We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice base for Amiens.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Amiens Centre Gare
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Amiens
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 808 helpful votes
“A nice base for Amiens.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Hello again Folks,

Please find my review of the Campanile Hotel, Amiens. If you find the review of any help at all, please click the helpful green button at the end. THANKS!

We stayed at the hotel on Saturday 27th July, 2013.

The hotel is right beside a Multi storey car park and the Train Station. There is a drop off zone outside the hotel, where you can leave your car to check in and take baggage to your room. Then you can drop off your car in the multi storey. Just take a ticket to open the barrier and pay off the same ticket to exit when finished. Do not worry about change if you do not want to, as we paid with a credit card. The site did appear to be manned, at 7.00a.m of the morning that we left. The fee was 7.20 euros.

Check in was friendly and very helpful and as per all of our hotel encounters in France this year, staff spoke brilliant English.

We went to room 602 on the 6th floor which was charged at 72.25 euros. The hotel is new and all singing all dancing. The room was absolutely fine, with tea / coffee making facilities and brilliant a/c. There was no safe.

When we went out on the night time, the buffet in the hotel restaurant was set and looked very nice. But I wanted a curry. So if you arrive late, from what we could see, the hotels food looked pretty o.k. Although we did not try it.

AMIENS:

Is beautiful. There is great shopping, bars and restaurants and to die for architecture, including its imposing and beautiful Cathedral. The Hotel Du Ville ( Town Hall ) is very pretty and a short walk from town will take you to Jules Vernes stunning home.

Amiens is only ninety minutes from the Chunnel too.

The hotel is very well situated, just a stones throw from the main pedestrianised shopping area, the other side of a six lane boulevard, outside the train station.

Right opposite the train station, is an Indian Restaurant called Le Raj Mahal, which I have also reviewed, if you want to take a look.

We both fully recommend this hotel and beautiful Amiens.

Many Thanks
Gary.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ruddstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    287
    92
    11
    13
See reviews for
71
215
48
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights while on a business trip. Right from the first call for booking until I left the hotel, the customer service was excellent. They spoke excellent English (not common in suburban areas) and were always willing to help.
The rooms were very clean, big and lifts were big enough. They had good variety in Breakfast. It is just in front of Amiens Train station (cross the road). Also the Bus that takes you to Haute Picardie for TGV to CDG Airport starts just in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pazham75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I'd paid a single supplement so half expected a smaller room. But no I got a double room on the 5th floor. The hotel is new, smart and clean just as shown on their website. The lifts arrive quickly, The shower was great with soap in dispensers so no sachets to try to open with wet fingers, breakfast was a good continental range of cerials, meats cheese, jams and bread and pastries. Dinner was a very limited menu and after the first evening we went to one of the many excellent restaurants lining the banks of the Somme and within easy walking distance ,
Although near the station the electric trains could not be heard. However the bing bing from the tannoy was frequently heard but not particularly intrusive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Den C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

What a delight to arrive by train and see the hotel as we disembarked. The staff at reception were very pleasant and very good with English. This hotel is just over 12 months old and it is very well presented. Our room was clean and adequate. We were disappointed that it did not have a frig and the room lacked information about what to do in Amiens in our room. There was also only one power outlet for either charging portable batteries or shaving. We had a very good evening meal on the last night of our stay in the Hotel restaurant. Although this hotel is right next to the main train station we did not hear any trains during our stay and indeed the good air conditioning was welcome as the outside temperatures were in the high 20's and early 30's

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon3638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNE D, Directeur général at Campanile Amiens Centre Gare, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Client,

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Campanile Amiens.
I am sure when you back home, that you will memory with pleasure all the important sites of Amiens and its region.
In order to have the best stay when you come back (it is so close...),that we inform you, there is one power outlet on the desk and one on the night bank.
I hope that we informed you that you have the possiblity to put at the bar in our fridge, medecines or goods.

With my best regards,
Anne DEHU
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had just arrived in France from Australia and were going to do a WW1 Battlefields tour.
We picked the hotel because of its central location and it was a good choice in that regard.
The check in staff ( of UK origin ) was extremely helpful.
Regrettably the rest of the stay could only be classified as "ordinary"!
The rooms were neat clean , but no space to open two cases.
The lime green walls were certainly not to our taste and the breakfast was "ordinary".
The coffee was poor out of a machine .
The reception staff were disinterested in serving the bar, but obviously preferred to look after check ins and outs rather than give service to existing customers wanting to buy a drink.
It is probably value for money as a new and shiny hotel, but I wouldn't go back there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riviera04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNE D, Directeur général at Campanile Amiens Centre Gare, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Client,

I am disapointed that your stay at our hotel, was not so pleasant. Following your apreciation, I will check carefully that a barman is on duty, when clients increased in the hotel.
I hope that anyway you had time to enjoyed the town of Amiens with the famous Cathedral and its light and sound show which take place every night during the summer, beside the WW1 Battlefield tour you have done.

With my best regards,
Anne DEHU
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

After our great experience at the Camponile Charles de Gaule we were looking for the same experience here in Amiens. The rooms are the same comfortable & clean but that's where it ends the staff were abrupt & totally inexperienced in dealing with travellers. The restaurants was disappointing , Subway would have been better. We are tea drinkers but the room only gives 1 coffee, 1 tea , 1 tea with mint & 1 sugar when we asked if we could have another tea we were to bluntly no we were dumbfounded . The staff on this night needs a good shake, very dissapointed. Sets a bad example for the Camponile Hotels

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNE D, Directeur général at Campanile Amiens Centre Gare, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear guests,

I am surprised by your comments, because usually the team is apreciated by our guests.
Following your experience, I did inform the staff again, that of course if clients ask for more tea bags or milk, and so on, we use to give more from the bar.
And to inform our guests on what 's go on in the town is our job

I wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Campanile Amiens centre, in order you change your mind about our hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Budget class hotel that is basic, clean and functional. Rooms on the small side with no draws and limited hanging facilities. Buffet breakfast was OK but staff tended to clear away the food before the end of service - not good if you fancy a sleep in. Staff friendly and rooms very clean, rooms are small and mine had an odd shape which meant the toilet was at a strange angle! The bar closed at 11.30pm and refused to serve alcohol afterwards although they were happy to serve tea or coffee. Too be fair this has happened at other similar hotels of this type in France.

Unless your traveling by rain this is not the best location in town situated just behind the train station. To get to the town centre you need to pass thought the station then a 6 lane highway, on a positive note if your planning to us this as base then Paris and other towns/cities are easily reached at reasonable cost compared with UK railways prices.

Overall you get what you pay for, and its good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNE D, Directeur général at Campanile Amiens Centre Gare, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Sir,

I am disapointed that your stay at the Campnile Amiens Centre was not pleasant enough.
Since the 1st of July and for the summer period, we serve buffet breakfast until 10.00am every day (later than Campanile hotels require) and there is a continental breakfast served at the lounge until noon. I am very sorry, if you didn't had the right information.
We can serve soft drinks until 01.00am at the lounge but not alcohol.
Our location is quite apreciated usually by our clients, we are at 5mn from the Cathedral and to get the shopping center you have to go through the station and to pass the boulevard.

I hope to welcome you next time with the sunshine

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amiens hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amiens
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure
0.8 mi away
Ibis Amiens Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Amiens Cathedrale
1.5 mi away
La Chambre d'Amiens
La Chambre d'Amiens
#4 of 20 in Amiens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central&Anzac
Hotel Central&Anzac
#10 of 20 in Amiens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Amiens Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Amiens Centre Gare

Property: Campanile Amiens Centre Gare
Address: 29/33 Rue Paul Tellier, 80000, Amiens, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Amiens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Amiens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Amiens Centre Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campanile Amiens Centre gare, is a new construction,situated in the town center, just opened since March 2012. Comtemporary rooms are equiped with high standard bedding and coffee and tea facilities.Bathrooms have large shower or bath, and connecting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Amiens Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing