We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming stay”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vire-Normandie
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Not sure of our times and distances, we had not pre-booked a hotel for the night, so just turned up in Vire, and found this hotel conveniently sited by the main road, with easy free parking outside. The bedroom was small and basic ; fine for a night. We were tired, so took the easy option of eating in, and were delighted with the dinner.
Vire has a pleasant, laid back atmosphere being strategically placed high above the countryside.
There are bars close by, and a number of good shops.
It was only for the one night, but recommended, especially for the food.

Room Tip: We chose the 'back' option . No view, but away from the high street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coccaVire, Propriétaire at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest
Dear customer thank you for your comment
I note that you have appreciate our location and our restaurant
can be has once again
Mr Coccalotto Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

Due to inclement weather our ferry was cancelled and we had to find a hotel at a very short notice. Being armed with no more than a Logis, I phoned the hotel and managed to get a room. On arrival, our room was on the second floor, there is a good lift. The room was pleasant, spacious, well lit, with a double bed and a single bed, unusually it had tea and coffee making facilities with supplies! The bathroom was quite large with a lovely large window. The bed was extremely comfortable with soft pillows and very fresh clean sheets. We ate at the hotel in the evening and chose the cheapest menu which turned out to be an excellent choice. The food was of a very good standard and the wine extremely acceptable. The service was excellent, attention to detail, discreet, ensuring the glass was always filled. We were served an appetiser, an amuse bouche, and requests for salad accompanyment rather than vegetables, was delivered with a smile! Breakfast was very reasonable, plenty of fresh bread, orange juice from freshly squeezed oranges - made in front of you, yoghurts, croissants, etc. very hot, aromatic coffee and a bowl of fresh fruit, or fruit salad, some cheese and salami. Unfortunately we did not have the opportunity to look around the area but were pleased to have found the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bandsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Set in the centre of the town with plenty of convenient parking nearby. The rooms are average size to small but comfortable and have all the basics; ours was generally pretty clean and well maintained.
The hotel restaurant has a varied menu that will suit most people and their food is of a good standard, as to be expected of a Logis without being over-exciting or original. I would, however, suggest giving the local sausage speciality, l'Andouille, a miss unless you are really keen on offal! Hotel management and staff are helpful and efficient.
Vire was almost totally destroyed in the war and was rebuilt in the early 50s, so the buildings and ambience of the town reflects this. It may not have a lot of charm as a place but it has all the usual shops, banks etc that one might need, including a number of pizza places that also serve surprisingly good other food. Le Robbery in the centre is probably the best of these.
But try the Le Berbere for something different: its an inexpensive, small couscous retaurant run by a very friendly chap who is a big football and Liverpool FC fan! Its about 10 minutes walk from this hotel (turn left out of the front entrance and at the traffic lights cross the road and walk 150m along rue General Leclerc to the town's central roundabout, take the road opposite, which is the D577 signed to Mortain & Sourdeval, walk down to the bottom of the hill where there are X-roads and traffic lights, opposite on the left you will see a large car park area - the restaurant is at the far end of the car park about 10 paces further up the main road). If you want to spend more and want a more classic style French meal, then the Restaurant Au Vrai Normand, which you will pass on this route, is also a good place to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HampshireKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Je ne connais pas les chambres mais le restaurant est propre et accueillant. La décoration est moder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mathilde351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: la chambre 48 est très bien
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Papiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank PedroBarna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank polocine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent L, Gérant at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vire-Normandie
2.5 mi away
Campanile Vire
Campanile Vire
#1 of 3 in Vire-Normandie
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hote Saint-Pierre
Hote Saint-Pierre
#3 of 3 in Vire-Normandie
58 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#1 of 2 in Mortain
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Le Manoir de l'Acherie
Le Manoir de l'Acherie
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Cecile
99 reviews
24.0 mi away
Best Western Le Moulin De Ducey
15.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Le Fruitier
Hotel-Restaurant Le Fruitier
#1 of 3 in Villedieu-les-Poeles
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: 4 rue d Aigneaux, 14500 Vire-Normandie, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Vire-Normandie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vire-Normandie
Price Range: £53 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing