We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and uncomfortable”
Review of Le Relais du Roy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Relais du Roy
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Overpriced and uncomfortable”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Great location as it's at the end of the causeway. I noticed someone else indicated that all rooms have a balcony, but this was not the case for us. We did NOT have a balcony. My husband and I stayed there with our 18 year old twins. We had plenty of room - a double bed and 3 twin beds. There was no air conditioning and it was HOT. Very uncomfortable night of sleep. There was a store across the street if you want some snacks or waters. There is also a place across the street where we were able to get breakfast croissants and juice/coffee. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant. Very convenient to the Mont Saint Michel shuttle though. We opted to stay here one night, so that we could visit Mont Saint Michel without the daily crowds. We were able to do so and even participated in a procession into the Abby, which was beautiful. I would probably not stay here again - at least in the heat of summer.

Room Tip: If they have rooms with a balcony, request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelsColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    280
    117
    23
    5
See reviews for
110
316
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

A very comfortable hotel ,very clean and good service friendly staff and enjoyable stay .
The outstanding part of this stay was the restaurant, We opted for the Gourmet Experience which although cost about 88 Euros was a delight and a true experience of French cooking at its best a wonderful meal and shellfish selection was superb as indeed was the "salt Marsh Lamb" A truly memorial evening and fully recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 127musa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Le Relais du Roy. Fortunately, it is NOT on the island of Mont-St-Michel but as close to it as you get without actually being there, situated near the beginning of the causeway and adjoining where the buses to Mont-St-Michel depart from. I'm glad that we didn't stay on the island itself because it, while superficially charming, is a crowded tourist trap. The people at the hotel were gracious and kind, and we enjoyed two wonderful meals in it's dining room, our dinner and breakfast the following morning. Room was spacious and comfortable -- nothing too fancy but more than adequate. The night time view from the locks on the river adjoining the hotel were great. Very recommended. I'd certainly stay there again if I return to Mont-St-Michel

Room Tip: Be sure you get a code to access the hotel's parking area before hand. If you don't have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drfumblefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We took the advice from most and spent a night outside the Mont and not within. Good advice, given that most of the hotels on the Mont was quite ridiculously priced. This property is among the nearest to the Mont on the causeway if it matters to anyone, and apparently every room has a balcony view of the Mont. Ours did, but I did have to crane my neck out to look at it. It's not like I could set up a tripod on the balcony... However this didn't matter because the property is 50 metres to the free shuttle that will take you to the base of the Mont every 10-15 minutes. I was expecting the room to be tiny but surprisingly, to their credit it was not. There was a good size for my 3 year old to jump around. Supermarket and café right across the street, restaurants are abundant on the causeway. Only reminder I would give is to make sure you call the hotel before arriving to obtain the passcode, which you will need to present to traffic control on the perimeter of the immediate MSM area, before you can enter the area to park on hotel premises. It's Eur 4 for this access which is anyway totally worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LambShanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This hotel is not on the island, but very close to the beginning of the causeway and affords beautiful views, particularly at night from the viewing/photography platform behind the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms quiet and spacious (even had a separate toilet which was a surprise). You can’t drive in without the keycode for boom gates, so need to park outside and walk a few minutes into the hotel to check in and get the code.
Our favourite part of the hotel was the food. We took the half board option for €161 (which covered 4 course dinner, breakfast and room for 2 people). The dinner was the best we’d had in France, absolutely delicious, had such an enjoyable time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMBHL_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackheath, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with friends and paid for half board, so dinner and breakfast where included. What a great decision, the four course meal was amazing and breakfast was very satisfying. The room was spacious and comfortable with river views.
We where a short walk tithe bus stop to get to the base of Mont saint Michel (but it is also only a short walk). Another close feature is the weir just behind it that is great for getting Photos of the Abbey. Great night spent hear.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PIKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The hotel forget got to send the promised security code the day before.
I emailed and got no reply.
I rang and had to wait 10 minutes while the reception found the code and believe I had a booking.
We were sent round and round the outside car parks 4 times by an old french gentleman who must have been told not to let anyone go through the barrier to the hotels.
Eventually we got the code and made a dash for the barrier guarding the hotels. Punched the code in and we were through.
At the hotel, the receptionist looked at us when we told her our story. Shrugged her shoulders and pouted her lower lip as if, what do you expect me to do.
It really spoilt the beginning of the experience. We laugh now about the old boy who would not let us get to the hotel.
PLEASE GET THE CODE BEFORE YOU ARRIVE or just make a dash through the barrier.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ericab49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vert
Hotel Vert
#4 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Relais Saint-Michel
Le Relais Saint-Michel
#7 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Digue
La Digue
#10 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
30 reviews
1.4 mi away
Auberge Saint Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais du Roy

Property: Le Relais du Roy
Address: la Caserne | Bp 8, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais du Roy 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is Tastefully decorated in a classic style, the hotel's bedrooms have all that is necessary for a short stay or undisturbed holidays at the foot of Mont Saint-Michel. Most of the rooms have a balcony with a view of Mont Saint-Michel and the River Couesnon. There are duvets and soft pillows for refined comfort.The hotel has rooms for 2 and 3 guests, and one for a family.Facilities :Non smoking roomsfree wifi accessFlat screen satellite television ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Relais du Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Du Roy Hotel Mont-St-Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing