We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely cottage in a lovely countryside.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Clartiere

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Vire-Normandie, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Greyduste...
Bournemouth
1 review
“A lovely cottage in a lovely countryside.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Stayed for a week in September and so lucky with the weather. Great cottage for relaxing, really peaceful yet close to amenities. I have stayed in the owner's second cottage and this one is just as well equipped. You want for nothing. All mod cons and a English TV is always a boon. The garden is large and has good furniture, we BBQ'd everynight. The cottage was clean and tidy an arrival with a welcome pack of goodies.
Normandy is a lovely part of the world and this is a super cottage to experience it in.
Bon vacance!

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet garden
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and looking forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCSWirral
Wirral
1 review
“Perfect cottage in a peaceful spot”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed two nights in September as part of a short break. The cottage really was beautiful and a home from home. The only thing we would have added would have been wifi but not having it does make you switch off.
We were unlucky with the weather so made full use of the log fire which was wonderful. We hadn't planned to do any sightseeing but it is an ideal spot for those interested in the two great wars. The drive across the Pont de Normandie on the way there was fabulous.
We pottered around the forest at St Sever which would have been perfect walking territory if the weather had been better but we followed the signs to the hermitage and found a magical spot, and the barrage across the lake makes an easy pre dinner stroll and was so peaceful.
Just a lovely spot.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in front of the log fire
Liked least: Don't be put off Vire by the drive in. We revisited it coming in a different way and you find a much prettier town
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
Many thanks and glad you enjoyed it. Being in rural France the provision of Internet is prohibitive but we are investigating Satellite provision which is economical and fast for next year. Thank you again for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stax1968
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is a delightful cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was our first visit to the area - having spent a wonderful time in The Loire Valleyin out first week we were unsure how it could be bettered - staying at this delightful cottage is how! The location is ideal for a relaxing or fun packed holiday.The cottage is very well presented, immaculately clean and has everything you need (apart from the intranet according to my teenage daughter - although the multi channel TV came to the rescue!).
The proximity to the lake is a bonus.We visited the beaches of Normandy, Vire and Caen - all of which kept us amused for the week. Locals are very friendly and food shopping can be had at Vire. I will certainly recommend this property to friends and colleagues.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility
Liked least: Distance to travel tc drop off recycled items
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have tried to furnish & equip the cottage as our own home to a high standard and are pleased that you had a good holiday. Stephen & Eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.