We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely manor house” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perier du Bignon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Perier du Bignon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Laval
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“lovely manor house”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

we chose the hotel for it's location above all, since we would be arriving later in the day on a stop over from Normandy on the way to the Loire area. The imposing courtyard with the gate is a nice first impression. The hotel mixes ultra modern (the bar) with traditional furnishings and décor. It mostly works just fine. Our room was spacious and had a rather large bathroom, very modern. The outside pool area was real nice, and a perfect place to have the breakfast. It seemed to me that the hotel was popular with business travelers. We would have loved to see that bar open at least for a couple of hours but it never seemed to open, not sure why? Also not sure why the concierge identified the street with all the bars and restaurants (we asked him where to go eat) when every single one of them was closed. The concierge / front desk was friendly though. Seems to me that this hotel needs to choose between a vanilla flavor business experience or go more along the boutique experience. They definitely have a lovely building, it just seems a little cold without the level of service you'd expect. Not bad though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patten36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    59
    31
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
73
4
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
276 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel tucked away at the top of Laval. I spent a quick business overnight trip here and had a really nice room overlooking the pool. Nice breakfast, attentive service all set in a beautifully restored building. If you haggle for inclusive breakfast it's pretty good value. Only drawback is the need to grab a taxi to the station. I would think this an excellent venue for small business meetings, weddings and a romantic break.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hypothalamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We had an overnight stay in this lovely hotel. The exquisite food was spoiled by the bitter taste that the overpriced wine left in our mouths. It is unacceptable that in a wine producing country that the lowest price for a bottle, of not particularly extraordinary wine, was 28€.
The pool was very refreshing.
Larval is an interesting medieval city in the throes of a major refurbishment.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We were in Laval for a wedding and chose the Perier du Bignon from its web-site. The 18th Century "hotel particulier" has been beautifully restored and extended with a fine private garden and outdoor swimming pool. On the edge of the old city the main sites are in easy walking distance. The Saturday market with lots of local producers was a real attraction.

Looked at overall, everything in the hotel was of a high standard but the service, especially from all three people we met on the reception desk, was exceptional. (e.g. The weather was beautiful and my wife hadn't brought her swimming costume but the staff found her one. After the wedding we were going to come in way after midnight and this was made easy for us to achieve using the underground carpark.) On one evening we enjoyed dinner in the restuarant where we thought the cooking good but, if we had been staying longer, we would also have sought alternatives in the town. The self-service breakfast was adequate.

We have no serious negative comments, just small details:- Light bulbs not working in a number of places. Our room door had to be slammed each time when leaving. There was no air-conditioning in the very hot weather we experienced and being on the ground floor we did not want to leave the winows open at night.

Overall we were pleased with our choice and would recommend the hotel. Once again, I would stress what a difference the good service we received made to our enjoyment

Room Tip: If it's hot try and get a room on the first floor so you can open the windows to get cool at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

We booked a night in this establishment to cut our long drive in half and enjoy a Valentine's Day dinner in the restaurant inside the hotel. The meal was excellent, as was the service, and the prices were very reasonable. The building is beautiful and has been completely refurbished from top to bottom. It seemed we were the first guests in our (roomy, high-ceilinged, spotless, well-heated, well-equipped) room. I only wouldn't recommend it to anyone looking for 'charm' per se, as the interior design is a bit cold. It was pricey (95€ plus 10€ each for a continental breakfast) given the location and time of year (Laval, a tiny city of no particular interest, in February).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paris1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laval hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Paris
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marin
Hotel Marin
#1 of 15 in Laval
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Premiere Classe Laval
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ibis Laval Le Relais d'Armor
3.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant L'Alliance des Saveurs
Hotel Restaurant L'Alliance des ...
#1 of 2 in Bonchamp-Les-Laval
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kyriad Laval
Kyriad Laval
#10 of 15 in Laval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perier du Bignon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perier du Bignon Hotel

Property: Perier du Bignon Hotel
Address: 7 Rue du Marchis, 53000, Laval, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Mayenne > Laval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Laval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Perier du Bignon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Perier du Bignon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing