We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and convenient”
Review of Hotel Vert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vert
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Hotel Vert is a modest and affordable hotel in a great location for staying just off Le Mont St. Michel. The rooms are very clean, but basic and the breakfast affordable with plenty of choices - ham, cheese, yogurt, cereals, fruit, bread and much more. The beds are a tad small and firm. With the new shuttle system in place you have to drive to a gate and enter a code to gain driving access to the small village before the Mont. (Do not drive to the parking area outside this gate - our Garmin was a bit confused by the new arrangement, as were we.) We just called the hotel to get this while we were at the gate but you might be able to get the code before hand by email. The staff speaks English. You then drive in and turn right and find the hotel just down the road on the right. They offer plenty of free parking. From the hotel it is a few minutes walk to get on the frequent and free shuttle that takes you across the causeway to Mont St. Michel. I think the quick and easy access to the shuttle and mellowness of the little village area, and the affordability of the hotels in the village (as compared with those on the Mont) are the main reasons to stay here or in one of the surrounding hotels. The shuttle runs from 8:00 am until 1:00 am. You can buy tickets to enter the Abby right at the hotel but you will still need to ask for the informational headsets in your choice of language when you present your ticket, if you want them (highly recommend).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

The Abbey at Mont St. Michel is an outstanding attraction not to be missed. This hotel, however could be easily missed. The only advantage is the central location in town. There is a handy super market and several less-than-attractive restaurants, but that is where the advantages end. There were 3 of us in a room meant for less than two. Rooms are small and cramped. With three bags, there was not room to access luggage or get dressed without running into each other. They advertised free wifi, but none of the several numbers we were given worked. Finally the desk clerk just shrugged his shoulders and would not help more. We ate at a close restaurant where the food was not good at all. If it were not for the abbey, this would have been a wasted night. As it was, it was only an overnight, although I would not stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Excoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This hotel is inexpensive and close to Le Mont St Michel (just at the end of the causeway). Wifi is free and the rooms were clean and fairly comfortable. No A/C, which wasn't a problem for us since the weather was pleasant; however, mosquitos will come in if you leave the window open at night. Overall, I'd recommend this location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TookT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed in the camping car part at the back with campervan,best location by far,closest campsite to mont saint michel, They also have a very nice hotel. Prices and facilities for campsite were great only 18 euro per night in May. Please dont let thos stupid barrieers coming into town put you off,park outside and walk the 200 meters to the hotel and get yourself a code to get in,you could possibly do this by phone also but far easier to stay here than a beauvoir or pontorson as you have a long commute then. Also not much in the line of supermarket here so get your supplies in pontorson!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Very good location - at the end of the dike that connects the Mont Saint-Michel with the continent and thus only 2km from the mount itself. Free Internet and free parking. The room is spacious, clean, new (or renovated) and comfortable. The breakfast, although not included in the room price and somewhat expensive, is very good and worth taking it. The only negative part is that the hotel does not have an elevator, which can be a problem to older or disabled people.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rlro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here for one night with a tour group. Whilst I wouldn’t choose to stay here, this hotel probably represents good value for money; if you are on a tight budget, you could do far worse than spend a night at Hotel Vert. The rooms feel like you’re sleeping in a caravan – small, basic, dated, uncomfortable. You’ve read it before, and now you’ll read it again: No Frills. But for one night, you may not care. The only real problem is there’s no air-con and no screen on the window to let in some fresh air. If you get a hot night, or a west-facing room on a sunny day, you may not be able to draw relief from an open window without putting yourself on the menu. Stairs to your room, no elevator. Service was fine. We walked the 30 minutes to Mont St Michel – an enjoyable, mostly flat walk for those who are interested – ground a little uneven at some stages, but if you can walk for 30 minutes, you’re up to the challenge. A few dull restaurants surround the hotel to capture the tourists, but that is all: no town, no locals, no vibe, nothing else particularly interesting to see (Bastille Day came and went without a whimper)– you are simply staying on the road that leads to Mont St Michel. That is all. Given the choice, I would have much preferred to stay in a nearby town, drive to within a 30 minute walk of MSM and then walk the rest.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HoodedBanoonigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Excellent inexpensive yet convenient choice to see MSM. Basic room, but with a restaurant and a full grocery store in the same parking lot the location can't be beat. We did not want to spend the 30 minutes to walk to MSM in the morning, but if you drive, leave early. - we left at 8:30am and parked at the front of the lot. By noon there was an hour wait to get into the parking!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomclubireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Digue
La Digue
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Aubert
Le Saint Aubert
#10 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Relais Saint-Michel
Le Relais Saint-Michel
#7 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vert

Address: Route Du Mont St. Michel | Bp 8, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range: £52 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vert 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is open all year round. Its staff, ever mindful of your relaxation and comfort, are available to answer any questions and tell you about the most important places to visit on the Normandy or Brittany side of the Bay of Mont Saint-Michel.Facilities :BarWifiFree car parkBicycle hireSupermarket and souvenir shopGroup reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing