We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booked In February and was denied 2 days before arrival.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of La Digue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Digue
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Walled Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Booked In February and was denied 2 days before arrival.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We booked a room in this hotel in February for our trip in September. I tried to get information from the hotel by emailing three times from my personal account, once from Booking.com web page, and once directly from Booking.com. I called for the same information and they hung up on me. They have a cancellation policy that states that we would have to cancel no more then 7 days in advance to avoid penalty, HOWEVER they cancelled me two days before arrival stating that they were overbooked. What? Did everyone book before February and that is the reason we were cancelled? Of course not. They found us another hotel down the street which was very nice, but they were nothing but trouble to deal with. Anyway, avoid this location if you can and book down the street.
I can't give you any tips as to the hotel itself because we didn't get inside.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ellen71249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    59
    68
    71
    70
See reviews for
76
128
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
298 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel de la Digue before -- 20 years ago -- and it was fine. This time, it was terrible. Our room was tiny with an even tinier bathroom, smaller than anything we've experienced on cruise ships. Wallpaper was peeling, and we could only open the bathroom door all the way by moving the bed. The bedding seemed to be clean, but the mattress sagged. The location, overlooking Le Mont, was neat, but we could have had the same view (and about the same space) sleeping in our car. In order to get to the hotel, we needed a security code to get past the guard at the gate. He wouldn't let us through even after we showed him our reservation confirmation. No one at the hotel ever informed us that we needed a 6-digit code. We called the hotel desk, but the code we were given was WRONG! The guard at the security gate took pity on us and finally let us by without the correct code. When we checked in, no one gave us a reasonable explanation of what the problem was, nor why we were not provided with with the code in advance. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels

Leonia, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We visited Mont-Saint Michel this past July 2013, and stayed 1 night at La Digue. Although the room itself was acceptable, the staff's attitude towards us was not. In order to get to the main street where the hotel was located, we needed a security code to drive onto that road - we were never informed that we needed this code, so that when we arrived in the area, we had to make several phone calls to the hotel just to get the code (they gave us an incomplete code the first time we called)!! Once we got through the security gates we were told check in was later, so we left the area to drive around. When it was time to return to the hotel, the first security code did not work! We had to call the hotel again for a new code !! They never told us we would need this new code. Finally, after visiting Mont-St-Michele, when we returned to the hotel that evening, we found out we needed yet another security code to get into the hotel building. The staff had not mentioned this when we checked in that afternoon. the person at the front desk was rude even with all the "code" issues we had; no apologies from them at all. There was literally no customer service or accommodating management. It felt like they were doing us a favor by allowing us to stay in their hotel. I think it was unacceptable that we were never informed about the numerous security codes - what kind of management is that? I would not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel is an example of what not to do when running a hotel. Having arrived at the hotel mid-afternoon, we were told that our rom would not be ready until 4:00 p.m. The front desk reception was surly and unhelpful. The room was very small, with a broken lamp and smelling of smoke and stale oil. While we did have a view of Mont St. Michel, the large ashtray full of butts outside our window made it impossible to open our window. The hotel staff frequently gathered outside our window to smoke, and since the kitchen ventilation system was also outside our window, the quality of the air was unbearable. We were given two small, thin pillows and when we asked for more (after waiting two hours for someone to show up at reception), they were delivered without pillow cases. The bathroom was the type on would find on a bus--a small, plastic insert, where the shower was fed by water from the sink. At breakfast, there were no plates or cutlery laid out--we had to find them in a closet on our own. All the staff were outside smoking. Staying at this hotel was a profoundly unsatisfactory experience. We ended up checking out after the first night to stay at a hotel nearby for our second night. Le Digue seems to be relying on its location to survive--they offer nothing else!

Room Tip: Do not accept room 11!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PowellOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
250 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel is terrible. Worst nights sleep in a long time. It feels like you are staying in a school camp with very thin walls, terribly uncomfortable bed and flimsy pillows. It is very noisy. You can hear the front door bang closed every time it is used even from our room which was down the first floor corridor. Our bathroom did not look like the photos and our shower door did not close properly thus flooding the entire bathroom with each use. Our room was very basic- no fridge, no aircon & a basic wall heater. The restaurant here is appalling. Avoid it at all costs. Parking is available across the road for 1.50€ per day. Note: make sure that you get a response from the hotel when you let them know that you have a car. You must have an access code for the entrance to the road/carpark/hotel. It is not possible to park short term near the access point and walk down to the hotel to get it when you arrive. The police were at this point fining cars parked in this area when we arrived. If I were you I'd visit Mont-Saint-Michel for a day trip (2-3hrs should do it) and keep driving to better accomodation. This whole area is a dive for accomodation and if it weren't for tour groups it would be in trouble.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Retired_at_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Nice location. Didn't book this hotel were moved here from another. Not value for money at all...room canary yellow and en-suite was damp, stale and in dreadful need of a good clean, let alone decoration. Staff were helpful and friendly. Hotel characteristic of a captive audience at a site like the mount...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loughie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte - BRAZIL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The hotel is nicely located with an extraordinary view (both dining room and breakfast on 2nd floor ) of the Mont St Michel.
Very clean room (with facilities) and good options at the restaurant (this a bit pricy though).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara_Vieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Relais Saint-Michel
Le Relais Saint-Michel
#7 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vert
Hotel Vert
#4 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Digue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Digue

Property: La Digue
Address: Lieu-dit La Caserne | BP 18, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Digue 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you all year round in an authentic and congenial setting, overlooking the Bay and the Mont Saint Michel, often called the Eighth Wonder of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Digue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Digue Hotel Mont-St-Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing