We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find better : )”
Review of La Yole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Yole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This year, 2014, will be our third visit to La Yole. We go to France for 3/4 weeks staying at 2/3 sites each year and La Yole is the only one we go back to, we travel with a large RV and need large, fully serviced pitches and with La Yole we can be assured of this. Thierry and his team are very accomodating and are always helpful. The shop has all the usual needs (although a little dear) and the fresh bread in the morning is a perfect way to start the day, if you need to do a large shop, then you have plenty of supermarkets in the area. A good pool, bar and restaurant area are the focal point of the village with entertainment most evennings and, with bar prices not being too high, it"s a nice place to sit and end the day with new (or old) friends. Looking forward to this summer, a bientot a La Yole !

Room Tip: Take a look at the plan on the website and ask staff at La Yole, they"ll advise where is best f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PabloHGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry H, Directeur général at La Yole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

nice review, wouahh !!! so we will see you during this summer at la Yole. Make like them, try to come at la Yole once and you might love it and come again !!! We are not the best , but we do our best to satisfied you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Spent a week in april on this site will definately be returning.
We were greeted by Thierry when we arrived booked in quickly and brought to our mobile home.
The mobile home was in an excellent location on site with plenty of shade spotlessly clean with plenty of equipment.

The site was quiet which is the usual for this time of year but the indoor pool was open and the bar/resteraunt was open.The couple who ran the bar were very friendly the food was excellent and both bar and toilets were spotless.

The childrens play area was fairly big with plenty of swings,slides and climbing frames.

La Yole is in a very central location in Saint Jean De Mont, about 1 mile from the beach and there are cycle paths through the fores nearby.

The promenade of Saint Jean is a five minute away which has plenty of excellent resteraunt's and shops etc.

Overall I would highly recomend La Yole and will definately be going back.
Many thanks for a very relaxing week.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fkgorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry H, Directeur général at La Yole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

yes we are a family site, calm and near many many many flats cycling paths. For those who wish, we've got a bike hire on site with all kinds of bikes, (adults, kids, ...), kids trailers, baby seats.
To finish, with your bike , you will need just 5 or 6 minutes to reach the beach !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is about the seventh time we have stayed at this site now. We go with my wife's sister and their family and the age range of the kids are from 7 through to 20.
We have our own 6 berth caravan and the Connors have a very large family tent.
The pitches are a very good size with electric hook up, water and waste water drainage on the pitch.
The pitches are big enough for our caravan, awning and still plenty of room for outside dining tables and chairs for all 11 of us on one pitch.
hey also have a range of static vans and other operators on the site if you don't have your own gear.
There is a great choice of shaded and open pitches, an excellent children's park, 2 outside (and 1) indoor pools. There is a bar/restaurant at the pool complex where you can have snacks, drinks and meals.
You are within 5 mins drive/15mins walk to the nearest beach and the are some amazing beaches north and south of the site.
St Jean is no more than 10mins drive and it has an amazing beach as well as great bars, restaurants and shops.
There is 3 large Super U (like tesco) stores within 5 mins drive where you can do your grocery shopping and the site has a shop and bakers where you can get the daily basisc and english papers.
The site has a great kids club but it is on a first come first serve basis when busy.
Shower rooms are plentiful.
It is very safe, especially for the younger kids - up to 16 and there are bars within a short walk for the older kids.
It's a great and safe place for a family holiday and there is lots to see and do within no more than 30 mins drive north/south of the site.

Room Tip: Book early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry H, Directeur général at La Yole, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

hello,
thanks for your superb comment ! i would not do better and I wish you will have another beautiful holiday on the camping this year.
We've put new games on the kids playground, in 3 sanitary some "familial showers cabins" (you can go 1 adult and 1 kid for example), we changed the recption decoration (more fashion !).
Have a nice sunny week-end as it is at la yole actually, see you. Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

If you are thinking of booking La Yole just do it you will have the most amazing time ! We booked it all direct, took our own tent & drove from Manchester via Calais. We stopped in France 3hr drive from Calais on way there but drove home on way back without an over night stop. We booked a larger pitch & payed a bit more but worth it. Kids will have a ball & meet so many friends. The weather was hot & sunny most days & the beaches near by are all amazing ! We will hopefully be back very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ISAlou777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry H, Directeur général at La Yole, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

hello, thanks for your comment in the name of all my team.
If you read this comment, don't lose time and as the writer said : BOOK NOW !!!! and don't hesitate to call us or to ask any question by mail, we will answer you.
Bye
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We booked this site with Keycamp and had a fab 2 weeks in July 2013. This was our first experience of both being in a static caravan and going to this part of France. The Vendee is a wonderful area with miles of sandy beaches and loads to keep the children entertained. We travelled from Portsmouth to St Malo and the drive to the site was really straightforward. We arrived in the afternoon and received a very warm welcome from Nicholas on reception and James the Keycamp rep. The location of the campsite is great, only a 5 minute cycle to the beach and the local supermarket. Our three children (5, 7 and 10) loved the pool complex and the play park. They did enjoy the kids club too. We were very lucky with the weather, only a couple of wet days out of 3 weeks! After such a great holiday we’re considering going back this year. I would no bother booking with keycamp again though as the site owner has its own caravans which are brand new and about 50% cheaper than what keycamp charge you!

Room Tip: Book direct with the site and save
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann-jon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry H, Directeur général at La Yole, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

hello, if your booking is not done actuamlly, we still have place and promotion on our website !
For your information, Nicholas is back at the reception for this season like most part of my team.
So , I already say : "WELCOME BACK TO LA YOLE";
have a nice week-end
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at La Yole in July 2013 for 4 nights after 6 nights in the Dordogne. We are a young professional couple on a bit of a road trip so perhaps have a different view to other people.

I worked at La Yole for Keycamp for a whole summer in 2004 so know it and the area very well. I have to say that what was once a lush campsite has become slightly run-down. The trees have been cut down or pruned to the extreme and a lot of the pitches seemed dry and dusty. Having said that the new area over the back has been very well done. If only they could do the same to the older parts!

We stayed this time in a Eurocamp Safari Tent which was AMAZING! Although because they are new, people walk past rubbernecking to look inside. I would thoroughly recommend these, especially with children. Very nice and comfortable.

The bar and restaurant were ok but there was a French DJ churning out hardcore dance at 8pm when everyone else was trying to watch the end of the Tour de France! Food was mediocre, both the takeaway and the restaurant as we tried both.

The pool is nice and refreshing although it can get very busy. Great little toddler area and the slide was in constant use. The lifeguards seemed slightly harsh but it worked. I was also disappointed to see that the path to the beach down the side of Les Genets was blocked up. We walked 20 mins to the beach but got overrun with flies so gave up after an hour. Others did the same.

Toilet facilities were always very clean and tidy. We were near one of the new blocks but all we went to were very good. Only issue is the shower water was very HOT. Not great with sunburn! Ended up going to a different block in the end.

We went to St Jean de Monts one evening to try out the ChiChi and the ice cream which were great but it's a bit neon-tastic and garish - the Blackpool of the West Coast. We also went to the Puy du Fou evening show Ciniscenie which is fantastic - you have to go! The closest you will get to the Olympic Opening Ceremony. It's 1hr 30mins away but totally worth it.

On the one hand this is a great little family park and they are investing in new areas, new blocks and play facilities. People come back time and time again and they must do for a reason. I think it is one of the nicer ones in the area so if you like the area, La Yole is the place for you.

However, I wouldn't go back. Maybe it's because I spent so long there I don't know, but the area and the site didn't compare to the Dordogne! Eurocamp/Keycamp and Canvas used to run a great kids club but both have disappeared. I don't know if that was pressure from the park or a business decision but the lack of one shows. We saw a lot of empty pitches at the end of July.

So it gets 4*, perhaps out of nostalgia slightly, but it is still a good decent park. If you want a gentle introduction to campsites, this is the one for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidcross100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have just returned from our annual summer holiday at La Yole.

The fact that people return year after year- this is the second consecutive year we stayed at this 4star campsite, really says everything….. we met a number of people that have chosen La Yole on many, consecutive years, one family for the last 9 years in a row!

Thierry Hirschmann, Director General of the site, together with all his staff, provide a personal but professional service, they are extremely obliging and always have a welcoming smile.
We would particularly make mention of Natacha, Alice, Cyril & Nicholas.

The facilities on the site, including the pool, are very good and the food at the Bar/Restaurant is excellent. The restaurant staff speak good English- slightly galling sometimes when we are trying to practice our French-please note, this is not to be taken as a negative comment.
The entertainment has a French slant, but you are in France!

There are a number of washrooms on site providing shower and toilet facilities- the smaller facility on the newer, sunnier part of the site- which is our preferred area, can be a little busy at times and perhaps could benefit from more than one clean per day during these periods.

The site continues to go through development under the present owners/management team with evident changes from 2012 seeing a number of mobile homes/Safari Tents operated by holiday companies, Eurocamp for example, being re-sited where previously touring caravans pitches were available- personally we sincerely hope that the “mobile homes “do not take over, so to speak, in this area of the site!

We very much look forward to spending another enjoyable summer holiday at La Yole in 2014.

Room Tip: We took our own touring caravan and the large pitches in the newer part of the site are fully servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rowton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry H, Directeur général at La Yole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

hello, thanks for your review. and you welcome back ! Nicolas et Natacha are also here for 2014 !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Jean-de-Monts hotels
7.2 mi away
Camping La Foret
Camping La Foret
#1 of 40 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
159 reviews
2.4 mi away
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson
#9 of 40 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
279 reviews
2.3 mi away
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Dormant
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Dormant
#10 of 40 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Atlantic Thalasso
Best Western Hotel Atlantic Thal...
#2 of 17 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
1,317 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Babord a Tribord
Hotel Babord a Tribord
#5 of 17 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
78 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant L'Atlantique
Hotel Restaurant L'Atlantique
#7 of 17 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Yole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Yole

Address: 13 Chemin des Bosses, 85160 Saint-Jean-de-Monts, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Saint-Jean-de-Monts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
Price Range: £43 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Yole 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping la Yole is a quiet family camping located 2 minutes from the beach, on the edge of the forest of St Jean de Monts and near the port of St Gilles Croix de Vie. You will find in this site with all amenities: pool with waterslide, indoor heated pool with hot tub, gym, bar, restaurant, food, tennis, huge playground. In a natural environment we offer sites for tents, caravans, motorhomes, the mobile home for rent in 2, 3 or 4 bedrooms. Finally, the site will also be the starting point for many bike paths. See you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Yole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Yole Saint-Jean-De-Monts, Vendee, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing