We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IN NEED OF A OVERHAUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I think I had a privatly owned caravan rented by siblu. The caravan and the terrace itself was lovely but the site itself is tatty and worn out. The carvan pitches are too close together with hardly room to park your car with no room for use of sunloungers unless you want to be on the road!! There are too many caravans on site in total I think they are being greedy with cramming to many on for site fees and have spoiled what once was a lovely site! the pool area was a disgrace it needs totally gutting the cafe area was at the pool was full of teenagers smoking. The supermarket was filthy and needs gutting the onsight takeaway was actually good. The bar was not our scene.The actual area is lovely if you skip through the blackpool bits! We had some lovely days out in the area. If I had got an older caravan this would of ruined my holiday with the run down caravan park but we just used it as a base and used other facilities which is abit of a con really as you have paid for the facilities within the cost of your siblu holiday. Id defo come back to the area but not to this site.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMD805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

We have taken note of your comments, and also forwarded them to Siblu Management. Our clients’ opinions are important to us, and are always taken seriously. We do our best to give you a great holiday, and would hope to see you again at Siblu. Catherine - siblu villages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

Just returned from our 8 night stay here. This is our 3rd Siblu trip with two previous trips to the Loire. There was 11 of us in total in three mobile homes. I had booked the largest Excellance model. To be honest I was pretty dissapointed. It was clean and with a huge lounge area but pretty dreary inside. The other two families had much nicer homes. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. The site compared to the Loire was very crammed in with very little space to park the car.The close proximity of the homes meant you could hear everything that was going on in the neighbours homes! I too agree with other posters that this site is in need of major investment to bring it up to the standard of the likes of Le Bois Dormant across the road and Domaine Du Dugny in the Loire. The pool area was grubby and you get to be up close and personal with other holiday makers as the sun loungers are very close together. We choose to spend most of our time across the road at Dormant.
St Jean Du Mont is a lovely seaside town with a huge well equipped beach great for walkers bikes bathers etc. We took a trip to Sallertaine to visit the local Artisan craft workshops. Well worth a visit.
Would we go back? Probally not. We would use Siblu again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovesholidaysalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Thank you for sharing your opinion about Le Bois Masson and for your loyalty to Siblu. We are glad that you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed the various activities offered by the beautiful area of St Jean de Monts.
We sincerely regret that you felt the site was crammed in. Each Siblu park has its own atmosphere and a different lay-out. In reference to the size of the pitches on site ,there is a variation between 80m² and 200m².
Staying at Le Bois Masson gives you the opportunity to enjoy all the facilities from Le Bois Dormant which is located across the road and which offers another pool complex, multisport pitch, etc... We are happy to note that you made the most of that opportunity. Some refurbishments are planned for the swimming pool at Le Bois Masson in 2013.
Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and for continuing to choose Siblu for your holidays
Catherine - siblu customer relationship siblu village le bois masson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This was the 4th time we have stayed at a campsite in the St Jean de Monts area. We had driven past the site on many occassions and thought we would give the site a try for our holiday this year (last two weeks in August) and now I wish we hadn't booked to stay there.

On arrival the reception area was okay and the staff were pleasant, but once we were on the site I was dissappointed with the site, we thought that the site was poorly maintained and unkept.

The caravan was nice and we had a good plot.

The pool area was old,so we walk to the Bois Dormant site and used that pool which is better layed out and we did manage to find somewhere to sit whenever we visited the pool.

The childrens park was rather small for the amount of children that were using it (especially at night), there could have been more things for the older children to play on (my children are 5 and 10).

The bar was like Butlins - 20 years ago, so dark and unwelcoming.

We do love St Jean de Monts as the beaches are great and there are lots of things to do in the area, so we will go back but not to this campiste as I know there are better ones in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

We thank you for your comments and are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your holiday. We have forwarded your comments to Siblu Management and will do our utmost to improve the quality of our services. Catherine - siblu villages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Esprit + caravan with wooden decking and it was fine. The location wasn’t great, it was at the back of the park which is fine as it was lovely and quiet but they were crammed in and we’d have had nowhere to park our car if it hadn’t have been for a caravan being removed from opposite us and leaving a temporary patch of land that we were able to use. There was no room at the side of the van which you would expect and if you’d parked at the front, we would have been worried someone would have hit it trying to pass on the skinny road.
On exploring the site there are some lovely areas where caravans are sited but we weren't lucky to be placed there.
The site is becoming run down, the entertainment area is grubby and on the short visit we made the entertainment also wasn’t up to much so we didn’t return.
There is a shop on site and a play park which the kids enjoyed.
The pool is warm and the slides were great fun but the baby splash zone inside is run down and on concrete floor! I wouldn’t have wanted to use the indoor pool.
The staff on reception were really lovely and helpful though especially Karen.
We hired bikes and explored the brilliant bike paths for a day. They are flat and mostly away from the main road. Take your own bikes if you can as hiring is expensive.
The Puy du Fou park is AMAZING and although a 90 minute drive, it’s well worth the trip.
Noirmoutier island is also worth a vist and is only 25 minutes drive away. Make sure you time it right with the tide so you get to cross the Passage du Gois, it’s a sight to see.
The local beach is sandy and clean and about 7km long. The local town has a real seaside feel with lots to see.
There is a Lidl just up the road which is much cheaper than the local Super U or Intermarche.
We enjoyed the area but would not return to this Siblu site.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Spend 6 days here but paid for 7! Arrived in France with Ryanair on a Friday but caravan would not be available till 4pm on the Saturday so had to find a hotel for the 1st night and couldn't get set up in caravan till Saturday evening so a good bit of time lost. Nice caravan but no outside cover and no outside light (F20) Quite location. Food in Restaurant & Take Away is fine. Entertainment very geared towards French. Kids club good - lovely guy called Tom who was so energetic. Good exercise club too for the adults. Evening entertainment so so. Pool good but slides closed between 12 and 2pm.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased your family enjoyed your holiday. We are going to look into the situation regarding Saturday to Saturday bookings. We appreciate all customer feedback and we hope to see you again on one of our sites. Catherine - siblu villages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Just returned from le bois Masson campsite and felt needed to write review for possible bookers next summer. Had fab time but due to following would look for another site nearby due to following.site does look a little dated and does needupdating in certain areas swimming pools are looking dated old and in urgent need of makeover. Weeds growing between slabs at swimming pool dirt specs in water and sand seen laying at bottom of pool. Although water was always nice temperature heated even peak summer temps. When you venture across road to le boisdormant you realise how much le bois mason needs surgery. Le bois dormant immediately feels so much more looked after and up to date all pools in excellent condition and the site seems much more clean and looked after. Pools fantastic and sunbeds much more comfortable at dormat. Altho one thing not sure about at dormant why the kids pool near slides so cold ! Again main pools at dormant nice temp and heated thru summer.bois dormant restaurant and bar excellent food and service although rather expensive with euros. Bikes were a revelation good value as kids never off them and a must good for family as super rides thru forest down to various beaches.we still had fab holiday but if booking next year would certainly go to bois dormant and not bois Masson. Sibiu you need a bois Masson makeover urgently before you lose business !!!!

Room Tip: We booked private caravan but book Sibiu for updated caravans
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Your feedback is important to us as it helps us improving our services, thank you for sharing it.

When booking at le bois masson or le bois dormant you have access to both sites and their facilities. It doubles the fun and gives you the possibility to choose your favourite atmosphere, relaxing at Bois Dormant or lively at Bois Masson. We are pleased you found out what you were looking for at bois dormant and that you enjoyed our bar/restaurant terrace by the swimming-pool. Makeover works have been done to Bois Dormant swimming-pool in 2011 and Siblu will focus on Bois Masson in the very near future.
Bikes are indeed a good option in St Jean de Monts. You can either bring yours or rent them from the bike shop at Le Bois Masson or in town. You are then free to ride from our site through the forest, to the beach, to the town centre and the bravest can even cycle on secured paths to Isle de Noirmoutier or St Gilles Croix de Vie!!
We will be delighted to see you next year at Bois Dormant!*

Catherine - siblu customer relationship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Booked through Hoseasons who have two caravans at this Siblu site. Couldn't fault the accommodation which was a 'O'hara' caravan and was in excellent condition and top of the range (classed as an Excellence caravan). We couldn't see any other similar caravans on the site so it really stood out as one of the best. The location was excellent too as was initially apprehensive if it was to be located near to the bar and entertainment area, but it was tucked away about 3 min walk away from this area.

Last visited this site as a family in 2006 (and 2005, 2004 prior to this) so did wonder if anything would have changed for the better or worse and we also wondered what our children would make of it having last visited as 5 and 9 year olds with totally different expectations and needs.

Couldn't really see much difference either way, other than the on site supermarket being a bit less well stocked as previous and the pool area beginning to show signs of needing a makeover in the next couple of seasons ago. Though it is worth pointing out that my previous visit in 2006 it had just had a lick of paint everywhere and had some building work completed at the pool opening up a new terrace area so perhaps we were just lucky then and not so now depending on when the next overhaul is due.

However, nothing experienced this time was detrimental to the enjoyment of the site and overall it was pretty much as we remembered it 6 years ago minus the touring pitches.

With the children now being 15 and 11, we didnt really sample as much of the evening entertainment as we did 6 years ago but we did make a late evening trip to the bar for a drink to either catch some of the Olympic events (we were there during the 2nd week of the London Olympics) or sit outside on the open air terrace side.

The bar prices were as expensive as we remembered though, but this is France and it's as cheap as you like to enjoy a beer or glass of wine on the caravan decking when purchased from the supermarket at ridiculously low prices (compared to the Uk). The bar staff were friendly and efficient and the bar area itself was excellent and had a spacious 'pub' feel to it whilst being very family friendly and relaxing.

We paid for WIFI for 7 days in the caravan which can all be done online - no need to purchase time from the reception etc - it came to 25Euros which equated to about £19 at the exchange rate at that time. We also rented two bikes on site for 5 days which came to 70Euros. Not that cheap, but they were reliable and well used (by us). We took 2 bikes over with us, so this obviously halved the potential cost for 4 of us, which could have been a bit prohibitive at nearly 150Euros for just 5 days if we hadn't done so.

St Jean de Monts itself is very cycle friendly, once you locate the cycle paths that tend to skirt around the main roads and use the abundance of local forests and woodlands excellently. On the occasions we found ourselves having to use the main roads around the area, it wasn't quite as cycle friendly as we would have liked, but this was mainly due to the incredibly busy roads and general volume of traffic as opposed to bad or impatient drivers.

Both the town (church and market) area of St Jean and the 'sea-side' promenade area were as lovely as ever and a joy to wander around both by day and by night. There's a definite family feel to the resort and it's very popular with the French themselves who appear to come down from the North in their droves and from Paris in particular.

Other local areas worth visiting are St Gilles and St Hillaire which are approximately 10 - 15k to the south of St Jean, and Notre Dame de Monts and the island of Noirmoutier about 10 - 15k to the north. If visiting Noirmoutier, check out the local low tide times and either drive onto or leave the island via the wonderful Passage du Gois which is only accessible at low tide twice a day.

It's a real tourist hot spot though and also very popular with the locals who complete their daily search for clams and cockles. Well worth a visit, though don't risk it when the tide is turning like we did in 2006 and nearly got swept off the road by the speed of the incoming tide!

Overall, I'd happily recommend a stay at Le Bois Masson. I've never been to other Siblu sites, so it might well be the poorer cousin to some of the better sites in France according to some of the other recent reviews, but to me it's a wonderful family friendly site with a good mix of French, Dutch, Irish and English. If you're lucky enough to get pitch F109 and one of the new O'Hara caravans you'll feel like campsite royalty.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monko2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all customer feedback and we are all very pleased your family enjoyed your holiday. We hope to see you again in one of our siblu villages. Catherine - customer service siblu village le bois masson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Jean-de-Monts hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Robinson
Le Robinson
#1 of 17 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
331 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Atlantic Thalasso
Best Western Hotel Atlantic Thal...
#2 of 17 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
1,270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Domaine de Vertmarines
Le Domaine de Vertmarines
#9 of 17 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Dormant
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Dormant
#9 of 40 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
290 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Yole
La Yole
#5 of 40 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
247 reviews
5.1 mi away
Camping La Foret
Camping La Foret
#1 of 40 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson

Address: 149 rue des Sables, 85160 Saint-Jean-de-Monts, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Saint-Jean-de-Monts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
Price Range: £46 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bois Masson is a family village with plenty of entertainments for children and adults. There is an indoor and outdoor pool with slides and lifeguards, free children's clubs, a multi-sports pitch with football coaching in July and August, bike hire, a bar and a restaurant. Fantastic golden beaches and great golf courses are a short drive. Spacious, modern holiday homes, with terraces as extra, provide the accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bois Masson Hotel St-Jean-De-Monts
Siblu Villages - Le Bois Masson Saint-Jean-De-Monts, Vendee, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing