We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff makes excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Nazaire
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent staff makes excellent stay”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed there twice this summer on my way to and back from Spain. On both occasions I turned up extrmely late or extremly early, but it made no difference to the welcoming and helpfull staff ( I wish I could remember their names).

Hotel is located in a tranquil part of st.Nazaire and close to the supermarket, cinema and local wharf.


Breakfast is included. It's basic but quality of it rather good. Rooms a clean and tidy .

All was good ( except the fact I left my jumper there).

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg1975t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencestnazaire, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stays with us in the Holiday Inn Express in Saint-Nazaire. It's always nice for us te receive such positive feedback. We hope you'll stop off again during future trips. Don't hesitate to contact us if you wish us to look for your jumper and send it to you. Best regards? Jackie Torre. Service Review Client.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    101
    19
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
69
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My wife, myself and my son (29 years with Severe Learning Difficulties) have stayed here for about five years on the way to Spain. One night on way down and one night on way back to Le Havre. It's out of our way. But it is so good we keep going back.
Good rooms, nice bar,good breakfast, wonderful people. Interesting historic area

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sollypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencestnazaire, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive comments on your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you again in the Holiday Inn Express in Saint Nazaire.
Kind regards. Jackie Torre. Service Reveiw Clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Beautiful, clean and newly built hotel with a very friendly staff; good service (Jackie, thanx for the late night soup :)). Rooms are typical for Holiday Inn, located centrally in St.Nazaire, close to a big commercial center with options to shop and eat.

One thing though: the breakfast is really not that good, I'd expect such a breakfast for a 2 stars hotel. No warm food at all, no fresh vegetables, everything is from packages, orange juice from the machine, coffee also, not many things are fresh. Fruit salad is the one from conserves, you know the one which contains a lot of sugar and no vitamins. I mean, you don't starve, but choice and quality is not the best. Infact it was the most deceptive breakfast from all hotels I've seen of this standing.

Wifi is free and good. Free parking very close.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nofretete11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencestnazaire, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay in our hotel. We are very pleased that you appreciated the hotel, the staff and the location.

We are sorry, however, about the experience you had with breakfast. Indeed we offer a cold continental breakfast and don’t have any warm food.

My team and I hope nevertheless to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the Holiday Inn Express in Saint Nazaire.

Kind regards,

Jackie Torre
Service Review Client
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I recently had a three day stay on a battlefield tour and this was by far the best of the three hotels we stayed in. This is a smart modern hotel, very clean. The room reflected this, clean, modern, well designed, a comfortable bed and a very nice bathroom. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and we spent some time in a very friendly bar. The staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. I couldn't have asked for more. For a visitor, it had a great location. A wonderful view of the massive U-boat pens - history on your doorstep. But it was also close to the shops and restaurants. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If yopu like a good view ask for a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencestnazaire, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear John,

Many thanks on behalf of all the staff for your kind words and review about Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire . We hope to see you again next year !
Kind regards

Laurence HEBTING, GM and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Difficult place to get to from Motorway, Staff very pleasant, But we did not like
being offered Microwaved food for dinner, We realize it was Holiday Time in France
but they should cater for passing trade and Booked Guest.

Room Tip: Go To Top Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencestnazaire, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience in our hotel.
We are glad that our staff satisfied your welcome and quality criteria.
Concerning the snacking, there are several restaurants less than 200 meters from the hotel and we are not habilitated to have our own restaurant. That’s why we only offer snacks (microwave dishes) to our guests from 6pm to 10pm each day.
It was a good idea to test one of the restaurants near the hotel. Our snacking menus are small formulas designed to tide guests over if feeling just a little hungry.
We hope nevertheless to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon if you come back to Saint Nazaire.
In the meantime my team and I wish you a lovely summer.
Kind regards.

Jackie Torre
Service Review Client
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

On a Recent Visit to Saint Nazaire we Stayed in the Holiday Inn Express
It's a Delightful Hotel, with Good Restaurants very Close By, in Fact across the Road.
It is Only a 10 Minute Walk Right into the Centre off St Nazaire & all it's Shops, Cafes & Restaurants.
The Rooms are Very Modern & Clean & More Importantly a Lot off the Staff Speak Good English.
we Came in Contact in Particular with 3 Members off Staff who were Delightful.
Jackie Is Scottish & is a Joy & Very Helpful, Alex one off the Duty Managers is also More than Happy to Help with Anything, & we Also were helped out By Gael, a Delightful Man who was Training on Reception.
Would Highly Recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencestnazaire, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Bruno,

Thank you for your kind words about Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire.
We were so glad to read that we met your expectations and you found our service and the general ambience of the hotel to your liking. Please do come and visit us again soon.
Our kindest regards,

Laurence HEBTING, GM and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lovely hotel. Went to St Nazaire with business, and this place was great as it allowed me to explore in the evenings. Rooms very clean and tidy. (you need to bring your own shower gel though as this was not available in my room).

Right opposite the submarine pens, which made for a beautiful view in the evening.

Breakfast was good.

Parking is free if you manage to park on Rue de La Floride directly (there are only 20 spaces though). However the car park on the other side is cheap, and free after 6pm (I think).

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinnyMatchwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencestnazaire, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Ginny,

I have just read the comments you made on the tripadvisor website concerning your recent stay in the Holiday In Express in Saint Nazaire.

My team and I would like to thank you very much for this contribution towards our hotel.

We are very pleased that you appreciated the room, the location, the breakfast and the view in the evening.

You mentioned a problem however with the lack of shower gel in your bathroom. This should not have been the case and we will be careful to make sure it doesn't happen again.

We look forward to welcoming you again and making your stay as pleasant as possible.

Wishing you a good evening.

Best regards,

Jackie Torre
Service Review Client
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Nazaire hotels
1.7 mi away
Ibis Saint Nazaire Trignac
1.5 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Nazaire
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel De L'Europe
Comfort Hotel De L'Europe
#8 of 22 in Saint-Nazaire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel De La Plage
Best Western Hotel De La Plage
#6 of 22 in Saint-Nazaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Aquilon
Inter-Hotel Aquilon
#5 of 22 in Saint-Nazaire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brit Hotel Saint Nazaire Centre Gare
Brit Hotel Saint Nazaire Centre ...
#10 of 22 in Saint-Nazaire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire

Property: Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire
Address: 1 rue de la Floride, 44600, Saint-Nazaire, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Saint-Nazaire
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Nazaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire. You will find the best comfort and great hospitality at one of the most convenient locations in Saint Nazaire. A great stay and an unforgettable experience are waiting for you.Just 2 minutes by car from the shipyards STX, and just 1KM from the train station, the Hotel Holiday Inn Express is in a great location for those visiting SIDES, MAN DIESEL, EADS. Nantes Airport within 60 KM.Meet your colleagues around our bar (opened till 1:AM) and enjoy your favorite drink or our snacking menus with the view on the submarine base. You can also enjoy one of the 7 restaurants around the hotel (within 200 meters).We take care of your car with our private car park. A public car park is also at your disposal in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Nazaire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing