We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Comfortable”
Review of Le Relais du Roy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Relais du Roy
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Location is as close to Mont Saint Michele as you can get with views from balcony rooms. Only 50 metres from Le Barrage which is interesting in itself & offers great views of the Mont. Check-in was pre arranged & prompt. One of our suitcases was taken to the wrong room with someone else's left in ours. The room was comfortable with twin single beds, no air conditioning, though balcony door could be left open. Toilet was separate and a little difficult to enter and shut the door. Shower over the deep bath would be a problem for people who are unsteady or with balance issues. No room safe. Free very slow Wi-Fi inc. Evening Dinner was a fixed menu and was fresh & tasty. Breakfast menu had an acceptable range of typical cold selections. Hot food was powdered scrambled egg & bacon. No Espresso coffee!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank RetireeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Le Relais du Roy is about as close to Mont St Michel as you can get without actually staying on the Mont, so access is great. Other than that, its very average compared to other hotels and B&Bs we stayed at during a recent trip to France. The room was about the smallest I've ever been in with an incredibly small bathroom and WC room (yes they're separate "closets"). Bear in mind that I'm not comparing the size to a average mid-range US hotel room, but to other hotels I've stayed in in Europe (I've traveled throughout Europe and used to live in Switzerland, so I've seen many a European hotel room in my day), The room was also not that clean and a bit dated. My review on the staff is mixed - some of the people we dealt with were great and others not so. There was an issue with access (I never got the access code for the gate to the area in which the hotel is located), so we parked and I walked to the hotel to get the code - no biggie, I suspected that might be an issue since I read that the area in which the hotel is located is restricted. The front desk person almost argued with me that I should have the code on my confirmation and felt like she was going out of her way to look up the code - not the way to begin your interaction with your guests. Other staff we dealt with were professional, friendly and great to deal with. Honestly, the best thing about the Le Relais du Roy is its location. The next time I come to MSM I'd be inclined to stay in one of the many B&Bs in Beauvoir, just down the road. Beauvoir is about two miles south of the Mont, but a real village with great restaurants and an absolutely amazing patisserie. To visit the Mont, drive a few minutes and park in one of the lots closer to the Mont. You'll be able to experience real France and save a few Euros at the same time.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the very end of the halls - they have awkward layouts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swissguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We did not want to haul all of our luggage up to the Mont so we elected for a more modern hotel right in the center of the town on the mainland. It was modern and clean but the room was very small but we made do. Did not take the breakfast. We had been seeing all the pastry shops in the cities and decided to take breakfast at those as compared to $13 euro + - hotel breakfasts.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: The room we had was at the end of the hall where the building was slanted so the room was very small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpm5515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a great hotel to visit Mont. St. Michel. The deficiencies were the lack of elevator, the small parking spaces and the lack of enough parking. The room was clean with a view of the sunset. Also, very close by you can take a photo of the Mont at night when it is all illuminated.
The front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Very modern and comfortable room but not elevator. The restaurant was very good from the food quality to the service. The free shuttle to Mont. St. Michel is 50 feet away across from the hotel. I recommend it without doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelislifeMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Took the first hotel we found and ended up staying 5 days. Desk staff accommodated every request,always friendly and obviously dedicated to customer service. In particular, Adelaide,Naiwenn and Pierre. Room featured a small balcony from which Mont Ste Michel can be seen. Bed was king size (American) with great linens.

Room Tip: The staff will allow you to see rooms before you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sodetour, Responsable relations clients at Le Relais du Roy, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

We thank you for your comment and are pleased that you appreciated the quality of the rooms and also the behavior of our team during all your stay.

We hope to welcoming you again in "Le Relais du Roy"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Visited in September after driving from Paris via Beauex and the WWII. Beaches. Hotel is located across the street from the shuttle bus. It is an easy walk to Mont St. Michel if the weather cooperates. It was cool rainy and windy when we were there. Hotel was clean and a very friendly staff. Resturant was good with fresh local cuisine.

Mont St. Michel is a do not miss historical site. On the island is a mystical village and monestery. I am not a religious person but there is a feeling of great majesty and power here. I would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill02324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sodetour, Responsable relations clients at Le Relais du Roy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your comment on our hotel.

As you have written, our hotel*** is situated just across the street from the shuttle departure,
Indeed, you can choose to go to the "Abbaye" by foot (20 minutes) or take the shuttle (5 minutes).

All the team hope to welcoming you again, when the new access to Mont Saint-Michel will be finished!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vert
Hotel Vert
#4 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Relais Saint-Michel
Le Relais Saint-Michel
#7 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Digue
La Digue
#9 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
48 reviews
1.4 mi away
Auberge Saint Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais du Roy

Address: la Caserne | Bp 8, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range: £73 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais du Roy 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is Tastefully decorated in a classic style, the hotel's bedrooms have all that is necessary for a short stay or undisturbed holidays at the foot of Mont Saint-Michel. Most of the rooms have a balcony with a view of Mont Saint-Michel and the River Couesnon. There are duvets and soft pillows for refined comfort.The hotel has rooms for 2 and 3 guests, and one for a family.Facilities :Non smoking roomsfree wifi accessFlat screen satellite television ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Relais du Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Du Roy Hotel Mont-St-Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing