We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camping La Foret
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in mid August with a 6 and 4 yr old. The site is great, the owners provide an excellent service and a very clean site. It is a small site with lots of families but you're never too far away from the children playing and has a really relaxed friendly atmosphere. The pool is small, but never really overcrowded and great for the kids to swim in. it has a small shop and

For us the real bonus of this site was the location, it's excellent, having arrived by train to a nearby station (Challans) and a short taxi ride to the site, we had no car to get around. We had originally intended to hire a car but to be honest due to the location of the site, its very close to miles of cyclepaths and about a 100m walk to the bus stop, meant we never needed too and i think we probably enjoyed the holiday more because of it.

You can cycle along fairly flat, safe (by that i mean no cars, although some people do fly along the tracks and bells aren't always used) routes which take you to miles of good beaches through fantastic pine forests, its entirely up to you how far you want to go. Just one thing, if you're hiring check the bike before you set off, we had a few dodgy ones, which to be honest once we reported the fault were replaced or repaired straight away.

The bus service from the stop at the end of the road takes you to Notre Dame or Saint Jean de Monts for 50c per person per trip and is a reliable, regular service, running from early morning to around 10pm at night so very handy for trips to markets and nights out.

So ditch the car, get on your bike and have yourself a great time exploring the area. I'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed with eurocamp in a tent but booking direct in a mobile home might be a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dabties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laforet85, Propriétaire at Camping La Foret, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear guest,
We are realy happy to read your long review.
We constat that you have realy enjoyed your stay and this is the best thing to read for our team.
We are particulaly happy with your comment about the cycle route and the way to get holidays without a car.
Thank you very much for the time need for the review andsee you next time... in a Mobil-home ;-)
Sincerly
Greg and Wiebke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

This summer my wife and I enjoyed our 12th superb holiday at Camping La Foret. In past years we have written reviews explaining why this little campsite is our favourite, so what more can we say, beyond noting that standards are as high as ever?
It occurs to us that not all holiday-makers are looking for the same attributes in a holiday and it is possible that Camping La Foret may not meet everyone's expectations, no matter how glowing the reviews. So, to help avoid disappointment we would suggest that readers of these reviews should ask themselves what qualities they are drawn to when they are scanning holiday brochures. If their eyes are drawn to words like "large", "lively", "exciting nightlife", "organised activities", "English bar with large screen TV", then perhaps we would hesitate to recommend Camping La Foret to them. However, if you are drawn to words such as "friendly", "family-run", "uncrowded", "peaceful", "walking", "cycling", "local markets", "beautiful beaches", then we would wholeheartedly recommend this lovely little campsite to you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Brian190799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laforet85, Propriétaire at Camping La Foret, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear all,
You have said everything about La Forêt Campsite...!!!
Amazing, clear and so kind... like you.
MERCI ENORMEMENT!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 12 nights at the end of August with our 8 year old son. We hired a pitch and took our own camping gear. There is no doubt that this is a gem of a campsite! Kids clubs and sprawling sites are a thing of my nightmares and this site couldn't be further from that. It's a small, well kept site, with a swimming pool and kids play area. There are bikes for hire and there is direct access to a beautiful pine forest which is amazing for strolls and bike riding and also to a fabulous beach. What more do you need in the way of entertainment??
There are restaurants, takeaways and shops within walking distance and Notre Dame Du Monts and Saint Jean De Monts are also easily accesible, either by bike or if you have a little more time, by foot. There is also a takeaway on site. You do have to order the food in advance, but there's a good variety and the food, such as rotisserie cooked whole chicken and mussels was well cooked and delicious. It is also very good value for money - a whole chicken, 2 portions of chips, a bottle of chilled Muscadet, 2 icecreams and a salad for less than 30 euros!
The owners are amazing. Very friendly, helpful and extremely hard working.
The site was full of like minded people and was safe enough that you could confidently let your children go off and play.
The pitches are a reasonable size and certainly our pitch was well situated and extremely private (number 36)
To sum up, if your idea of a good campsite is discos, bars and kids clubs, then avoid this site like the plague! We, however fell in love with Camping La Foret and with the whole area. We were very sad to leave and we will definitely be back in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed on pitch 36. It was a good size and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meljol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laforet85, Propriétaire at Camping La Foret, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear guest, your reviews is simply fantastic and very kind for us.
We rae so happy when our guest enjoyed their holidays: it's realy the more important.
That the reason why we work so hard.
You are also right, the pine forest and the beach is simply amazing.
We will stay a small and quite campsite, we promess you :-)
Thank you again and see you a next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed the last 2 weeks of August 2013. Yes it is a nice campsite with friendly and helpful owners as others have said. The wash blocks are well maintained with hand soap and toilet paper. The pool was clean and a good size and we were so lucky to have fantastic weather. The little shop does a take away menu as well as providing bread and croissants in a morning (order the night before). We had the Roti chicken and chips one night which was really good and a nice break from cooking! (Again must order the night before or in the morning when you collect your bread and it closes at 8pm) We stayed in a Eurocamp tent and this unfortunately could have been better. It was a very sandy pitch and we struggled with sand constantly in the tent. Because it is a small campsite the tents are also situated back to back. This meant we could hear absolutely everything from the tent behind. And if your neighbours are not at all quiet then it can be frustrating especially when you have young children who just want to get to sleep and your neighbour snores or likes to watch noisy films on a computer without headphones. Also it seemed to be a great sport for many people to throw as many glass bottles in the recycle bin very early in a morning ( 6 am anyone? ) We thought there must have been a competition going on that we hadn't been told about... We were also unfortunate to get a very dark pitch overhung with trees which meant very little sun morning and evenings. The cycle routes through the forest are very numerous but sandy/rocky and with steep hills and drops with potholes and children under 10 would struggle to cycle on them for very long. We witnessed a bad accident whilst cycling where someone had fallen off their bike and an ambulance had arrived. Strong, fit adults should be ok though, otherwise stick to the main roads which do have cycle lanes for the most part but will require basic road sense. There are many lovely little seaside towns in the surrounding area to visit especially Saint Gilles Croix de Vie which has a fantastic beach, good for boogie boarding and nice restaurants. Overall we would recommend the campsite as a good base for the area, but feel that Eurocamp needs to ensure on this site that their pitches are better maintained for example cutting trees back and trimming thorny hedges (ouch!). The tent could have been cleaner when we arrived and being someone who does not snore, have a voice like a foghorn, or go on a camping holiday to watch action films late at night, it would have been nicer, (and quieter), to have had more than a few strides between tents!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ButterflyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed August 2013 for a week, fantastic small site for couples and familes. We had a great pitch very near entrance wihich was lively during the day, come 10.00hrs the quiet policy works well and we always had a good nights sleep. This family run site is well laid out with divided pitches some with more room than others and some with more shade than others. Close to forrest, beach and traffic free cycle path. The owners are in a word fantastic and are always on hand to assit as we found out when our broke down. The loos, showers and wash areas were always immaculately clean. Snack was good, local shops and restuarants not far if you were wanting something other than a snack. Site can provide bread, milk, eggs and yummy ices. Not that easy to find on first visit, 4 other families plus the local breakdown service had issues finding the site, recommend that you check and re-check sat nav as the road does not appear on all sat navs I think might be best use GPS location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laforet85, Propriétaire at Camping La Foret, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear family,
Thank you for your time and your very nice review on Tripadvisor.
We are happy of your good stay and will be so happy to welcome you a next time. Now you now where is situted the campsite and you d'ont need GPS anymore ;-)
Thank you again for you stay and review.
Greg and Wiebke... and all the team of la Forêt who works hard for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed for 1 week in July/August 2013 - two families with a pitch each, although we booked in January we could not get 2 adjacent pitches but that was no problem.
The site and facilities are spotless, staff very helpful and the owners charming.
Location is closer to Notre-Dame-de-Monts, about 1km from the town center, it is in fact about 6km from Saint-Jean-de-Monts. There is a supermarket and several bakeries in Notre-Dame-de-Monts, a gGood market in Saint-Jean-de-Monts and lots of places to eat/and drink also.
We really liked the beach which was a 10 minute walk away from the site, there are numerous cycle paths through the pine forests.
The only thing which was an issue was the road noise from the D38, we did not read all the reviews and found out the hard way that the pitches located alongside the rear wall of the site (19, 20, 22, 23 and 26) backed onto the main road, being in a tent we could hear every vehicle and lorries caused the walls of the tent to move. This may not be such an issue if you are in a caravan or mobile home but it was noisy.
The stay however was great and we enjoyed the site very much.

Room Tip: See comments about pitches next to main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McCeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laforet85, Propriétaire at Camping La Foret, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear guest, your review is very nice and we are realy happy that you enjoyed your stay here.
It's true that in a tent, the pitches along the D38 can be a problem during the high season. For this reason we advertise the guest alway before to confirme the booking.
However, you are right, many repeat guest chose these pitches because they are nice and big but usualy, these guest have amotorhome or caravan.
We hoppe to see you next season and if you book earlier, we will do our best to propose a larger choice of pitch ;-).
Thank you again.
Greg and Wiebke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Superb clean campsite. Took a short while to find it when we arrived!
Nice reception, snack bar, pool.

Table tennis.

Pool table.

Pool.

Close to a fantasic beach.

Small, compact site.

We'll be back!

Maybe the only thing it is lacking is an area where children can play.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bimeycharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Jean-de-Monts hotels
7.2 mi away
La Yole
La Yole
#4 of 40 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
248 reviews
5.1 mi away
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson
#9 of 40 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
279 reviews
5.3 mi away
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Dormant
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Dormant
#10 of 40 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Atlantic Thalasso
Best Western Hotel Atlantic Thal...
#2 of 17 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
1,317 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Babord a Tribord
Hotel Babord a Tribord
#5 of 17 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
78 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant L'Atlantique
Hotel Restaurant L'Atlantique
#7 of 17 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping La Foret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Foret

Address: 190 Chemin de la Rive, 85160 Saint-Jean-de-Monts, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Saint-Jean-de-Monts
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
Price Range: £37 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the domain Pays de Monts forest and benefiting from a direct access to the Pont d'Yeu beach (facing the Yeu island), our property / campsite is famous for its friendly atmosphere and its ideal geographical location, for those wishing to discover the surrounding territory and the activities it offers. La Forêt campsite is equipped with a swimming pool and a wading pool, both heated (from May until September) and south-facing. You will be able to use the numerous deckchairs to relax, easily looking after your young children or enjoying the view over the domain forest at the same time. The sanitary facilities offer individual shower cubicles with walk-in showers in a top-end comfort that will delight the most demanding campers as far as cleanliness is concerned. The site is watched over in daytime and nightime and its setting reassures all the families whether they have children or not ... Not only a first-aid kit and a defibrillator are within easy reach, but also a first-aider remains on site. Making noise is prohibited from 11 p.m to 8 a.m for the well-being of all. The size of the place (61 pitches) enables us to guaranty individualized service and conviviality, though never being intrusive. You will appreciate the intimacy that each plot offers, whether you are renting or staying on a pitch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Camping La Foret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping La Foret Saint-Jean-De-Monts, Vendee, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing