We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok for a one night stopover” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Normandie
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Amiens
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ok for a one night stopover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Basic, although there is tv in the rooms which many other budget hotels we stayed in didn't have. Breakfast buffet is ok. Location is near main shopping streets and Cathedral. In theory there is free WiFi access although we couldn't get it to work on our laptop. We tried to get the hotel staff to help us but they had no idea what was wrong.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank family_baggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    24
    28
    14
    17
See reviews for
4
39
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

We made a reservation via phone. The day before our arrival the hotel called to ask if we would be having breakfast the next day. Such pro-activeness gave me hope that the level of service at the hotel would be adequate. We later called to ask directions to the hotel and were given very vague instructions: "Near the Station." Upon arrival it took 15 minutes of driving around and asking for directions to actually find the hotel a couple blocks from the train station.

The room was small but adequate and relatively clean except for the shower which had a few strands of long hair in it.

The next morning we went down for breakfast in the breakfast room. Walked past a kitchen area with two housekeepers and the manager sitting inside talking. We waited for a good 5 minutes before I walked back into the kitchen to ask "How do things work for the breakfast?" The manager then began to ask the staff if they had prepared trays for us and I returned to our table. We then waited another 10 minutes. I finally went back to the kitchen and someone explained that we were supposed to take the one remaining tray sitting at a table for four which had three people sitting at it, plus another lone tray sitting at another table. I suppose it was too much trouble to have them explain this to us the first time, much less move the trays to our table. Note: there was no language barrier as I speak fluent French.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyonlauric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amiens hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

Sometimes it is a pity that the tourist information cannot just delete hotels from their lists. We stayed 2 nights, and in hindsight we should have left after the first. The €53 rate seemed reasonable for a room with wc and shower, but when adding €7.5 pr. person for breakfast and €6 for parking it falls apart. The room was the size of a shoe box into which were crammed a short (1.9m) bed, a tiny table and chair a wc in a corner sheltered by literally a sheet of plastic and a sliding closet door (no roof so when standing up from the toilet care must be taken to 1) not poke out an eye with the tv antenna sticking into this horrid enclosure 2) Open the sliding door so you can move your arms and pull up your pants. The other corner of the room was taken up by a small shower and washbassin (take care to close the window before showering or you will not be able to leave the shower.

In addition the paper thin walls and plastic plumbing glued to the outside of the building gave the pleasure of knowing exactly what other guests were talking about and/or when they were flushing the toilet.

To add to this towels were not changed and the bed was not made. NO service or cleaning of the room what so ever. This would not even have been difficult to do as the non-existing maid could have done all this from the doorway without even entering the tiny closet.

To be avoided - this is a 1 star hotel NOT a 3-star.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robotron3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

Needed an inexpensive hotel close to the train station in Amiens and this Hotel fitted the bill exactly. It is a 3 minute walk from Gare de Nord Amiens just off the main pedestrian shopping area. For ANZAC Day 2008 the city of Amiens provided free buses for other attending the dawn service at the Australian War Memorial at Villers-Betonneux leaving from the same train station.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful even though they did not speak a lot in English. The hotel is a small family affair and I enjoyed my 4 nights at the hotel. They can even provide car parking at an additional charge. I would recommend it to anyone in the area looking for very reasonably priced accommodation. You can have breakfast but I never do have hotel breakfasts when travelling alone, I prefer to go out and explore the city you are in and pick up what the locals are having.

  • Liked — Location to the town of Amiens and the price.
  • Disliked — Noise, could hear others in the rooms around from you.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Percy-Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2008

After reading some of the reviews, we were really looking forward to spending 3 nights at the Hotel le Normandie. What a disappointment.

Dispite our disappointment, there were some positives. It is about 3 minute walk from the station, very close to shops and restaurants and was clean and the receptionist was very welcoming. She kindly helped us with my wife's luggage up the winding stairs to the second floor. The room overlooked the street, with the hotel's neon sign in front. The room was a dud. We don't mind them small, especially 2 star, but what was not acceptable was the bathroom. A small annexe within the room, not partitioned to the ceiling and with a lightweight concertina door. Inside this miserly annexe squeezed a wash basin, a toilet and a shower. No privacy. Ever heard the expression 'no room to swing a cat'? It fits the description. To compound the situation, no airconditioning and no fan - and we did ask for a fan. The weather was hot and humid, a recipe for 3 nights of no sleep. Guess, this reads like a bit of a whinge, but you can only call it as you see it. We paid one nights accommodation and moved the Hotel Carlton - 3 star and did the job.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Westbrook_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2008

Great location and prisintley clean, easy short walk from the train station and all major sites but having stayed in the hotel for 4 nights, we were exhausted. It is really noisy and despite earplugs, other guests can be heard climbing the steep narrow stairs, creaking across the floorboards with even snoring and voices from rooms above, below and from either side.

My parents room had a problem with their shower and management offered to move them to a different room - 2 floors above (remember there is no elevator) and wanted to charge them the higher rate for the new room! A compromise was reached and staff are helpful and friendly.

All in all, a convenient cheap stay but not at all restful.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2008

We are a couple in our early 60's. When travelling, we don't
mind considering a mixture of really good and medium-rated accommodation. On the plus side, Le Normandie is well
located near a pedestrian-friendly walkway, close to the
railway station, and it offers parking (6 euros/day in 2008) -
something of a plus. Their garage has room for only 4 cars,
so be sure to make your request early. The hotel itself
is reminiscent of a hostel. The room we had was dark, dreary, and had a large water stain in the ceiling. Noise had a negative impact on our stay, as we could easily hear people coming up the stairs (no elevator) and even other guests talking in the adjoining room. The staff were friendly and helpful. If you are budget-conscious, Le Normandie might be a consideration, but be prepared for a budget experience

  • Liked — Proximity to everything
  • Disliked — Shabbiness of property
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perzha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amiens hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central&Anzac
Hotel Central&Anzac
#10 of 20 in Amiens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Campanile Amiens Centre Gare
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Louis
Hotel Le Saint Louis
#7 of 20 in Amiens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Amiens Centre Cathedrale
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel de Univers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Normandie

Property: Hotel Le Normandie
Address: 1 B rue Lamartine, 80000, Amiens, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Amiens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Amiens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Normandie 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Normandie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing