We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Madieres

Countryhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Countryhouse
South facing front yard, nice spot for a glass of wine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Countryhouse
South facing front yard, nice spot for a glass of wine
lounge
barn used for potting shed, parking and wood storage
dining room
looking back toward the house from the front lawn
master bedroom
Terrace
view of the south lawn from the bedroom
kitchen
spacious bathroom
part of the old fortress as seen from the Friday market
Vire town centre
medieval church of Notre Dame, survived WWII bombing
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Vire-Normandie, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
20gill14
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Les Madieres was just the place we needed to relax and unwind from the stresses of everyday life in the UK. The house was very clean and nice and warm for our arrival, the welcome pack was much appreciated. We were extremely lucky with the weather and on the days when we only ventured out for the morning we sat and had lunch in the garden, sitting by the pond, enjoying the peace and quiet. Lovely Boulangerie in Le Beny Bocage. No problems with booking and the owner replied to emails promptly. Would certainly book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay. We believe beginning any holiday with wine sets the table for a good stay!
Hope to have you back,
Ken & Kimberley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary G
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely house but disappointing gardens”
Reviewed 30 April 2013 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed at this house for 2 weeks in August. The house itself is lovely despite that the shower and bathroom need updating. The rooms in the house are exactly as depicted in the webpage. However we were disappointed with the gardens that at the time seem to have been invaded by some animal that burrowed underneath and left the garden less green and more mounds of clay! It was also disappointing that the gazebo was broken and there was nowhere one could sit for outdoor meals. We were very lucky with the weather so wanted to spend most of our time outdoors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: Not having any proper outdoor eating space and ruined gardens
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2013
Yes, unfortunately last summer we had moles visiting as uninvited guests! we have since hired a local mole-guy to deal with them. The gazebo to which this guests refers to was a temporary canvas & metal structure. It has since been replaced on the terrace with a new wooden pergola that is nearly twice the size. There are chairs and a table for dining outside (as shown in photos), however last summer some guests moved the furniture down to the deck beside the small pond, which is where they preferred to eat and enjoy their wine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mojumi
Half Moon Bay, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cozy in the bocage”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Our family of five felt comfortable in this spacious holiday rental home. It is well off the beaten path, and very peaceful, but with easy access to major roadways and both village and city shopping. We found it a good base for exploring Basse-Normandie and if we return to the area I would be pleased to stay here again.

The amenities were just what we needed -- comfortable bedrooms, equipped kitchen with good-sized fridge and freezer, washer, basic tv, plenty of hot water, interesting books on the shelves, space around the cottage and everything tidy. (One exception, the shower did not drain and we couldn't use it. The kids and I didn't mind using the tub but this was a problem for my husband.) I appreciated the wildness of the property but must point out that the photos of the gardens are no longer accurate. The gazebo, in particular, does not exist as pictured and the apple trees are being overrun with mistletoe. The kids enjoyed roaming the grounds, but I was sad not to have any outdoor seating to enjoy sunny days. The house guest book is a goldmine of recommendations, so if you do stay at Les Madieres, check it out and add your contribution!

Booking was easy and communication with the owners was great. We didn't have any trouble locating the cottage with the directions provided, and it was wonderful to arrive in the evening, after a long drive, to bread, wine, milk, and a warm cottage lit for our arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the location
Liked least: Problem with the shower and no outdoor seating
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria1212...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely family gite as a family holiday stay”
Reviewed 27 January 2013 for a stay in July 2011

We wanted to travel a bit further into Normandy so opted to stay nearer to where some of the sights we wanted to take in. This was the perfect location to the D-day landings and beaches as well as other attractions for our youngest child such as the train museum in Suisse-Normande. In the gite there was a lovely book that previous families had written in that gave excellent recommendations on attractions, markets and shops so we used them as a guide. Besides the beaches, we went to Bayueax for the tapestry as well as visiting medieval sites as well as the with the Église Sainte-Jeanne d'Arc and surrounding area steeped in history of Joan of Arc that are all well recommended in the region.

The weather was very favourable so we took advantage of the barbecue area although the pictures on the website and the patio area need updating as that area was very over grown and there is no outdoor covered area when we were there although the table and chairs were there just not the gazeboo/covered patio area that is advertised. Despite this the rest of the gardens were maintained beautifully and was a lovely place to relax and take in the French summer sun.

The internal amenities were fine and we were very pleased as everything we needed was catered for. The rooms were comfortable and the whole atmosphere of the gite was very French and traditional which is what we loved.

What would have been helpful would've been comprehensive instructions to get to the actual gite as it was quite off the beaten track so we did have a challenge to find it if we didn't have the aid of international sat nav.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all inclusive and no hidden extras as some gites charge extras if you go over electricity but do not state a quantifiable measure of what excessive means in real terms
Liked least: Only that the picture of the gazebo/covered patio area wasn't there when we were there and that area looked like it needed attention however this was very minor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noanirtal
Kfar-Saba
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sea of Tranquility”
Reviewed 5 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Lovely house. All you can hear is the sound of silence. A perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful Normandy countryside.
The small gesture of be welcomed by wine bread and milk made us feel at home he minute we entered. Also no need for deposit having confidence policy is very nice.
It is near enough to travel to the attractions of Normandy like the landing beaches and Mont Saint Michele.
Very recommanded.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The isolation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing