We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De La Plage
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Saint-Nazaire
Los Gatos, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

After a few days in Paris we came out to Saint-Marc sur Mer for a wedding. We loved the hotel, the beach, the location, the restaurant downstairs, the walkway along the ocean, everything. The first room we were in (ocean view) was at the third floor and felt very cramped, since you couldn't stand up in about a third of the room. We requested another room, and had a beautiful room, with a view of the ocean, almost from the bed, a small window in the bathroom, and beautiful styling. The room was small (and they have smaller rooms), but we were traveling with carry on only and it was not a problem. The bed was very comfy, no problems with sleeping whatsoever.

The staff was extremely helpful, both with tips on what to do and with helping to arrange our trip to the airport in Nantes. And they gave us coolers with ice so we could quickly cool down bottles of wine for a drink in the afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Traveler_from_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    109
    54
    26
    5
See reviews for
32
145
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This hotel (which can be a little hard to find while driving) is right on the beach. The restaurant serves delicious food which can be enjoyed while staring at the amazing views. We found the desk staff to be very helpful, they printed us directions to help us drive to the train station in Nantes.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Absolute gem of a hotel. Modern, clean, fantastic views and fantastic restaurant.
Would stay here again for double what I payed ( 79 Euro). Cannot recommend it more highly. Right on the beach, just like the film 'M.Hulot En Vacance'. If you love Hulot, you will adore this place. Hulot souvenirs are for sale in the lobby
Charming service, decor and ambience. Staff were very welcoming and attentive...I arrived after dark, bedraggled after a 6hr car trip from Bordeaux ( via Oradour Sur Glane), it was raining hard, and blowing a gale; As you enter the theme music from en vacance plays (magic)...immediately the receptionist asked whether I would like to eat, and made sure I had a place in a v.full restaurant (which is part of the hotel, and is obviously very popular) within 30 minutes.
Parking available at back of hotel ( about 10 spots).
The restaurant was superb, seafood specialities and fine dining, very extensive wine list and good AOCs from most of the surrounding departments/regions , quite well priced and excellent quality.
Room was cosy, clean, and well appointed - Hulot motifs adorn the walls. Room 111. No sea view from this room, but I was not disappointed.
Bathroom was plush, modern and clean....water pressure excellent.
Wifi was great, no dropouts - was able to make VOIP calls to Oz without issue.
Breakfast buffet was v.good - fruits, cereals, bottomless coffee, yoghurts, eggs - all self serve, but a host/hostess was there to help. Served in the same restaurant on the grnd floor . The views from the restaurant acroos the bay are fantastic.
In high season this place would be absolutely packed to the rafters, I have no doubt.
Do not hesitate, book it now !!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanExpatinSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

This is a perfectly placed hotel in a charming, small traditional seaside resort. It is beautifully furnished and designed, the staff are relaxed and friendly and the restaurant food is of a high standard. We missed having a fridge in the room, but other than that had no complaints. If you are a fan of Jacques Tati's character, Monsieur Hulot, this hotel and venue will be especially appealling. Check the website and see why! Would definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I booked this hotel solely because of a life time love of the film 'Msr Hulot's Holiday' and whilst the hotel has been modified somewhat it still oozes the original setting. Given all of the above the hotel was well presented and added to the experience, the evening meal on the Terrace was memorable and all in all was good value for money, do please watch the film before visiting

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaymaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Hotel was quite fully booked and we were only able to have a standard room to begin with which was very cramped and small, the Reception staff were very helpful and after one night managed to move us to a superior room which was completely different and very nice and spacious.

The breakfast was poor, very do it yourself , coffee not warm enough and jugs not kept full, not much choice of food and staff quite dis-interested.

We were also surprised to find that the bar/ cate was closed daily after lunch until 7pm in the evening and we were not able to order any drinks during that time, we would have liked to sit on the terrace and enjoy the view.

The hotel has a nice location and has been renovated well, we would return but would not eat breakfast there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sun&skifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

The reception staff were helpful and polite, the newly renovated hotel was clean and comfortable and the hotel's position is wonderful. Nothing left of Mr Hulot's holiday, sadly. The breakfasts were dire: no cups, empty bowls on the buffet table, mouldy bananas, empty coffee pots, no hot water for tea etc etc - we bought croissants and ate them in a local bar where good coffee was served. The bar staff were surly. We would recommend the hotel for its position and rooms but not for the breakfasts and bar staff. A complaint has remained unanswered six weeks on.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Nazaire
5.4 mi away
Ibis Saint Nazaire Trignac
4.9 mi away
Hotel du Beryl et Casino
Hotel du Beryl et Casino
#1 of 4 in Saint-Brevin-les-Pins
1,711 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Nazaire
4.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel De L'Europe
Comfort Hotel De L'Europe
#7 of 23 in Saint-Nazaire
64 reviews
3.2 mi away
Escale Oceania Pornichet La Baule
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De La Plage

Property: Best Western Hotel De La Plage
Address: 37 rue du Commandant Charcot | Plage de Monsieur Hulot, 44600, Saint-Nazaire, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Saint-Nazaire
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Saint-Nazaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De La Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Plage, the setting for Jacques Tati’s famous film Les Vacances de Monsieur Hulot (‘Monsieur Hulot’s Holiday’). Set in the village of Saint Marc sur Mer, it is the only hotel on the Guérande peninsula that is right on the beach, looking out across the Atlantic Ocean. Completely refurbished in 2008, the hotel offers rooms that combine charm and comfort, each oneunique, decorated in different shades of colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel De La Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Nazaire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing