We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Wonderful Thatched Cottage in Calvados”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other traveller has booked this property

Review of La Pelviniere

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from south facing Orchard Sitting room with log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
9 reviews
View from south facing Orchard
Sitting room with log burner
Sitting room with log burner
Fully fitted dining kitchen with all appliances
Fully fitted dining kitchen showing seating area
Master bedroom with ensuite
Ensuite in master bedroom
View over orchard from Master bedroom
Large twin room next to full bathroom
View from twin bedrooms
Walk in shower in family bathroom
Family bathroom c/w walk in shower also
Large double bedroom on ground floor overlooking garden
View of galleried stairs and landing
Entrance Hall
Nearby Lake Dathee 10 minute drive away
Nearby 18 hole golf course at Lake Dathee (10 minute drive)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Vire-Normandie, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
xjs_jag_g...
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thatched Cottage in Calvados”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A lovely thatched cottage for up to 8 people within driving distance of many of the popular visitor attractions of Normandy. Great large kitchen and big bedrooms. Local town of Vire easily reached in 15mins with all amenities and shops you need. Nearby lake well worth a walk around and golf couse open to visitors if you play. We had a party of 6 staying in this property and everyone said they would go again so can't say fairer than that!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Large kitchen and grounds
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2013
Many thanks Nicola. We look forward to welcoming you again
Steve & Eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It does what it says on the tin.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This property is very well appointed,spotlessly clean& well maintained.
Very pleasant rural setting,tranquil & peaceful.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Peaceful position.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2013
Many thanks and we are glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G
Essex
2 reviews
“We couldn't believe our luck.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A superb property, very sympathetically restored to retain character and located in a beautiful, quiet setting. The property is spacious and very well equipped. Furnishings are of a high quality and very comfortable (difficult to get people off the sofas - perfect for an afternoon nap!). There were some lovely walks from the front door, the surrounding countryside was beautiful and the locals were very friendly. We found this a great base from which to explore many attractions e.g. Bayeux, Omaha Beach, Domefront, Mont St Michel - to name but a few ( this property being approx one hour's drive from each). More local excellent attractions were Lake Dathee (10 minutes), cascades at Mortain (20 minutes) and Villedieu Les Poelles for a pretty good market (25 minutes).

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and comfort.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2013
Many thanks and we are glad you enjoyed the cottage. We have tried to restore and furnish it as our own home rather than just a rental. We enjoy staying there as well and look forward to the peace and tranquillity and unhurried French rural life yet still being within a short distance of many interesting places to visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise G
Brechin
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a peaceful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Over the past 10 years we have stayed in several holiday cottages in France and this property was one of the best. It is very well furnished and is equipped to the highest standard. The property is situated in a picturesque and peaceful setting. There are horses in the surrounding fields as well as a particularly adorable donkey called Barnaby. There are many things to do in the area – amongst other things we visited the Granite Park Museum and the Bell Foundry at Villedieu-Du-Poeles.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Excellent facilites in an excellent setting.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We couldn't believe our luck when we found the property which was in need of a bit of TLC! However after a lot of hard work (and going over budget!) we are pleased that our guests without exception like the result and we have a property to be proud of. Thank you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyS355
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We just completed a week's stay at La Pelviniere. It was immaculate and just as described. We enjoyed evenings around the fire in the living room and discussions around the dining table. The baths have more advanced plumbing than I have in my own house. It is perfectly located within no more than 1.3 hours drive from all major sites in Normandy + Mount St. Michele. Further Vire is not a major tourist city so a visitor can have a "feel" for life in a small French town and still have access to good restaurants in addition to all the tourist sites. If I return to Normandy, I will again book La Pelviniere if it is available.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Feel of home and location
Liked least: Not Applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again. Almost 20% of our guests are repeat bookings which reflects their reaction to the property and the location and local area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$142
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing