We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great campsite for a child friendly holiday”
Review of La Yole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Yole
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great campsite for a child friendly holiday”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We've just got back from a 3 week tour of France & stayed here for 6 nights. The reception staff were amazing, helpful & friendly (especially as they helped us out as we had arrived a night early!!). We were in a touring caravan. The pitches at the bottom of the site were best-ours was fully serviced, large (caravan plus awning plus pod, gazebo & car easily fitted), by the amenity block which was clean & functional (& had toilet seats which was a major bonus having been down to the south!!) & had both sun & shade from the partition hedges/trees. The water & waste required long pipes to reach from the points on the pitch.
The pool was lovely if a little chilly with plenty of comfortable sun beds which seemed to flow freely being available through the day-no need to get up early to get one. There was a slide that my son enjoyed & a warmer indoor pool & jacuzzi.
We found the bar expensive & evening entertainment lame but happily played cards at our pitch anyway. We didn't bother paying for wifi as others said access was limited & could only be accessed in the bar on one device per payment. The games room with pool & table football tables was a bonus.
My son joined in with the kids club & really enjoyed it. The playground facilities were great.
The site itself felt very safe & security at the gate was good.
The on site shop was very expensive so we didn't use it but there are local supermarkets.
My main down point to this site (& this is uncontrollable by the site) was that it was so British!! The seafront locally is like Blackpool & way too touristy for me with arcades & pedal cars etc & the prices were high. St jean de monts village is beautiful.
So in summary, if you have kids & want a predominantly British campsite with good size pitches & decent amenities then this is a fantastic site to go to. You'll have a fab & relaxing time in lovely surroundings.

Room Tip: Choose a pitch at bottom of site as they are bigger & more spaced out
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry H, Directeur général at La Yole, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
hello, thanks for your full details review, i think that will help people to choose our site. Just for information , the bottom pitches are already fully booked for the period of 28 july till 25 august 2014 !!!! Have a nice end of summer. Bye Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    66
    32
    2
    8
See reviews for
139
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights this August with our two boys. Looked good on first arriving and the staff in reception were wonderful but when we visited the bar/restaurant we were met with some very rude staff, so rude, we never returned. The first night was a sleepless one, being awoken by drunken youngsters. When we got up in the morning, we found vomit all along the road next to us, we asked nicely if it could be cleaned up but this never happened and it was there for our whole stay after I was unsuccessful in cleaning it up myself. The prices in the shop were ridiculously pricey and you couldn't wash up unless you bought a plug from their shop. Showers, not great. The pitches are nice but its very noisy, good for the kids but not for us.

Room Tip: Only go here if you are a night owl and don't mind a bit of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillett-booty76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry H, Directeur général at La Yole, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
hello, I'm surprised with your comment .... first of all I've never been informed of this "vomit story", otherwise my staff would be sent straight away to do it, but maybe it was a misunderstood. Plus , we are a family camp and avoid a maximum to have youngsters or to much teenagers....Concerning the restaurant staff and prices at the shop, it's a question of point of view ; because , if you read the previous comment they all said the opposit. To finish, regardings the plugs, unbelievebly, we have so many taken, we have to decide to stop replcing them. I'm sorry your stay was not to your expectation, and wish a good end of summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just back from a wonderful time at La Yole. Our Garmin SatNav found the campsite with no problems at all.

The site itself is a good size ideal for families with younger children, with a large play area ( which closes around 10pm ). The pool(s) are more than adequate, with an indoor pool, a toddler pool, a waterslide & a larger pool with loungers and chairs all around. As other reviewers state, Men / Boys must wear speedo style swimmers for the pool - but we read reviews of many other campsites in Vendee & pretty much all are the same.

We took our own Tent - Montana with awning & had more than enough space on the generously sized pitch.

The Bar is ok - with evening entertainment which is the sites only failing, however it does quiten down at a reasonable time of night.

Toilets & showers were very clean for a campsite & the showers were never an issue for us.

The staff were all very friendly, spoke excellent English (despite our poor attempts at French) & were extremely helpful advising on Days out / Local beaches / supermarkets etc

In the area there are many wonderful beaches, just go explore - you never seem to be far away from a beautiful beach which all have facilities. Driving around either North or South Vendee you find many lovely small towns which are well worth exploring.

There are many attractions in the area, just ask at reception & they'll let you know which are the best & good value for money.

One tip - avoid the supermarkets on a Monday, they're chaotic !!!

Thank you La Yole - we will definitly be back !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinandKaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry H, Directeur général at La Yole, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
hello, thanks for your reviews. We will definetly wait you next year !! have an excellent end of summer. We remind everybody that we start our booking for next year in November !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at La Yole with keycamp for 4 nights from 3 August 2013
I've never been any where like this before and was a little daunted when we first arrived as there was a lot of hustle and bustle. We have 2 children and where staying in a static caravan and it really was perfect for our family - lots of facilities and space outside for the children to play - close to a lovely beach that can get very busy but you can always find a quiet spot if you prefer - if you walk far enough. There was a shop and bike hire available on sight and lots of activities for the whole family in the local area. there are also some lovely towns further afield St Giles- de-Croix has a great market to explore and the children loved all the boats.We didn't use the pools and we're not into evening entertainment so couldn't comment on those aspects of it. There was a resteraunt and take away which wasn't unreasonably priced- we tried the takeaway and the pizzas where delicious. We really grew to like this place and hope to return in the future :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hannahk8k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry H, Directeur général at La Yole, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
hello, yes I hope that next time you will spend more time to our campsite. Bye and see you next year maybe ?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have just returned from la yole,our 6th visit to this site.Lovely large sunny pitches,friendly ,helpful staff,beautifull pool complex,we ate in the resturant several times and always found the food and service to be of a very high standard and resonable prices! The area around the Vendee is stunning,amazing beaches and loads to do with the kids,in fact our youngest cried when we had to leave!! we will be back next year!!! Thank you LaYole once again for another brilliant holiday!!xxx

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry H, Directeur général at La Yole, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
hello, brillant review ! thanks, Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here in our motorhome with our son and my partners family with their two sons stayed in a Canvas Holidays tent. The pitches for motorhomes/caravans are amongst the best we have had in France, very green and sheltered and large enough for our rig and a large tent. we had water, drainage and electricity and were near the toilet/shower block with others a 1m cycle away if busy. However unlike some sites they seem to allow large groups to pitch adjacent to each other -we had 4 families all eating/drinking together luckily for us just on our last day as they said they were there for 18 days.There is a large pool complex which we hardly used preferring to cycle to one of the beaches. Nor did we use the restaurant and bar preferring to do our own thing but they seemed popular and busy. The one downside, the beaches are about 15m away by bike although there are several to choose from. There is a strong undertow however. Also the entire area is very built up along the front with amusement parks, fun fairs and the like a bit like a French Blackpool. However behind the main drag there is a strip of cool forest with cycle paths that you can take to both St Jean (great covered food market and nice square) Sion la Plage and on as far as St Gilles which has a lovely harbour with restaurants. There is a lot of nightlife 20m walk away from the site with pubs and clubs which our older teenagers escaped to till the early hours when the bar shut. Probably best for younger families for peace of mind with everything on site including a good shop and bakery

Room Tip: Ask for a pitch in the newer area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry H, Directeur général at La Yole, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
hello, I will ask you to do the next touristic brochure ! It's excellent, you gave all the details people might need. Have a nice end of summer , bye, Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at la yole july 19th - 27th. After a long journey we arrived to a very friendly and clean site. James (keycamps) welcomed us and showed us to our caravan. It was rigt next to the swimming pool and bar. The children had a fantastic holiday and the pool was perfect for them with lots to do!! The bar and restaurant was lovely and food was really good and value for money and the staff were brilliant. James was a brilliant rep and answered all questions and queries quickly and efficiently.

Security was good and the gates to the site were locked on an evening and opened up by 08.15 the following morning.

I was dissapointed that my 3 young children were asked to take off a t shirt in the pool that I put on to protect them from the sun. I searched high and low for a lycra top for them to wear and couldnt find any. I didnt expect to spend my holiday searching for a t shirt for the swimming pool. Think it would be advisable for the firms to tell people that they cannot wear anything other than lycra in the swimming pool. Many, many people were left stuck as they did not own a pair of speedos. Bermuda shorts that most british men and boys purchase are not allowed in the pool. I had to leave the pool with my children in the height of the heat between 12 and 3 as wearing a t shirt was a problem!

The only thing I could suggest to make it better - and thats to make up the beds. After 2 days of travelling the last thing I wanted to do it the blaring heat was to make up 5 beds!!!!

All in all we had an amazing holiday and would definately return to la yole again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mammyfortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry H, Directeur général at La Yole, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
hello, we all wait you in 2014 for another lovely holidays.
I wish you a merry Christmas ! it's coming soon now !!! bye, Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-de-Monts
4.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Atlantic Thalasso
Best Western Hotel Atlantic Thal...
#2 of 17 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
7.2 mi away
Camping La Foret
Camping La Foret
#1 of 38 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riez a la Vie
Riez a la Vie
#4 of 34 in Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Dormant
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Dormant
#7 of 38 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.4 mi away
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson
#8 of 38 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
23.9 mi away
Camping Bel Air
Camping Bel Air
#2 of 6 in Chateau-d'Olonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Yole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Yole

Property: La Yole
Address: 13 Chemin des Bosses, 85160 Saint-Jean-de-Monts, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Saint-Jean-de-Monts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Yole 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping la Yole is a quiet family camping located 2 minutes from the beach, on the edge of the forest of St Jean de Monts and near the port of St Gilles Croix de Vie. You will find in this site with all amenities: pool with waterslide, indoor heated pool with hot tub, gym, bar, restaurant, food, tennis, huge playground. In a natural environment we offer sites for tents, caravans, motorhomes, the mobile home for rent in 2, 3 or 4 bedrooms. Finally, the site will also be the starting point for many bike paths. See you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, CampingAndCo, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Yole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Yole Saint-Jean-De-Monts, Vendee, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing