We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last sttayed here almost 20 years ago -and we liked it even more on our return”
Review of Hotel Bois Joli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bois Joli
Certificate of Excellence
oswestry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Last sttayed here almost 20 years ago -and we liked it even more on our return”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The staff members at this owner-managed medium -sized hotel are very professional.
The hotel looks as though it has been re-decorated recently - the bathroom was spacious, very clean and well-appointed .Our bedroom, probably one of the most expensive, was large,tastefully decorated in French bourgeois- style and the king-sized bed extremely comfortable.
Dinner was likewise really good - lots of vegetables, good meat, good fish - and we ate the cheapest menu. We couldn't do justice to breakfast next morning, but the coffeee and croissants and freshly -squeezed orange juice were perfect.
This is a charming ,old-fashioned hotel in a charming ,old-fashioned spa town; a great place for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Room 8 is lovely, but faces the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfmhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    41
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
74
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
marsala
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

we stayed in the hotel for a week during a sport event after leaving another hotel in bagnoles. I find the building very nice but unfortunately too close to a road so quite noisy. the restaurant is very good and at affordable price. the room were small but well equipped and organized thus the staying was at an acceptable level of confort. I consider that a minibar should be almost mandatory in an hotel with this level of price.
the owners were very kind and always available. wifi was good.
big area of improvement was the breakfast. very very poor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dario L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire uk
Level Contributor
148 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We booked with Britany Ferries. We had trouble finding the road, but finally saw the sign to the hipodrome.

All staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we had an excellent one night stop on our way further South. We walked round the wonderful town where there seemed to be some sort of festival; we are only sad that as we had been travelling from early morning we retired early to bed and missed most of it especially the fireworks at midnight.

If staying here or elsewhere in France remember the overnight “Taxe des séjour”, in our case 1€ per person per night, even though we had paid bed, and breakfast when we booked.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPR-amble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Helpful friendly staff in an attractive unpretentious hotel. The room was comfortable and large if slightly worn. The food was very good if perhaps not always of a consistant standard. Small garden.

The genteel attractibve spa town of Bagnols de l'Orne developed at the turn of the 19th century. Lots of strange typical Normandy houses. There's a lovely central lake and a casino and beautiful flowers abound at every turn. The plantings are more tasteful that the usual 'village fleurie' which we've found tend to have clashing (screaming!) colours. During the second week-end of September they have a gastronomic festival with about 6 chefs from the region and a bit further afield coming to demonstrate different dishes. Lots of local stands sell their local produce (and charge high prices); there's a jolly good humoured atmosphere. There's plenty to visit in the area and we had lovely weather.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeNW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

we stayed at the bois joli for 4 days over easter and had a wonderful break..the hotel was lovely..ground floor room with en suite and cleaned each morning with fresh towels..the grounds were large with quite a number of sun loungers under the trees..we were lucky it was hot for the whole 4 days..on easter sunday we wen for breakfast and much to my delight found a chocolate easter rabbit gift waiting on each table and that sums up the owners ,very kind and thoughtful..nothing to much trouble and good english spoken too..we had a lovely meal in the hotel resturant and to be honest it was esquisite and not overly expensive....coffeee served in the garden when asked for ..we enjoyed our stay so much we are going again and taking friends at august bank holiday weekend..the lovely lake is one minute away and the forest for walks on the doorstep..plenty of resturents to choose from only minuits walk away ..all in all a lovely relaxing break in a beautiful part of france

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank slimandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagnoles-de-l'orne hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Manoir du Lys
Le Manoir du Lys
#1 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Beryl
Hotel du Beryl
#2 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagnoles Hotel
Bagnoles Hotel
#4 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Logis Le Normandie
Logis Le Normandie
#8 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Potiniere du Lac
La Potiniere du Lac
#5 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Camelias Hotel
Les Camelias Hotel
#10 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bois Joli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bois Joli

Property: Hotel Bois Joli
Address: 12 avenue Philippe du Rozier, 61140 Bagnoles-de-l'orne, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Bagnoles-de-l'orne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bois Joli 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bois Joli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bois Joli Orne/Bagnoles-De-L'orne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing