We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Professional,interesting tour”

Terres de Memoire Somme Battlefield Tours
Ranked #2 of 40 things to do in Amiens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a French company organising Battlefield Tours of the Western Front. Our groups are kept to small size. One day, two day, three day and private tours are available, leaving from Amiens Station. Booking is essential.Please visit our website for more information!
Phillip Island, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Professional,interesting tour”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were very happy with our one day tour,our tour guide Lea was a wealth of information.Our day was full and very informative and I very much appreciated the additional research Lea did on my relative.Highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank vicki551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    16
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
499 reviews
380 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“HEART WRENCHING SEEING THOUSANDS OF CROSSES AND ENDLESS LISTS OF NAMES OF THE MISSING”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Firstly, thank you to all the people who reviewed this tour company, reading all the impressive reviews was the reason for choosing Terres de Memoire.

We had Sylvestre as our guide and he was brilliant, he had a wealth of knowledge and was humorous. He made you feel like you were driving around with an old friend you hadn't seen for sometime, very easygoing. We did the one day tour. Caught the train from Paris and met Sylvestre opposite Amiens train station at 9am. We were on the tour with two other people, (both from Australia).

We visited the Villers-Bretonneux Australian War Memorial and school, Thiepval Memorial, Pozieres Australian War Memorial, Proyart German Cemetery, Beaumont-Hamel Newfoundland Memorial and Lochnagar Crater Memorial, this is a snapshot of what the one day tour covered. At no time did you ever feel rushed at each stop. We had lunch in Albert at Hygge Cafe.

During the drive you pass numerous memorial sites dotted over the countryside which is very sobering.
The tour is heart wrenching when confronted with the thousands of crosses and the endless columns of names listed as missing at various sites. Take you tissues they will be needed at times.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TOUR

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KTGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a great tour of the battlefields and we learned a lot about the Australian and allies involvement in the war. Lea was a superb guide and it was important to our appreciation of the experience that the tour company only (except by negotiation) takes a small group (there were seven on our tour). A very moving day. Thanks and highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most memorable moments of my life!!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I recently did the 1 day tour with our guide, Lea and a great group of other Australians. My great grandfather is buried at Villers Brettoneux so for me this was a very important visit.
Prior to arriving Lea had researched so much information about him, so much so that she even knew about an injury he suffered during his service in Egypt. I was so touched that she had gone to so much effort to get to know my great grandfather and what he went through. When we arrived at the grave site Lea was so sensitive and understanding of what I needed. Having that support when you are experiencing such a significant moment in your life is so special and unforgettable. Lea was the perfect guide and we enjoyed her wealth of knowledge and good humour. I really can't thank Lea enough for the amazing experience.
I can't wait to come back with the kids and will definitely be doing this tour again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lia87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful guide who made our small group tour very memorable!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Silvestre, our guide, not only knew the historical details regarding the Somme battlefields, but went " the extra mile" to make our tour very special. He had a great sense of humour - and shared cultural insights along the way. His familiarity with (and liking for) Australians is evident
We had elected to do the one day tour, and caught the train up to Amiens from Paris (about one hour) and were met across the road from the front of the railway station as instructed. We were delivered back to the station after the tour, in plenty of time to catch the train back to Paris.
Our small group of eight included two who had family members lose their lives at Pozieres in 1916. Knowing this from contact prior to the tour, Silvestre had researched these two soldiers and provided service details, and a map indicating just where their battalions had been located at the time of their deaths. A considerate touch!
We visited the primary Australian battlefields and memorials as well as the only fully preserved trenches in France ( a memorial to soldiers from Newfoundland), and even a German bunker hidden alongside farmland.
Lunch at the village of Albert offered lots of local specialities at really reasonable cost. Silvestre even encouraged us to try the garlic snails!!
Thanks for a great day Silvestre! If anyone is considering taking this tour, we'd give it a big thumbs up!
Jan, Peter and Colin.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terres de Memoire Somme Battlefield Tours also viewed

 
Amiens, Somme
 

Been to Terres de Memoire Somme Battlefield Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing