We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night at Mont St-Michel”
Review of Le Relais du Roy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Relais du Roy
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is within walking distance from Mont St Michel and was worth the cost to be so close. It was a large room and comfortable. One problem we had was the toilet got stuck and were unable to get it fixed (happened over night and we were checking out in the morning). The Wifi codes also had to be re-entered a number of times to remain online (even to send an email had to re-enter the codes a few times). Other wise the room and the restaurant were great. We had dinner there and was quite a filling 4 course meal which was quite tasty. We also had breakfast which was not included but offered more food than the traditional buffet and worth the price. It was great to stay so near the Mont as we could see it all lit up at night and would highly recommend anyone coming to see this site to stay overnight to see that!

Also, getting to the hotel was quite easy even by taking public transportation. We arrived by train in Pontorson and right outside the train station was a bus that was a shuttle to Mont St. Michel. The shuttle driver asked us where we were staying and let us know when to get off so that we were right across the street from our hotel. There is also ample parking in the area if you are driving.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Mont, was awesome to see right outside our room. Also, if traveli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ctthrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel itself was average. Clean, good staff, adequate rooms, nice window view. The location was great, very close to the shuttle stop to Mont-St. Michel and close to the bridges where you can watch the tide come in. WiFi was a bit sketchy and kept timing out. Compared to other French hotels it was average, definitely seemed to be catering to a touristy crowd with the goal of providing adequate service to tourists but not creating a memorable lodging experience.

Room Tip: A room on the beach side rather than the street side is preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 64familyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Location is as close to Mont Saint Michele as you can get with views from balcony rooms. Only 50 metres from Le Barrage which is interesting in itself & offers great views of the Mont. Check-in was pre arranged & prompt. One of our suitcases was taken to the wrong room with someone else's left in ours. The room was comfortable with twin single beds, no air conditioning, though balcony door could be left open. Toilet was separate and a little difficult to enter and shut the door. Shower over the deep bath would be a problem for people who are unsteady or with balance issues. No room safe. Free very slow Wi-Fi inc. Evening Dinner was a fixed menu and was fresh & tasty. Breakfast menu had an acceptable range of typical cold selections. Hot food was powdered scrambled egg & bacon. No Espresso coffee!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank RetireeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Le Relais du Roy is about as close to Mont St Michel as you can get without actually staying on the Mont, so access is great. Other than that, its very average compared to other hotels and B&Bs we stayed at during a recent trip to France. The room was about the smallest I've ever been in with an incredibly small bathroom and WC room (yes they're separate "closets"). Bear in mind that I'm not comparing the size to a average mid-range US hotel room, but to other hotels I've stayed in in Europe (I've traveled throughout Europe and used to live in Switzerland, so I've seen many a European hotel room in my day), The room was also not that clean and a bit dated. My review on the staff is mixed - some of the people we dealt with were great and others not so. There was an issue with access (I never got the access code for the gate to the area in which the hotel is located), so we parked and I walked to the hotel to get the code - no biggie, I suspected that might be an issue since I read that the area in which the hotel is located is restricted. The front desk person almost argued with me that I should have the code on my confirmation and felt like she was going out of her way to look up the code - not the way to begin your interaction with your guests. Other staff we dealt with were professional, friendly and great to deal with. Honestly, the best thing about the Le Relais du Roy is its location. The next time I come to MSM I'd be inclined to stay in one of the many B&Bs in Beauvoir, just down the road. Beauvoir is about two miles south of the Mont, but a real village with great restaurants and an absolutely amazing patisserie. To visit the Mont, drive a few minutes and park in one of the lots closer to the Mont. You'll be able to experience real France and save a few Euros at the same time.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the very end of the halls - they have awkward layouts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swissguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We did not want to haul all of our luggage up to the Mont so we elected for a more modern hotel right in the center of the town on the mainland. It was modern and clean but the room was very small but we made do. Did not take the breakfast. We had been seeing all the pastry shops in the cities and decided to take breakfast at those as compared to $13 euro + - hotel breakfasts.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: The room we had was at the end of the hall where the building was slanted so the room was very small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpm5515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a great hotel to visit Mont. St. Michel. The deficiencies were the lack of elevator, the small parking spaces and the lack of enough parking. The room was clean with a view of the sunset. Also, very close by you can take a photo of the Mont at night when it is all illuminated.
The front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Very modern and comfortable room but not elevator. The restaurant was very good from the food quality to the service. The free shuttle to Mont. St. Michel is 50 feet away across from the hotel. I recommend it without doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelislifeMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,400 reviews
1.4 mi away
Auberge Saint Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Relais Saint-Michel
Le Relais Saint-Michel
#7 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
647 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#9 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Aubert
Le Saint Aubert
#11 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais du Roy

Address: la Caserne | Bp 8, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range: £69 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais du Roy 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is Tastefully decorated in a classic style, the hotel's bedrooms have all that is necessary for a short stay or undisturbed holidays at the foot of Mont Saint-Michel. Most of the rooms have a balcony with a view of Mont Saint-Michel and the River Couesnon. There are duvets and soft pillows for refined comfort.The hotel has rooms for 2 and 3 guests, and one for a family.Facilities :Non smoking roomsfree wifi accessFlat screen satellite television ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Relais du Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Du Roy Hotel Mont-St-Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing