We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De La Plage
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Saint-Nazaire
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location, literally on the beach and in the village of st Marc sur mer. We found it by chance, looking for somewhere to stay for two nights close to the beach. There is free parking, but quite limited, we had to wait for about 30 mins to get a space. There are some spaces on the street but with the market taking place Sunday morning we were advised not to park there. The hotel staff were very friendly, the girl at reception moved her car (and she double parked!) so we could take her space as she was on the night shift - you can't beat that.
We had breakfast here one morning,incredibly expensive, €12 each for a croissant and some meat. Not advisable!
Rooms are quite small, longer than two nights would get quite frustrating. We had a room at the front of the hotel, with the window closed you can't hear any noise. No air con!! Quite warm in the room.
Wifi is free and good speed.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, good location (we didn't move the car for two days), plenty of restaurants close by, beach right there, what more can you ask for!

Room Tip: Don't get the breakfast! A room facing the beach might allow you to sleep with the window open a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishtraveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    109
    54
    26
    5
See reviews for
32
145
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We did not pay extra for the terrace with the sea view but had a room on the 3rd floor with a sea view. Wow ... to go to sleep with the sound of the waves was wonderful. We had on-site parking (there is some at the front, and more around the back) and there is a on-site bar and restaurant on the same site. You are literally on the beach. Room was good but really at the end of the day the view made it. We did not eat at the hotel but the restaurant seemed really popular and we were there on a weeknight. It is quite a bit away from St Nazaire which is actually a good thing and is really in a place called St Marc sur mer. We would go back anytime. Beach was family friendly and there were walking trails around as well.

Room Tip: Get a beach view ... worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcjctrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This hotel was well placed on the beach. We were a couple and loved the beach aspect and also thought it would be perfect for a family. There is on site parking and a very popular restaurant attached to the hotel, with views of the beach and open sea, lovely. Our room was cosy, comfortable and nicely decorated in a modern style, the bathroom was well appointed and again the decor with up to date, however, the shower was rather pathetic and water not very warm, I ran a bath and then abandoned it as it was too chilly for me. But this is the only criticism of the hotel and we would definately recommend it. The staff of the hotel and bar/ restaurant were helpful and friendly. The surrounding area had good off road walks along the coast, but if you are looking for night life this isn't the place to be. A couple of bars and a few restaurants. it is a small town and had the usual boulangerie and small super market. The weather was bad while we visited, but I expect if the weather was better there would have been more of a buzz. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: There were some rooms with a sea view they would be super, however I expect they may have been a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tachikara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great location, right on the beach. Very friendly staff and very clean all round. Room was pretty small but had everything I needed and had a very large private terrace looking right onto the beach. I really recommend paying extra for one of the rooms with a terrace. Parking is pretty limited at the hotel but available in the vacinity.

Room Tip: Definitely pay for a terrace room or failing that at least a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Extremely nice and helpful staff. Fantastic location. Pay the extra for a sea view you will not feel let down!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbarkworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Excellent service, very kind help before and during the stay. The beach is quite nice and the restaurant facing the sea is also quite delicious. I tasted the first eels of the season.

Sleeping in Mr Hulot's hotel was also quite an experience as I had this idea in my head for a long time.

The room we had was small but clean and the terrace was huge.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ventilation on the West of the hotel, it is really loud until the kitchen closes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

As a start of our holidays around the Loire we stayed in this hotel which we had found by chance when surfing the Internet. It's really a great place to be, with a perfect location. The room we had was a bit small but with all comfort and facilities needed and in long with expectations.

What is worth highlighting is the friendliness and competence of the hotel staff which made our stay a really positive experience.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Nazaire
5.4 mi away
Ibis Saint Nazaire Trignac
4.9 mi away
Hotel du Beryl et Casino
Hotel du Beryl et Casino
#1 of 4 in Saint-Brevin-les-Pins
1,713 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Saint Nazaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Nazaire
4.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel De L'Europe
Comfort Hotel De L'Europe
#7 of 23 in Saint-Nazaire
65 reviews
3.2 mi away
Escale Oceania Pornichet La Baule
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De La Plage

Property: Best Western Hotel De La Plage
Address: 37 rue du Commandant Charcot | Plage de Monsieur Hulot, 44600, Saint-Nazaire, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Saint-Nazaire
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Saint-Nazaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De La Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Plage, the setting for Jacques Tati’s famous film Les Vacances de Monsieur Hulot (‘Monsieur Hulot’s Holiday’). Set in the village of Saint Marc sur Mer, it is the only hotel on the Guérande peninsula that is right on the beach, looking out across the Atlantic Ocean. Completely refurbished in 2008, the hotel offers rooms that combine charm and comfort, each oneunique, decorated in different shades of colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel De La Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Nazaire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing