We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new, clean and convenient location”
Review of Hotel Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gabriel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“new, clean and convenient location”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The whole hotel looked new and the room we were given was on the second floor, overlooking the parking lot. It was a small room with a big window, newly painted walls, new , comfortable furniture and fresh, crisp white linens. The bathroom was also new and spotless. There was no lift and no a/c but we can open the window to get fresh air and the wifi connection was good. . The location is ideal, with the free shuttle bus stop to Mt Saint Michel, restaurants and grocery store right across the street. We only paid 4 euro a day to park at the hotel, instead of the higher fee at the public parking, and avoid the hassle of lugging the suitcases from the shuttle drop off to inside Mt Saint Michel, which was a good 10 min. walk as we have seen people who stayed inside Mt Saint Michel doing. The only cons : the hotel charged our credit card in USD instead of euro, at their conversion rate, and the shuttle buses can be noisy if you get a front room, but overall, we had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: choose a room in the back to avoid noises from shuttle buses
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thu51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sodetour, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Gabriel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We thank you for your comments and are delighted that you spent a good stay in our hotel.

Our location, just across the departure of free shuttles is very convenient to visit Mont Saint-Michel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    289
    108
    23
    11
See reviews for
233
220
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Firstly, I understand that this is a budget hotel. I'm not expecting standards to be on par with the Hilton. I visited with my family in early August and it was my parents who paid for the room, so it wasn't my place to request being moved to another one, but I do feel it important to voice some of the issues we encountered as I feel that they may genuinely hinder the comfort and safety of other guests.

There were five of us staying in a room with a dog. At first I was impressed to hear that there was a room large enough to accommodate all of us. As we got to the room I realized that (since we were on the top floor of the hotel) there is a double bed with a T.V. on one level next to a window, then an in-room staircase which led to another double bed and a single. They were right in the roof with no window. Even with the downstairs window open all night the heat rose to the upper level, to a near-unbearable degree and at this point reception was closed. I got two hours sleep that night. Maximum. And the following morning we were due to drive all day home to London.

There was a baby gate at the top of the staircase, but not at the bottom. Our dog could have easily reached the top of the staircase before falling down, especially given how steep the staircase was, had we not kept a close paranoid eye on him the entire night. Having been given the information that we would be staying with a dog prior to checking in, some kind of warning about this would have been appreciated.

There was also only one plug socket in a two-floor room built for 5 people. Had we known this would be the case we would have booked two smaller rooms, but at this point we were exhausted and didn't want to trek down the stairs and back up again to different rooms with all of our suitcases.

Can't fault the cleanliness and the one member of staff we encountered during the entire stay was lovely, but some of the rooms really need to be reconsidered.

Room Tip: Ask about the room facilities as you're checking in so you know exactly what you're getting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polarbear23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freising, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I was there with three friends and we really enjoy it! It's clean, we were well welcomed and the room is comfortable. The only problem is that only one person at a time could conect the wifi in the room. Everything else from was perfect! =]

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Pros: Very reasonably priced stay close to the Mont with parking at the front of the hotel, room was clean and quiet (though a little dated), room had a view of the Mont, short walk to the free bus to the Mont, professional service at the front desk

Cons: Had to call the hotel to get the code to get past the boom gate (wouldn’t give it to us in email), be sure to add the parking cost (4 euros as at July 2013) on top of the hotel cost

Other: We decided to stay overnight to avoid the daytrip crowds, but didn’t want to stay on the Mont itself, so this turned out to be the perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I went with my family just today August 15. My reservation was made and guaranteed by my credit card and I was given a confirmation #. But when we arrived, they did not have my reservation at all or any record of it. Even though I had it. They realized it was their mistake.

I was told to go to its sister hotel-Hotel Verte
This hotel charged me more and was not apologetic at all.

SO if you do a reservation confirm, confirm. Hotel Verte is supposed to be better -what a disappointment. Therefore I wondered what Formula Verte is.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel is basic, but clean, quiet and very well located near restaurants, supermarket and shuttle bus to Mont St. Michel (we went to the Mont in the evening and had it to ourselves - shops were closed but the crowds were gone). We paid €92 for a large family room, which consisted of 2 bedrooms across 2 stories, creating a mezzanine type space which the kids enjoyed. We skipped the pricey breakfast and used the cafe across the road. Overall, very good value in a great location.

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for a mezzanine floor family room (steep stairs so probably not suitable for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caoimhin1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great location with free shuttle bus to the Mont every 5-10 min stopping just opposite and running till late. You could even walk to the Mont from here. Very quiet and good value. We had a family room for 4 with 2 twin beds on an upper level and a double bed on the ground level all for under 100 euros. Nice clean bathroom. Great formula. Just need to make sure you check in before 10 pm as if you arrive after that there is nobody on the front desk and you are locked out for the night!

Room Tip: The photo on the website of a quad room shows 2 double beds, so I assumed this was all that was avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wasabadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vert
Hotel Vert
#4 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Auberge Saint Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Relais Saint-Michel
Le Relais Saint-Michel
#7 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Digue
La Digue
#10 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabriel

Property: Hotel Gabriel
Address: Route du Mont Saint Michel, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gabriel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel Gabriel has 45 comfortable rooms with shower and W.C.. Twin beds, doubles, triples, or family rooms for 4 or 5: alone, with friends, as a couple, or a family, each guest will find the room he or she would like for the stay at Mont Saint-Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing