We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Christmas Get away”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Clartiere

View of cottage from south facing garden. No adjacent property within 50m
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of cottage from south facing garden. No adjacent property within 50m
Lounge sitting area with log burner Kitchen with all facilities new 2010
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
View of cottage from south facing garden. No adjacent property within 50m
Lounge sitting area with log burner
Kitchen with all facilities new 2010
View of nearby lake which is 10 minutes walk away
View of cottage from south facing garden
Date stone
Master double bedroom with ensuite
View over fields from 1st floor
View from the garden over the fields belonging to the cottage
View approaching down 50m private drive
Hall entrance and downstairs cloakroom
Upstairs landing
View of 18 hole golf course 1km away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Vire-Normandie, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eva B
London
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect Christmas Get away”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

La Clartiere is the perfect cottage to indulge in a spot of country living without being too far from a very nice town(Vire) in case you need one.
The 2 bedrooms are a lovely size each with very nice proper bathrooms and the wall/floors are good and thick so you can get a very good nights sleep without the others having to tiptoe around.
Furnishing throughout the cottage is very tasteful and high quality and the open plan kitchen/living space with the beautiful large log burner and ideal for family socialising whilst cooking. Even my partner ( a Head Chef by trade) was very happy with all the kitchen equipment and facilities!
The surrounding countryside and views are lovely but sadly due to inclement weather we didn't take advantage of walks or see any wildlife.
We really hope to visit again soon..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments and we hope you were able to recharge your batteries for the New Year's eve rush at your restaurant. Happy New Year and hope to see you again when the weather is better to enable you to appreciate the fabulous countryside and things to do and see in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileasDe...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ideal for the Bocage”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

La Clartiere is a lovely gîte in beautiful rolling countryside. We were fortunate in having good weather and, as we took our own mountain bikes, we explored the excellent local way-marked VTT routes. Walking is also very good and we particularly enjoyed this at Roche d'Oëtre - a short drive away. Vire, the local town, is friendly if plain (totally rebuilt after WW2). We had a bike mended in a shop on the Condé-sur-Noireau road and the staff could not have been more helpful - didn't even charge labour.

The only irritation was the neighbours' dog which yapped at us every time we came and went. Fortunately, they went away after half the week and left us to enjoy the tranquility which other reviewers mention.

The gîte is well equipped and comfortable with lovely views and a useful patio area. We dealt with the owners direct, who are helpful and efficient.

All in all, a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Countryside
Liked least: Next door's dog
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xjs_jag_g...
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Idyllic Cottage in Normandy”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Booked this cottage in conjunction with the owners other property La Pelvinere (see ref HL304580) for a group of 10 friends.
I have stayed several times at this smaller cottage and really love it so was hoping my friends would too. A resounding yes from them! They said the cottage was perfect, well equipped and very peaceful.
The location is ideal for visiting the many attractions of Normandy from the well known - Mont St Michel, D Day beaches, Bayeux etc. But there's also some fantastic less well known places such as Villedieu-les-Poeles with it's bell foundry, copper pot makers and Tuesday market, the Swiss Normand region with the river Orne flowing through deep sided gorges where you can hire canoes to paddle along from Pont d'Ouilly to Clecy, or try the brilliant experience of Velorail (cycle on an old railway line) from Pont Erambourg. Another hidden gem worth a visit is La Paix just on the outskirts of Saint Germain de Crioult where an English/Dutch couple run a lavender farm with a Salon de The in the grounds or they provide picnic lunches if booked in advance.There's so much to see and do in the area that you'll be ready to come back to the cottage to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet just sitting outside enjoying a meal with a glass of wine or the wonderful local Normandy Cider. Perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
Many thanks Nicola and also thank you for your reservation for 2014 which is the 70th anniversary of D-Day landings. Wise to book quickly as the cottages are conveniently only 1 hour form the D-Day beaches and close to many other attractions- plenty to do or alternatively simply relax in the 3 acre plot!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyduste...
Bournemouth
1 review
“A lovely cottage in a lovely countryside.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Stayed for a week in September and so lucky with the weather. Great cottage for relaxing, really peaceful yet close to amenities. I have stayed in the owner's second cottage and this one is just as well equipped. You want for nothing. All mod cons and a English TV is always a boon. The garden is large and has good furniture, we BBQ'd everynight. The cottage was clean and tidy an arrival with a welcome pack of goodies.
Normandy is a lovely part of the world and this is a super cottage to experience it in.
Bon vacance!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet garden
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and looking forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCSWirral
Wirral
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage in a peaceful spot”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed two nights in September as part of a short break. The cottage really was beautiful and a home from home. The only thing we would have added would have been wifi but not having it does make you switch off.
We were unlucky with the weather so made full use of the log fire which was wonderful. We hadn't planned to do any sightseeing but it is an ideal spot for those interested in the two great wars. The drive across the Pont de Normandie on the way there was fabulous.
We pottered around the forest at St Sever which would have been perfect walking territory if the weather had been better but we followed the signs to the hermitage and found a magical spot, and the barrage across the lake makes an easy pre dinner stroll and was so peaceful.
Just a lovely spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in front of the log fire
Liked least: Don't be put off Vire by the drive in. We revisited it coming in a different way and you find a much prettier town
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
Many thanks and glad you enjoyed it. Being in rural France the provision of Internet is prohibitive but we are investigating Satellite provision which is economical and fast for next year. Thank you again for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stax1968
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is a delightful cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was our first visit to the area - having spent a wonderful time in The Loire Valleyin out first week we were unsure how it could be bettered - staying at this delightful cottage is how! The location is ideal for a relaxing or fun packed holiday.The cottage is very well presented, immaculately clean and has everything you need (apart from the intranet according to my teenage daughter - although the multi channel TV came to the rescue!).
The proximity to the lake is a bonus.We visited the beaches of Normandy, Vire and Caen - all of which kept us amused for the week. Locals are very friendly and food shopping can be had at Vire. I will certainly recommend this property to friends and colleagues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility
Liked least: Distance to travel tc drop off recycled items
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have tried to furnish & equip the cottage as our own home to a high standard and are pleased that you had a good holiday. Stephen & Eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$126
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing