We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camping La Foret

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping La Foret
Certificate of Excellence
Mold
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have just returned from 10 wonderful nights camping with Eurocamp at La Foret and would return tomorrow if we could! We have 15 years camping experience in the UK with our own gear, but this was the first time we've done France or Eurocamp.

The site is just gorgeous,and very well run, the owners and staff are so welcoming and helpful, and the local area is lovely. The facilities on site are second to none, the wash block has just been refurbished, and was always spotlessly clean, the showers were excellent and there were plenty of washing up sinks. The pool although not heated was just right for an afternoon dip to cool off (29 degrees most of our stay!) there were plenty of sunbeds and again the whole pool area was immaculate. We even had it to ourselves on quite a few occasions. The snack bar was great for a good sized portion of chips (and very tasty too) to go with our evening BBQ's, and the rest of the food served there was of an excellent standard and reasonably priced - although we only ate there once. The Pizza van that comes on a tuesday evening was also great for an alternative, very tasty and well priced too. The whole atmosphere on the site was so relaxed and friendly.

The tent itself was great, with everything you need and more. The best thing though was the beds, it was so nice to wake up after a good nights sleep in a proper bed instead of finding your bum on the floor because the airbed has gone down!!!

The beaches in the area are beautiful and at this time of year so quiet, it was lovely to go for an after dinner stroll through the forest and find yourself on a stunning beach with not a soul to be seen for miles!!

Merci Beaucoup to Greg, Weibke and their team, and Phil (the eurocamp rep - who was fab!!) for working so hard to run such a perfect little camp site. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laforet85, Propriétaire at Camping La Foret, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your time and your nice review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Camping la Forêt.
We will continue to do our best for our guest and invest again for your confort (this year with the new luxury sanitary bloc).
Sincerly. Greg and Wiebke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    17
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
63
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just got home after a weeks glamping to celebrate our first years anniversary and loved the friendly site as well as the people who run it. We enjoyed especially the Moules most evenings and the baguettes too. Our two little dogs loved walking to the beach as it wasn't too far for them. The tent was clean and the bed very comfy, the toilets and showers very clean too. We saw a deer in the forest and enjoyed running from the site to the beach as well as the lovely trails in the area.

Merci Eurocamp and La Forette for a wonderful holiday. Loved it, will be back Simon and Lara O'Rourke and Larry La Terrier de Boston and Madamoiselle Posh

Room Tip: we had the tent at the back it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laraorourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just returned from a lovely week camping with eurocamp at this beautiful campsite.My family and I had never done anything like this before and we were extremely happy with all the facilities on the site.
The swimming pool and pool side were very clean, and as it was a quiet week we had the pool to ourselves most of the time.
The facilities for washing crockery and washing clothes were second to none.
The toilets and showers were kept impeccably clean and the recycling area was well labelled and full bins were soon changed.
Just over the road from the site is a stunning walk through a forest to a magnificent beach.
On our final night we sampled the food from the cafe adjoining the reception.The food was lovely and very reasonable.We had a great time here and the weather was fantastic(which helped) we will definitely book here again and possibly in one of the caravans.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laforet85, Propriétaire at Camping La Foret, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your nice reviews.
It's very kind to take the time to writte on Tripadvisor.
We are also very happy that you enjoyed your stay: it's always our goal!
We will be happy to welcome you a second time in our own ecological Mobil-home (caravan).
Thank you again and see you in 2015!
Sincerly

Greg and Wiebke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and our two little boys a 5 year old and 2 year old have stayed at this campsite twice Sept 2010 & 2012, the first time my first son was only 1, it would have been a third this year but as it my first year booking during school holidays i didn't get in on time and missed out due to being fully booked. Its not the biggest campsite and its does not have a massive waterside pool, what it does have is a great location five minute walk to one of the best beaches, a beautiful forest which has loads of cycle paths. Out of season i would highly recommend this for young kids as there is great fun too be had on that the beach and its not busy. if you catch the overnight ferry from Portsmouth to St Malo its about a four drive, don't do what we did one year and try and save money and take the Euro star its a hike from Calais. Get the over night ferry its very civilised and stay at St Malo overnight on the way back its great for Seafood.

Also Greg and his family that run the site speak about 6 languages including very good english (it puts you to shame how many languages he speaks). Overall i can't recommend this campsite enough and I'm booking for 2015 so i don't miss out. ps we camped and the pitches are fine and a good size for a family of four.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dickk111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laforet85, Gérant at Camping La Foret, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comment. You are very kind! And we are so sorry to be fulybooked for the period of time you asked. However, we are realy happy to know that you will come back in 2015! You will enjoy a fabulous new sanitary block. The fisrt pictures are already on the facebook page if you want to see.
Thank you again for your time on Tripadvisor. It's important for a very small campsite like us.
SIncerly. Greg and Wiebke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed in a mobile home last summer and it was nice enough. The area is very touristy and I would hate to be there in peak season.

The owners were very nice and helpful but my one real gripe was being told you had to leave it exactly as we found it. We had a checklist of things to do on leaving that included cleaning the toilet, mopping all floors,defrosting the fridge etc. All of this was to be done with 2 small children running around and before 10am. We then had to get someone to check our standard before we left. It left a bit of a sour taste in the mouth at the end of our stay and one I think they need to review.

We are tidy anyway but feel that they are doing this to make their lives easier.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montymaxmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laforet85, Propriétaire at Camping La Foret, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hello and thank you for your comment.
We thank you for having taken time to explain us your point of view.
In its) reading, we understand that you would have can be of to take the option in 40€ which contains the housework of the renting.
This would have doubtless returned you the easier life with your children.
This service was still possible even after your arrival. General terms of sale specify well schedules and options.
We hope to welcome you next time and we shall make every effort so that you are satisfied 100 %.
Greg and Wiebke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is a very well-managed, family friendly site with good facilities. We were situated close to the main entrance (camping with our own tent) and as noted by other reviewers the level of shade does vary. Our pitch had very little shade so it was quite hot during the daytime although the weather was quite exceptional ( first two weeks of July). The shower block is dated but the focus on cleanliness and hygiene in the toilet and shower area is unparalleled. The owners advised that shower block is due for major refurbishment next year which will add to what is overall a very good site. Greg and Wiebke were very welcoming and work very hard to ensure that the site is maintained to a very high standard. The pre-ordered meals were excellent and very good value. The site is particularly suitable for families with young children and as such the pool area can be a bit crowded throughout the day;as an older couple we would have preferred a half an hour set aside for adults only swimming, that said, the uncrowded beach is only a short walk from the campsite. If you are looking for a well-manged site that offers a safe environment for young children in this beautiful part of the Vendee then this is the perfect location. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allenrural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laforet85, Propriétaire at Camping La Foret, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear guest,
Your review is very nice and verly clear. You will be happy to know that we begin today to build the new sanitary block!
We hope to show you that a next time at la Forêt.
Thank you for your time here for your time with this review.
Sincerly
Greg and Wiebke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in mid August with a 6 and 4 yr old. The site is great, the owners provide an excellent service and a very clean site. It is a small site with lots of families but you're never too far away from the children playing and has a really relaxed friendly atmosphere. The pool is small, but never really overcrowded and great for the kids to swim in. it has a small shop and

For us the real bonus of this site was the location, it's excellent, having arrived by train to a nearby station (Challans) and a short taxi ride to the site, we had no car to get around. We had originally intended to hire a car but to be honest due to the location of the site, its very close to miles of cyclepaths and about a 100m walk to the bus stop, meant we never needed too and i think we probably enjoyed the holiday more because of it.

You can cycle along fairly flat, safe (by that i mean no cars, although some people do fly along the tracks and bells aren't always used) routes which take you to miles of good beaches through fantastic pine forests, its entirely up to you how far you want to go. Just one thing, if you're hiring check the bike before you set off, we had a few dodgy ones, which to be honest once we reported the fault were replaced or repaired straight away.

The bus service from the stop at the end of the road takes you to Notre Dame or Saint Jean de Monts for 50c per person per trip and is a reliable, regular service, running from early morning to around 10pm at night so very handy for trips to markets and nights out.

So ditch the car, get on your bike and have yourself a great time exploring the area. I'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed with eurocamp in a tent but booking direct in a mobile home might be a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dabties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laforet85, Propriétaire at Camping La Foret, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear guest,
We are realy happy to read your long review.
We constat that you have realy enjoyed your stay and this is the best thing to read for our team.
We are particulaly happy with your comment about the cycle route and the way to get holidays without a car.
Thank you very much for the time need for the review andsee you next time... in a Mobil-home ;-)
Sincerly
Greg and Wiebke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-de-Monts
3.8 mi away
Le Robinson
Le Robinson
#1 of 17 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Thalasso
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Thalasso
#2 of 17 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
1.7 mi away
L'Oree du Bois
L'Oree du Bois
#1 of 1 in Notre Dame de Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
La Yole
La Yole
#4 of 36 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.3 mi away
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Dormant
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Dormant
#6 of 36 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
5.1 mi away
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson
#9 of 36 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping La Foret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Foret

Property: Camping La Foret
Address: 190 Chemin de la Rive, 85160 Saint-Jean-de-Monts, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Saint-Jean-de-Monts
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Camping La Foret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping La Foret Saint-Jean-De-Monts, Vendee, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing