We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with character and friendly staff.”
Review of Hotel Bois Joli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bois Joli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Enjoyed a two night stay in comfortable and quiet accommodation.The dining was particularly good with a pleasant restuarant and excellent food. Decent choice of both food and wine at acceptable prices.Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgeWillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Clean, good public rooms. Bedroom comfortable, a little on the small side. Breakfast good. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Plenty of parking , Hotel a short walk from town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlandMartians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Very pleasant chateau in the pretty spa town of Bagnoles. Very pleasant clean and generous-sized room - chambre classique at 130 euros. Breakfast decent value at 11 euros. Very competent dinners - formulas from 18 euros - good enough that we came back for a second night (there are other places within walking distance). Wines were not cheap - champagne at 9 euros a glass and we had a bottle of sancerre at 28 euros.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We arrived in Bagnoles without a reservation. It is a lovely town but has no high class hotels. We chose Bois Joil because it is away from the traffic and because it looks most attractive, but we would not have stayed for more than one night. The ground floor has a smell of dinners long gone, and there is a general seediness about the place which does not justify the 166 euros charge for one night (no meals). Our room was very cramped and the catch on the bathroom door did not function and so the door was liable to swing open. We were on the second floor reached by two narrow staircases. There were no fire doors or fire escapes and we realised that any escape would have to be by a 12 ft drop onto a flat roof. The room next had had a 40ft drop.
Bagnoles is delightful in every way and the best choice of accommodation looked to be B&B in one of the magnificent "Belle Epoch" houses.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bloodhound8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The staff members at this owner-managed medium -sized hotel are very professional.
The hotel looks as though it has been re-decorated recently - the bathroom was spacious, very clean and well-appointed .Our bedroom, probably one of the most expensive, was large,tastefully decorated in French bourgeois- style and the king-sized bed extremely comfortable.
Dinner was likewise really good - lots of vegetables, good meat, good fish - and we ate the cheapest menu. We couldn't do justice to breakfast next morning, but the coffeee and croissants and freshly -squeezed orange juice were perfect.
This is a charming ,old-fashioned hotel in a charming ,old-fashioned spa town; a great place for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Room 8 is lovely, but faces the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfmhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

we stayed in the hotel for a week during a sport event after leaving another hotel in bagnoles. I find the building very nice but unfortunately too close to a road so quite noisy. the restaurant is very good and at affordable price. the room were small but well equipped and organized thus the staying was at an acceptable level of confort. I consider that a minibar should be almost mandatory in an hotel with this level of price.
the owners were very kind and always available. wifi was good.
big area of improvement was the breakfast. very very poor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dario L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We booked with Britany Ferries. We had trouble finding the road, but finally saw the sign to the hipodrome.

All staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we had an excellent one night stop on our way further South. We walked round the wonderful town where there seemed to be some sort of festival; we are only sad that as we had been travelling from early morning we retired early to bed and missed most of it especially the fireworks at midnight.

If staying here or elsewhere in France remember the overnight “Taxe des séjour”, in our case 1€ per person per night, even though we had paid bed, and breakfast when we booked.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPR-amble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagnoles-de-l'orne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Beryl
Hotel du Beryl
#2 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
739 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Manoir du Lys
Le Manoir du Lys
#1 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagnoles Hotel
Bagnoles Hotel
#4 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Logis Le Normandie
Logis Le Normandie
#8 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel O Gayot
Hotel O Gayot
#7 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Potiniere du Lac
La Potiniere du Lac
#5 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bois Joli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bois Joli

Address: 12 avenue Philippe du Rozier, 61140 Bagnoles-de-l'orne, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Bagnoles-de-l'orne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
Price Range: £87 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bois Joli 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bois Joli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bois Joli Orne/Bagnoles-De-L'orne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing