We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food”
Review of Le Robinson

Le Robinson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$55
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kent, England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife chose this restaurant on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews and I'm so glad she did.

First thing I would endorse is that appearances can be deceptive. The hotel is not on the sea front and at first glance you could be forgiven for thinking you had arrived at a Travel Lodge. BUT as another reviewer has said this is a 5* restaurant hiding in a 3* star hotel and the food is amazing!

We went as a group of 7 (4 adults and 3 children ages 4 - 8 years old) and simply couldn't believe the quality of food at very reasonable prices. There is an excellent range of set menus and a good selection for children too.

We went for the €25 option which offered 3 courses including a l'escargot crepe starter. My wife had the steak (the best we had on this trip) while I had the fish, which was to die for. Both of has had the chocolate selection dessert which was fantastic. Big thank you to the staff were also extremely friendly and patient with our very poor French.

Forget the location, this is a truly excellent French restaurant .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wombledavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    87
    13
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic.... as always”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Great food, great service the menus are a bargain as cannot figure out how the food is so good at what is really small prices for the standard an quallity you get.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gerrysScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We have a place close to St Jean de Monts and we have enjoyed many meals in the area. To celebrate our wedding anniversary we went for lunch in the Robinson. We were disappointed the food and ambiance did not live up to expectations. On arrival we were given a table which the couple in front of us who had reserved refused. The starters were reasonable but we waited a considerable time for our main course. When it did arrive there was a skin on my sauce and it and obviously been standing for some time, the fish was very dry. Having had so may excellent meals in the area we were surprised at the quality of the food. It is the first time I have in eight years I have felt so strongly about the service and food in the area

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geraldineclr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Believe the good reviews!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We got this purely from TA reviews...we wanted somewhere a bit more special for mums birthday whilst on holiday but with 2 non fish eaters it seemed difficult. This hotel is on the road to "the grande plage" and you would not look twice. However out the back of the hotel is a lovely modern restaurant. We opted for the 31 euro 5 course menu and we were not disappointed. Palate cleanser, Foie gras, steak, cheese, dessert. So much yummy food! Good option for kids. The place was busy with mostly French families which is always a good sign! Really recommend this for something bit more special than the other options around just don't be put off by exterior!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Another place in the wonderful town of st jean de monts to visit friendly service and good food fish was particularly good
And not overpriced

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ggeraghty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Robinson also viewed

Saint-Jean-de-Monts, Vendee
Saint-Jean-de-Monts, Vendee
 
Saint-Jean-de-Monts, Vendee
Saint-Jean-de-Monts, Vendee
 

Been to Le Robinson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing