We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantstic Welcome, Service and Food”

Manoir de la Pommeraie
Reserve with
Manoir de la Pommeraie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Created in 1987 by Georges and Maryse LESAGE, this restaurant took a second start in june 2008 when new owners Masako and Julien GUERARD arrived. Start with Julien's Comtemporary and creative Cuisine and don't miss Masako's fantastic Desserts! Warm welcoming, efficient but discreet, Emmanuel GARCIN's service will turn your meals into relaxing and delicious moments. Last but not least, the whole restaurant has been fully refurbished in december 2014 with a large veranda, confortable at all season, ideal to enjoy the beautiful century-old tree park.
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We were in the Vengeons region last week and decided to try Manoir De La Pommeraie as recommended on TA.

We were not disappointed, we had a very warm welcome and the food was amazing. We decided to go with the set menu of 29 euros. I had the mackrel on a parmasan crisp and that was lovely, my husband had the fois gras and said that was great too. I then went for the beef as a main course and it just melted in your mouth, I didn't realise until afterwards that I didn't have a steak knife, it was just a normal knife and went through the steak like butter. Hubby went for the Hake which he said was superb. We both had the caramised pears for desert, it was beautifully presented and tasted divine.

Vincent made sure that we had everything that we needed without being obtrusive. A nice touch was the chef coming out to see us after our meal to make sure that we enjoyed everything.

We would highly recommend the restaurant, from the moment you walk in the whole experience is superb

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nikola_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Manoir de la Pommeraie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

WOW! I was lucky to be invited to a Sunday afternoon 4-hour French lunch. We all had the tasting menu (7-courses + 5-wines (including 2 sparkling) and we staggered home. Even the 70+ widowed aunts finished all their plates, as well as their glasses. Manoir de la Pommeraie, is a hidden jewel, just a few minutes SE of Vire, in the heart of Calvados Normandy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RICHARD H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The restaurant is run by Vincent (the Maitre d’Hotel), the chef de cuisine Julien and his wife Masako. Vincent’s front of house welcome is second to none and the cooking is always astoundingly good. Julien (head chef) and his wife Masako (Japanese pastry chef) never fail to please with their fresh, lively and imaginative meals.

They now grow their own fruit and vegetables in a potager on site and try to serve fresh produce from there every day. Masako produces genius patisserie and her husband Julien cleverly melds traditional fare with exciting twists to excite even the most jaded palate.

Today was perhaps the fifth or sixth time we have visited the restaurant in the last 9 months and we have never been disappointed. Our lunch on Christmas Day 2010 was astonishingly good and served with a variety of wines and champagnes to accompany the food perfectly.

Today we took the menu d’affaire lunch which at under €20 for a glass of wine, water, coffee and 3 courses was ridiculously good value. We were treated to galantines of volaille and eggs on cocotte served with home made red onion chutney to start. The main courses included pork fillet slices served with a delicious sauce and vegetables from the garden and an astoundingly good hake dish served with fresh courgette slices from the potager cooked in a ginger and reduced poultry jus. The fish was absolutely perfectly cooked and the sauce tasted as if it were concocted by a genius! The puddings included tarte aux abricots with home made apricot sorbet as we had never experienced before and a feuillete of the crispiest, sweetest, melt in the mouth pastry.

The house wines are delicious and very well chosen by Vincent. This is a restaurant which deserves to be much better known in the area. We have tried many restaurants in the area over the years and believe that Julien and Masako’s cooking is by far the best.

If you visit the Manoir de la Pommeraie I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pixietoadstool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien G, Gérant at Manoir de la Pommeraie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Dear customer,

Better late than never, here I am to thank you for your very nice review.
Our customer's satisfaction is our daily goal and getting such feedback is very motivating for the whole team.

Thank you,

We all look forward to welcome you again soon.

Julien GUERARD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank jujudiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank 105Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manoir de la Pommeraie also viewed

Vire-Normandie, Calvados
Vire-Normandie, Calvados
 
Vire-Normandie, Calvados
Vire-Normandie, Calvados
 

Been to Manoir de la Pommeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing