We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Marotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marotte
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Amiens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel looks great and it is obvious that lots of time, effort and money have gone into converting this building to a very beautiful bed and breakfast.

However, from a personal perspective I found the hotel to be a bit too formal.

The positives are:
Beautiful rooms
Central location

Downside:
The rooms are really hot
We kept the windows open but the street is very noisy. Algeria had won a football match and lots of fans were celebrating in the street.
The breakfast was disappointing. Firstly, you have to decide what you would like for breakfast by 9pm
The breakfast is not buffet style and it is therefore a bit awkward if you wish to have an extra croissant etc. Of course you can ask for extra but it would be nicer to just help yourself.

The bath products seemed stingy for a top class bed and breakfast.

Overall I was disappointed as I had very high hopes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JeannieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle W, Propriétaire at Hotel Marotte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Jeannie,
I am sorry that you were disappointed. You have stayed with us on a hot day, which is quite rare in Amiens, even in the summer. There is nothing we can do about the Algerians celebrating their football victory I am afraid. Regarding breakfast, we have made the choice to serve our guests rather than them having to get up all the time to have extra coffee or anything else. You do not have to order breakfats before 9 in the evening, but it helps us organizing ourselves for the morning so you do not have to wait. Of course you can have extra croissants or everyything else, as much as you want, and I do not see why you should not dare asking for more, as it would be the same price anyway. And finally, we are not a bed & breakfast : as you wrote in the beginning, we have made huge efforts, not only financial, and are now proud to be the only 5* hotel in the Somme department. You can be sure that we still try hard to welcome our guests as friends and do that we will keep on doing our best to keep them happy and satisfied. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a really well placed and well appointed hotel. Estelle was very helpful. Don't be put off by the room being described as a cosy room as this does not imply something small and cosy but was in fact a large room with a large bathroom. The decor and fittings were of high quality. An easy short walk from the train station and then well placed in Amien while still being quiet. The light and sound show at the Cathedral at sunset is a must. Breakfast was of good quality but perhaps is a little overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

this hotel is exceptional!! No expense has been spared, and it shows in the quality of the room I was in. Beautifully decorated, a huge bath, and the shower was like being in a hot waterfall.. The lighting with spots that can be dimmed make it a perfect room for a romantic night. Shame I was on my own!

The owner, Estelle and her husband have put such a lot in to this place and they have done an impressive job.

There are no faults with this place, and I am going back....only next time not on my own!

Room Tip: I had a double room, which was large and stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tremlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Hotel was perfect in every way. The location was right in centre of the pretty town.
The Notre Dame Cathedral is 5mins away and is beautiful!!!! It is as almost as big as the town!!
Estelle was great and accommodating!!. The room was explicit in decor, very stylish, yet homey. Breakfast was good!!!

Room Tip: The deluxe room we stayed in was a very stylish and big penthouse, but had a regular kind of a '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

What a lovely hotel. The decor is very tastefully done with very large rooms and excellent amenities. Our host, Estelle was very gracious and helpful with directions. only down side, parking is very limited. We were there in the quite season. Not sure what happens with the parking in busier time. Also the beautiful room could have had more soundproofing as it faced onto a very busy road. Overall, our trip to Amiens was very enjoyable. Wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room.. Not sure of the rest of the hotel layout and unable to recommend which would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capercam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Hotel Marotte In Amiens is very handy to the battlefields the ambience of the Hotel is lovely and what makes it extra special are the owners especially Estelle who went out of her way to look after us with tours and places to eat my husband and I enjoyed our time there immensely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Marotte for one night during a driving holiday around France for our anniversary.

We were made to feel very welcome by Estelle upon our arrival and was given information about the local area etc.

We had booked a cosy room and were worried that it may have been a less spacious room, however we were pleasantly surprised at the size of our room. The room was very comfortable, clean, beautifully decorated and furnished and the en-suite was spacious with a decent shower.

There is a parking space which guests can pay to use during their stay. We had reserved this space, but were having difficulty finding the hotel and so we parked our car in a nearby secure underground car park. The hotel were fine with this and did not charge us for the parking space we had reserved.

The only negative point about the hotel was the lack of a decent air conditioning system. We were fortunate to arrive in Amiens when there was heatwave. The room was very hot with the only form of air conditioning being a small unit above the door. The windows did open, however it took quite a while for the room to cool down to what was a reasonable level for us.

We loved our stay at the Marotte and we felt it was definitely worth paying a little more as it was money well spent for the high standard of decoration and comfort we experienced. We would stay there again if we were visiting Amiens.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu_and_Caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amiens hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Amiens Cathedrale
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amiens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Campanile Amiens Centre Gare
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Amiens Cathedrale
1.1 mi away
La Chambre d'Amiens
La Chambre d'Amiens
#3 of 21 in Amiens
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marotte

Address: 3 rue Marotte, 80000, Amiens, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Amiens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Amiens
Price Range: £148 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marotte 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in the city centre of Amiens, recently opened.12 rooms with bath and shower, 4 suitesKey words : comfort, quiet and nice welcome.Wine and champagne bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Marotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing